Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BIRDS!

by barryrowe - Jam Entry

Art - Loi LeMix - @LoiLeMix
Programming - Rex Soriano - @LoLo_R
Programming - Barry Rowe - @barryrowe

The SFX are sounds available on freesound.org and opengameart.org which we pulled and manipulated/chopped to fit our mood.

For the shock mode audio, we used the DT3 track by Robert del Naja. Please do not consider this as part of the audio when rating.

Built with libGDX - @badlogicgames
http://libgdx.badlogicgames.com/

BIRDS! is a tranquil, light game where you have influence over a gathering of birds. You can lightly disturb the birds, force them to move around, or if you're not careful, scare them away entirely. The game starts in "Chill" mode, and is open-ended. You can switch on the power, and enter "Shock" mode where you must protect the birds from electrical surges before too many birds get fried.

Controls:

Influence Birds - Mouse
Change Mode - Click (on switch)

The game experience is best on the desktop, but the Web Link is playable.
We will have builds for:
--Web (Available now!)
--Windows (Available now!)
--Mac (Available now!)
--Linux (Available now!)
--Android (Dev Build: http://roaringcatgames.com/games/birds/birds.apk)


########################
Check out our Post Mortem Here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/17/birds-post-mortem-ludum-dare-31-jam/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#60Mood(Jam)3.87
#90Graphics(Jam)4.24
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#209Theme(Jam)3.88
#230Humor(Jam)3.18
#246Audio(Jam)3.33
#315Overall(Jam)3.42
#632Fun(Jam)2.88

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

I love the look and feel of this game so much, I can just fire up chill mode let some birds accumulate and play with them a bit. If I want a real challenge I can turn it to shock mode and try my best to save these guys, it gets pretty challenging! Great work!

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:04am

I love the artwork. This is definitely a game to help you chill out. Great work!

pkenney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

Loved the graphics and the whole feel of the game, nice idea!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20am

I like the mysteriousness of this game. Shock mode is fun and because I like the birds I am motivated to save them even though I have caused the danger, Its a good exercise for us both.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08am

I wish you could influence which wire the birds landed on, so I could draw the world's most tranquil dick made out of birds.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:11am

I don't get it, why i have to activate electricity to make the game interesting ? My friend liked the concept.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

It's like a psychology experiment - how long will we stay chill until we flip the switch and roast all the birds!! At least, that's what I expected when I hit the switch. I was looking for electricity to surge thru all the wires . . . but maybe that just says something about me. In any case, beautiful art and a wonderfully creative idea. All my birds flew away at once after two of them go roasted - oops!

Aisland says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44am

Impressing audio and mood, i like it

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45am

Chill with the birds... Nahh Make roast chicken! :) Enjoyed the dual vibe and shock mode is fun

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

The graphics and concept are very good. One of my highest rated votes so far! Nice job.

aquisenberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Great Art,calming setting, smoothe mechanics, and just a relaxing environment. 2 thumbs up guys

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Great concept. It's pretty zen until you turn on the juice.

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16pm

lol the shock mode is so funny. pretty challenging too.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:55am

Quite soothing, nice job (:

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:09am

Thanks for your comment on our game! I'm the colleague mentioned above, and I do love the work you achieved with your game. It's both original and well implemented. Congrats.

Muush says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:14am

Good job!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Very nice art and animation. I don't get the chill mode, but the shock mode is pretty fun. I laughed when I fried the birds. I hate birds.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:40am

Nice art, though this game wouldnt really work for me. I included it in part 40 of my IndiesVsPewdiepie compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dFVnkTjSN10

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42am

* I Included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bpNoFf0QyBM
Sorry bout that! XD

Manou says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice idea, funny.

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:21am

cool and weird mood! interesting game.

rantt says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:40pm

This has a great mood to it, very relaxing...well until the electricity at least...lol. I really liked it, nicely done :)

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Pretty fun game!, The bird death noise spooked me a bit because I was relaxed while playing though

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Nicely done. It took me a while to get the hang of it, but then it was a really relax game.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Fun idea! :)

Kitch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:39am

First I thought this was a game about frying birds.. then I read the instructions... I am glad it was not a game about frying birds :)
Really great overall look and audio feel, and the gameplay felt new and relaxing. Thnaks!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:57am

Very nice theme and idea!Good work!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:15pm

very interesting experience, love the mood, well done

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Neat concept, very chill. (: Took me a while to get the hang of the controls, though!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:55am

A very enjoyable game. Love the graphics and the sound. Very nice idea!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:08am

Kinda cool! Background art was super nice, but the animation on the birds wasn't all that great. I was expecting more ways to manipulate the birds, such as tugging on the wires or something with the mouse, and for them to fly over to the other side when scared off sometimes instead of just flying up. The audio was very fitting, and the mood was set perfectly though. Can't say I had fun, but that's not really the point. :P

pht59x says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:35am

Kind of cool atmosphere due to both sound and graphics. But my wires ended up with tons of birds on them. Why is it the player who decides when to send electrical surges? I don't want to be nasty...

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:57am

good atmosphere.
Seems to be a good idea, but something is missing to be really fun, I don't know what exactly, sorry...

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Great entry! very atmospheric and meditative.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Shock mode was actually pretty addictive. I had a lot of fun stopping birds from getting shocked (although it was pretty funny seeing them become roast meat) plus the graphics and audio contributed a lot to the mood. Also the web version seems to crash on my pc (both Firefox and Chrome) and I ended up having to play on the desktop version.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Love the mood!

Clouds in the background, birds animation and voices are well made!

Nice entry!

zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:46am

Very cool, great ambiance!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:39am

Really great ! Love the idea and graphics are really nice. It's looks our best score are not saved ?.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:07am

Love the art. Also really enjoyed the gameplay. Toggling modes was a nice way to move in and out of challenge oriented play. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]