Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Outrun

by Yarr - Compo Entry

Outrun is a game where you (a block) has to gather little blocks while avoiding being caught by other blocks. The catch is that as the entire game is on one screen, everything outside of that screen doesn't exist. Use this to your advantage to get rid of your pursuers, but be careful: destroying point-blocks will cost you!

The game was created with SDL in Visual Studio 2013 and the web-version was compiled with Emscripten. The color scheme was created with Paletton.com. And yes, the visual style was an easy solution to a lack of time, but in the end it looks pretty nice.

Controls:
ARROW KEYS: Move
SPACE: Wait/Restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#392Innovation3.35
#681Fun2.96
#909Theme3.30
#921Overall2.83
#1092Graphics2.17
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29am

Interesting concept. At first you think that you know how it works but then you realize what's going on as you go. Clean and simple.

mutuware says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11pm

53! Neat idea.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54pm

fun idea. simplistic as it is beautiful.

vrld says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Interesting concept, but feels very unfinished.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:34am

Clever concept of regenerating the level offscreen. It was pretty intuitive to pick up. Holding down spacebar to wait seems to make the game lag.

A win condition would be nice -- it seems to just involve a high score for now.

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:39pm

simple, yet well executed. need more features but hey in 48 hours it's works fine !

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41pm

That's a pretty cool idea. Makes it feel like a puzzle game.

bobombe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I love the map generation ! Great idea !

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:26am

I am not sure how the gameplay works, but I understand the main idea. I think the game needs to give some more feedback to the player about what is going on, because I was a bit lost. The presentation is functional, but the controls are a bit buggy. For example, if I hold down an arrow key, it caused issues (freezing, moving further than what I intended, etc.) In the end, it's a fun idea and you kept it simple, which is always good. With some more work, this could be a lot more fun.

thenmal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:48am

53 - I agree with someone else that a win condition would have been nice, but it was an interesting concept, good job.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Hi there. Like the mechanics, had to play a few times. Shame it can't always be possible. Sad no sound. 29 so far. Good job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:54pm

This is so cool! Simply brilliant interpretation of the theme, makes for a very fun game. The pinnacle of a dynamic playing field.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

i like these kinds of games it is really fun. Gets really tense when the enemy gets closer.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:31am

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]