Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Link Between Screens

by trykondev - Compo Entry

-Move with Arrow Keys or WASD
-Space to use your sword
-Click and drag to rearrange map (After unlocking Puzzle Gloves)

In a quest to find the blue door that is haunting his dreams, our intrepid young knight stumbles upon a pair of mystical gloves that allow him to shape the world around him!

After unlocking the Puzzle Gloves, you can click and drag to move tiles around the screen. This can allow you to access previously unreachable areas and solve puzzles!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#240Innovation3.60
#423Overall3.32
#439Fun3.20
#468Audio2.87
#472Mood3.00
#759Graphics2.76
#1080Theme2.94

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

Pretty decent gameplay, albeit slightly buggy.

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04am

The game is a bit harsh on the player: I died on the second level pretty fast from the enemy, and the tutorial screen is too slow (it was okay the first time but don't show it again when we die !)

However, I liked the "homemade" feel of the graphics, the sword usage just feels great too, the joke with the name is nice and I liked how you used the theme.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

The intro stuff takes too long. Having to wait that long for the game to get going it a bit annoying. But a good game.

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

Nice mechanics of moving the tiles around! Some of the hitboxes and collisionboxes were kind of wonky which was kind of punishing when I died from an enemy and had to go through the really slow opening again. Overall, I really liked the idea and the entire zelda aspect of it (:

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

Great idea I love it! Had fun playing. Was a bit strange and buggy, but it's great!

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I had an idea similar to yours once, but I didn't know how to properly use the movable map portions for fun gameplay. Your game shows how to do it. Hats off, I'll keep my eyes open for that promised full version!

Marcellus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

the main mechanic is wery nice, the controls are a bit slippery and it feels weird. felt sad when i discovered it was only one real level.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I thought some form of health system would have taken the game further, since you die immediately. Nice game overall. Good job.

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I think that this is one of the greatest ideas that I have seen in LD for a rpg-adventure game. I will valorate the idea and the potential. Maybe its a bit buggy, but your job is awesome, keep improving it!!

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Too unforgiving for me, should implement some lives for the player. Nice style and gameplay though

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Great use of the theme! I'd love to play a fuller version of this game with lots of puzzles. I could see beam/pip puzzles and well as some interesting combat/bosses with this setup! I hope you continue work on it :D -CC

Catwheel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I really enjoyed the mechanic and the play on the theme you have. I felt the idea all came together as a whole.

kalugny says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35pm

At first I got killed so easily and often I almost quit before I got the glove. Good thing I didn't since the rest really fun (albeit short).

Skipi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I really liked the idea you had here. The controls weren't too bad, and the puzzle was pretty well crafted.

I'll be sure to keep a lookout for the full game.

friggingames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Really fun game, great audio. Not sure if it truly complies to the Entire Game on One Screen concept.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Such a clever mechanic!!! Would love to see a full version with tons of content. 5 stars for innovation!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

This was actually one of the more challenging games for me, in a very good sense. I sat down for quite a while figuring out the tricky but very funny puzzles. The combination of adventurer and puzzler is really great and I think it is actually one of the better combinations that I wished I saw more often. Amazing work!

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Tough

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Great idea, looking forward to play more levels!

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Cool idea, but when you restart after dying, your sprite never goes back to "not-dead". so you become a moving, laying down corpse. Controls could use with a bit of tweaking but are usable. Overall, I can see this being fun with a few adjustments.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Very cool game! I dig the map moving mechanic which was implemented quite nicely!

sirival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09pm

One of my favorite games so far. Love the mechanic :D

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Really well done. Best game I've played so far. Very innovative. If there is one thing to criticise, it's the fact that your progress is reset if you die or go through the door again. I thought first: "Rearrange map? Must be easy!" - and it was, but not as easy as I thought. You had to think a little, and I liked that, and you had to design levels a bit more clever.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very good game and very nice gameplay, i just loved the idea of moving part of the level, I want to play more !

blzkz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I love zeldas! and love that! But lack innovation :(

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

Awesome game! I love it :D

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11am

Really fun idea! I'm not very good at puzzle games like this so I wasn't able to get very far before I gave up (sorry!).

I'm a big Zelda fan, so I love the feel of the game. Cool otomata music :)

bushmango says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Thanks for commenting on my game, Four Seasons.

