Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

CirKill It

by Boltz Interactive - Jam Entry

CirKILLIt is a collaboration between Brandon Johnston (Graphics/Design) and Jeff Neet (Programming/Design/SFX) collectively, Boltz Interactive.

Controls
--------

Mobile:
* Hold portrait and close to flat for best results
* Tilt: Move ship
* Tap: Start/Stop trail

Keyboard:
* Arrows: Move ship
* Space: Start/Stop trail
* Esc: Restart
* M: Toggle Mute
* P: Pause

Goal
----
Increase your score by trapping enemies in your ship's trail.
Use Space/Tap to drop the "Hit Bubble" and start the trail.
Fly around and then back to the bubble to destroy trapped enemies and score points.

Let us know what your top score is! Mine is 320 on mobile and 1,170 with a keyboard.

Also, do you find the tilt controls a good challenge or frustrating?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#192Theme(Jam)3.90
#424Mood(Jam)3.15
#443Graphics(Jam)3.39
#478Fun(Jam)3.07
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#524Overall(Jam)3.19
#806Humor(Jam)1.79

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

It was hard to control the player.

jocamar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

Got 330 points on my first try on the KB. The graphics and the sounds are great. The controls take a bit to get used to but work well. This reminds me of a mini game in the Xbox game Fuzion Frenzy back in the day. Very cool.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

Took a while to get the hang of it, but good fun once I did. Haven't tried the tilt controls, but got a score of 660 on keyboard.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

fun, crashed though, but fun

zillix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Awesome! Looks very polished. It was cool how the line could be used offensively and defensively. I would have loved some more powerups or harder enemies over time :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03am

@zillix We've got the art for "boss events" but didn't have the time to squeeze it in before the deadline. Hope to have it in a post-jam version though.

We'll have to explore the offense vs. defense game play with the trail more!

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:26am

Took me a little to find out what to do but had plenty of fun after I did! Seems to be an interest game for mobile

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09am

Cool theme. I like the music. I just wish there was more of a game to it. Needs a goal.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12am

I feel like it's a game concept I really would have liked, but unfortunately the weird control scheme made it hard to get into and enjoy.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Hard to control, and some instructions would be great ;)
But nice graphics, and pretty fun.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Love every thing about it great vfx audio was great. very innovative and fun. my score was 210. great game :D keep doing things like these.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Graphics and mechanics are great!

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Cool idea. Could use a little more variation.

Kabukky says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:20am

Controls take a short time to get used to. But I actually liked them once I got a hang of them.
Good job on the music and graphics!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]