Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

HexaPong

by fancypants - Jam Entry

HexaPong is a mashup of classics Breakout and Pong(but with a twist), in the form of a hexagon.

CONTROLS:
Left and right arrow keys(or A and D keys) rotate the hexagon.

OUR TEAM:
fancypants
nenoonen
martinpesevski

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#56Innovation(Jam)3.96
#67Fun(Jam)3.80
#131Overall(Jam)3.73
#229Theme(Jam)3.86
#259Audio(Jam)3.31
#428Graphics(Jam)3.43
#460Mood(Jam)3.09
#567Humor(Jam)2.46

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19am

It's so challenging that is addictive. Nice work!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Super playable. Addictive, challenging and fun. Graphics are clean and elegant.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Amazing! Really cool take on a classic game. Easily one of the most unique and original pong spinoffs I've played. Looks great as well. Great job!

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Hahah funny.
Had a similar idea some time ago.

This is a pretty fun little game. Maybe for mobile?

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

nice use of the theme and an inovative gameplay

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very clever and challenging game! I was thinking I would win when I destroyed the core, but makes sense to be an endless game haha
The audio, the feedbacks, the graphics the and gameplay were all very polished, congratulations =)

geckojsc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Pretty cool entry, interesting idea/mechanic, and decent graphics/design.

I found the controls a little too responsive, making it hard to achieve any precision with my movements, which combined with the fast speed of the ball made it very difficult. Maybe some slight acceleration on the hexagon would have been good? Or maybe I just have terrible reflexes ;)

Music is nice, but very short and very quiet.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Nice and simple :) Liked the disappering bars, that added to the challenge!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Addictive

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Nice concept and well polished.

Deranes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Innovative idea and nice presentation. But I feel that you as a player don't have a lot of control over the ball. Mostly just trying to keep it from bouncing outside and not target the bricks in the middle. The balls missed collisions with the player sometimes. You could have increased the collision volumes logical (i.e. not graphical) thickness to make it less likely for the collision to be missed. Or slow the ball down.

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice improvement over planar paddle! I too feel that it starts a bit fast though, it wasn't until the ball has slowed down to about half the initial speed after some hit that I was able to appreciate the ability to vary impact angle by positioning paddles appropriately.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

This was difficult, but fun. Might enjoy it on a mobile device too. Nice job!

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56am

Nice, simple but clean gameplay. Perfect mobile game in the making.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

As mentioned before: very addictive gameplay. Nice game :)

Strandypants says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Simple, but elegant. And so freaking hard! Liked it a lot.

bobombe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Interesting idea, but my brain must not be compatible :/

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Superb reinterpretation of a classic. Good job!

sumguy67 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Excellent game with a really cool concept!

aare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:00am

A lot harder that I initially expected. Nicelly polished and quite addictive. Great work.

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:10am

Great game with a very interesting take on pong!

Phyyl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:37am

Very well done, I like it a lot! One thing I have to say: The spin is probably a bit too fast in my opinion, but it's not my game! :D

dlowe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:44am

OOoooh, fun :)

Extremely challenging until I wrapped my head around it. Thanks!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:58am

Cool game. Great twist on a breakout concept. Kind of hurt my brain a bit trying to get the hang of it. Nice job!

Sundry says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:21am

addict powa it's a good idea :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:55am

The game's really addicting. Graphics are simple yet it fits the game. Great execution with the theme too.
The ball sometimes go over the bat but regardless of that, thumbs up. :D

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00am

Really fun, addictive and challenging ! I would really like to see that game on an ipod nano with the round wheel as controls lol

Lynx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:16am

Very challenging for such a simple mechanic, I would suggest maybe delaying the first paddle/wall disappearance until after at least 20 or 30 seconds so the player gets a hang of the controls and physics before you start adding the challenging part

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:09am

Nice mashup. I found it very hard though, the keyboard controls make movement a bit jerky. It would be better with an analogue stick, or some other way of fine movements

Shackhal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Simple gameplay mechanics and controls, correct graphics and good audio. This game is a solid entry. The only annoying thing is to press "R" to restart. It would be faster to just press Space xD

Overall, I like this entry :)

Kitch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:03am

Now that was fun. Finally got myself a challenge :) Thanks!

skiddings says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:34am

Pretty addictive, although the ball glitched through the paddles a few times.

fancypants says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys. We'll start fixing bugs and issues soon.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]