Clever concept! Please expand on this. With some polish and more puzzles and some easier levels this will be great. I played it all the way to the finish.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:22am

Really excited for the full release!

DevoNoel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

Cool idea. Nice looking artwork. Not sure it how it fits the theme, but whatever.

Croze says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:26am

That was really neat! Really solid too for only 48 hours, only found 1 bug which was only graphics where after I spawned I would be laying down dead instead of standing up. Not too often you find games with real gameplay, I loved the audio as well!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28am

I would definitely Greenlight this if you put this on Steam! :)

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:10am

I really wanted to finish the story, but the hit boxes were too unforgiving. Had to get too close to use sword, and the slidey movement meant I ran into things as I was hitting them with the sword, which was really frustrating :( I did manage to get to the second part of the second level though. I also like the music.

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11am

The Puzzle aspect is AWESOME. Was not expecting a mechanic like that. Great job! I hope you continue development of this one.

Azlen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:17am

The controls are hard, can't wait for more levels in this game. This game has some good potential

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:23am

Really nice idea!
Huge amount of wokr awaits! :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24am

Very innovative! I love the puzzle element and the old retro game feeling! Nice Entry

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:13am

You nailed the mechanic! Combining some of my favorite elements from Zelda games and packaging them into a really cool idea! This has a lot of potential, great job!

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really clever mechanic! I could see you building out a great game based on it. Definitely some usability/polish things to be worked out, but that's to be expected for a weekend jam. Nice work!

Insality says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:47am

it's great, it was a little surprise, when i get gloves, a sweety little puzzle game, very nice ;]

syawqy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:04am

this is great, just need to polish and plenty of levels

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:52am

Pretty straightforward, but still fun to play. I'd be hesitant to try to make something more of it, though.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:53am

Nice and simple gameplay. Good Job!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59am

Really great game, so funny to rearrange the map.

Legiion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09am

The Puzzelglove is a really cool Gameplay element, i like it

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29am

I like the level reorganization mechanic, pretty innovative.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I love the globes :D This is a really cool mechanic

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice reference to Zelda on NES and a good game!

Well done!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Love Zelda so I'm in love with your game. Good work!!!!

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Its a nice idea but the controls are too floaty and I kept dying because of it. Also the characters hitbox is too big and doesnt match up to the sprite.

Nice music though! And nice sound.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:09pm

So the controls are very loose, and the graphics aren't incredible, but the idea and implementation are great. Never played a game like this, and it is a really cool mechanic. Nice work OP.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Cool concept. Would of liked to see more puzzle elements, and I don't think the combat adds much to the gameplay as it is. I liked the audio and the graphics.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:22pm

awesome idea! good job!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Clever and original gameplay mechanics here. Cool simple graphics, cool musics. Nice job!

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Great idea and fun mechanic to play with ! Don't listen to others, I like it when it's challenging like that and that you have only 1 life! Maybe in a full version you could add pieces of hearts to add to your health and all... anyway good job man !

elliottd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02pm

great work. I really like the screen swapping mechanic. I think the character control would have felt a little better with a faster acceleration to their max speed.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:52pm

There's some inventive gameplay here, nicely done! I feel like there's lots of room to expand on that concept: where tile placement isn't just about opening areas for the player to walk, but about getting the environment to interact with itself: for example, one tile could contain something that shoots fire and you could move that in front of a stand of hedges to burn them down. That sort of thing. Your pixel art has that old Zelda feel, but be careful not to be too constrained by your inspiration. :)

Headmade says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I agree with others stating that the intro could have been quicker, but I like the terrain drag and drop mechanic.

Frump says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:17am

Dying after one hit was very unforgiving. I quit the game before getting the gloves, then read in the description what they do, tried to get them, died more, quit again. Then I decided I had to see how they worked and played more. I'm glad I did, those mechanics were very cool. You should have made them easier to access.

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Great concept, I like how you can change the level as you want

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:18pm

neat and nice..

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Hi there. Good job creating all this in the time. Like the sword action. Great sounds and chiptunes. Good job!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:28pm

It's a cute game. Good retro feel. I wish his feet moved when he walks.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:24pm

This is a really neat idea. I enjoyed it a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]