Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Stop

by AndreasL - Compo Entry

Don't stop (that's the best title I could come up with) Is a single-screen platformer where you jump from platform to platform to collect coins and avoid turrets and spikes.

(Spikes and turrets only spawn on platforms you 'stole' a coin from)

[X]or[^] to jump and double jump

Arrow keys [<][>] to move

Sound effects created with SFXR.
Font used: Visitor TT1 BRK by Brian Kent.

Created by:
@AndreasLidell

Devlog:
tumblr.andreasl.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Fun3.73
#146Overall3.68
#202Theme3.92
#426Graphics3.30
#468Innovation3.24
#549Mood2.94
#574Audio2.67
#613Humor2.41
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Haa, this is very cool :D good job!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really addicting!

Blockers says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:14pm

its simple- but is unexpectedly difficult. i really like the art style too, its fitting. plus, the little expressions on the player are great :P

maxyan says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Stylish look, challenging gameplay. Well done!

dannyhodge says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Fun game, nice work!

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Its pretty awesome!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:16am

From the title to the level design it is a really nicely packaged game. As the player you immediately learn that collecting the "balls" guide you to dodge the different obstacles while also giving the items a purpose (unlike other games). Very nicely done!

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05am

Fun!

Rulrite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Sharp graphics, and really fun to play. It's difficult but not frustrating, and it's very addictive - I just had to keep giving it 'one more go!'

If you wanted to give the player more warning, you could try making the platform flash before it spawns turret/spikes appear - but I think it's perfectly fair as is, being as you're told that the white platforms are dangerous.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:35pm

It's hard! I like that the random hazards appear when you stand for too long.

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Great game man! One of the best I played so far! :D
(You should try to port this on a mobile device with the accelerometer, it would be really legen... wait for it... DARY!)

DealWithIt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Awesome!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Wow, awesome work! Smooth, difficult but no fake difficulty, great sounds, trully amazing!

Thermite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Addictive, and a lot of fun. Nice use of the theme too.

Odefus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Overall a very solid platformer making good use of the theme. Enjoyed it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Difficult game, but very fun! I Included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/v6qOf-i7cO4

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

I loved this so much! Very polished, stressful and fun!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice little platformer. Really fun to play, really enjoyed it!

monsterkillu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice one .. I keep on jumping & platform disappears ;) evry time .. Must be having short term memory loss :)

bazld says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Brutal difficulty, but so well done! Great game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Platforms could be a little faster but it's still a very addictive game and great job in trying to restrict everything to one screen.

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11am

Fun and relentless game! My only suggestion is to make the reload level animation faster so you don't have to wait as long to retry (almost like Super Hexagon where it's so instantaneous people just simple keep clicking retry)

Eduardo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Cool! it's a interesting idea! I think the movements should be faster and the jump feeling can be better!

You should work move in the juiceness of the game, and the game will be really fun to play. Good job though! :)

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Starting platforms should come out a lot faster. Or at least an indication of where they might be. I died many times at the start jumping off and expecting something to happen.

You could even spawn the first platform when the room starts.

Nice design though. Just needs some tweaks and polish.

ALobker says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really nice game!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Ah! So great! Challenging, simple and polished. Could play this for ever. It gets easier every round. Very well done!

Aske says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:57pm

The graphics and the audio fits so well together ! Great job on that one!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Hi there. Nice presentation and physics. Found the game quite harsh. Lots of replaying to get anywhere. Like the way the blocks change over time, that's pretty clever. Good job!

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Very nice game, reminded me a little bit on frogger. Graphics are simple, but awesome (the blinking face is great :D) As well as sound.
Nothing to complain here!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:11am

Great graphics, and simple, yet fun game! Good job!

Aru Nyan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Not a bad game, but there are a couple of bugs … Potentially game breaking, they kind of put me off playing this otherwise fun game.

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:30pm

The audio and graphics work very well for this game. The platforms sometimes don't spawn in a way that makes it possible to progress.

There was also one time that I hung onto the side of a platform.

Great work.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Simple but fun !

jpmit says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Really good entry, well done. Great fun and well adjusted difficulty are particular highlights.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]