Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Meeses

by 4sap - Compo Entry

Kinda like a bullet hell!

Source is in the .love

A W S D to move

J to attack

K to run

L to strafe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#241Humor3.04
#287Audio3.15
#304Fun3.37
#329Mood3.20
#380Overall3.37
#426Graphics3.30
#690Theme3.50
#823Innovation2.73
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I had an idea similar to this once, very nice job!

YakkApps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Really Enjoyed this game! I like the music, and the mouse :) Good job! Please check out my game as well! Much Appreciated. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=47072

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice chill music. Kind of repetitive, I think the mouse needs upgrade choices. Not bad at all.

alyphen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:03pm

This is fantastic - some very silly and great ideas for enemies, and quite solid mechanics (although your own attack is quite limited)
The music isn't intrusive, and the style is quite pretty and almost nostalgic.

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Very nice execution. Fun. Especially love the run mechanic that allows you to whiz around the screen. Well done. The "jump into folder to go to next level" thing is funny.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Controls are strangely awkward to get used to. Mostly because it has strafing, but isnt set up like a twin stick shooter.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I really like how the game plays! The Skull enemies were pretty cool too. Good work!

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice version of a bullet heavy brawler type thing game! ;)
Loved those arrow enemies changing direction in side hits. Music is very good and fits in nicely. The smiley boss made me smile also!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I really liked the idea and how you used the screen theme! :)

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30pm

How many stages!
Good game, easy to play. I like play with the mouse, with the mouse, like mouse... :P

Downtown says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Really enjoyed playing this. The enemy combinations make for some very challenging levels, but never unfair. Except the smiley face boss, not sure if my hits were registering.

4sap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:33pm

For the smiley face boss you gotta reflect the green arrow shot. wasnt really all that intuitive lol

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32am

Super fun game. The theme was really good too. I'd like to have had more power ups but still a really good job.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

милая мышка

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Fantastic game!! The use of the theme is really clever and reminds me of some of the little games you could play on those After Dark screensavers.... Anyway, it truly is one of the most fun LD games I've seen so far, with increasing difficulty and a variety of enemies that keep gameplay fresh. And the graphics are adorable!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:01am

It's a fun game. Although it is a bit difficult having to be *right next* to the enemies in order to hit them. For some reason, the mouse reminds me of Rodent's Revenge, that one game from 1991. I used to play that game so much when I was a tiny human. Ah... memories.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:07pm

nice idea

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

The first thing that I saw was the artstyle that reminded me of my very old windows PC, very cool! Its fun to play but a bit too repetitive.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]