Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Comet Blaster

by Skills641 - Compo Entry

Game Genre: Action/Arcade

Core Strategy:
- Shoot the rocks that you didn't shoot in the last round.
- The large rocks move exactly the same way, before they exploded.
- More lives lost, more clones appear.
- Collect Power ups for Boost!

Controls:
- [W] Forward
- [S] Backward
- [A] Rotate Left
- [D] Rotate Right
- [Space] Shoot

Good luck! Have fun!

My Current High Score: 32476

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#505Fun3.13
#592Graphics3.03
#604Theme3.57
#631Overall3.13
#638Audio2.57
#777Innovation2.82
#829Mood2.61
#830Humor2.05

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38am

The game is a little too difficult, but I had fun. :)

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Nice shooter, I would add auto-shoot

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Simple concept with very complex execution. I really dig the replay on death. Solid game overall.

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

The time travelling single player coop is a neat conceit to apply to this theme.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:00am

At first this just looks like Asteroids, but the clone addition is surprisingly cool. It's easy to accidentally have one of your clones kill you by freeing up smaller asteroids that hit you. Likewise you can easily kill your own clones which decreases your firepower. The only thing that would make this even more complex is if you added friendly fire. So your clones could kill you accidentally. It might make the game unplayably difficult but it could be cool too. Never know till you try...

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I really liked the replay. But pressing the key "SPACE" all the time and tiring.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

its asteroids. idk man.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I like the mimic spaceships.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Greate, interesting game:)

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I really liked this idea :) this super time force-like mechanic works really well with the theme and is executed in game very well ^_^

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:19pm

The concept to cooperate with past selves is very interesting!
Sound effects are grating and too loud.

Searge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Cool game. I like games that are inspired by old arcade classics. The clones are a nice addition, but the sound effects become a bit noisy if you have too many of them.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Ah, classic gameplay of Asteroids with a little bit of twist. Pretty okay overall. Graphics need a little bit of polish.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

A nice take on a classic game. I really liked the number of lasers in this one, and the title music was nice. ^_^ My only critisism is that my hand got tired from mashing after a few levels, holding space for autofire would be a welcome change. Good job on this game, I had fun playing it.

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:29am

good job on the position audio!

very interesting take on a classic. I think the firing button should be able to be held down and fire a specific rate because pressing space quickly gets very tiring.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:33am

Nice little game, reminded me a bit of Asteroids ;-) But I like!

Well done!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:25pm

nice shooter, the addition of enemy ships that mimics your previous movements was a very clever addition, well done.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Hi there. Really good fun. Well done on including reverse engines... Great sound and look and feel. Like seeing previous ships all joining in... fun! Be nice to have arrows as alternative to WASD and yes auto-shoot as others have said. Bookmarked to play again later... Good job!

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Wow this game gets intense quickly! I wasn't sure what was causing clones to spawn at first, but then I realised it was a timer counting down. Really cool twist to an old classic!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]