Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hands Race

by AnglerteamGames - Compo Entry

Hand puppets are projecting shadows onto the screen!

It seems to be some form of sign language.

Decipher the codes before time runs out!

[Controls]
Type the letter corresponding to each shadow as it appears.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Audio3.52
#111Innovation3.91
#208Mood3.36
#240Overall3.53
#446Graphics3.26
#581Fun3.06
#647Humor2.37
#784Theme3.42
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Excellent game! Great for teaching people to sign. Just the right amount of time to make it challenging. Well done :)

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice game, I liked that I get to learn something when playing.

Graphics and music are neat as well.

fuzzalicious says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Love the pull down screen, makes it look so professional :)
But, whats the difference between e and t?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:01am

Interesting game. Charming art and sound!

paperweight says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Silhouettes often look very similar and I feel like a full image or is required to notice the different finger positions. Great idea though.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Hi there. Interesting idea, but not much difference between some of the shapes. Like your music - gymnopediesc.. Good job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:19am

Some of the letters (like e, t , s) look quite similar because most of the thumb position is obscured by the shadow. You'll really need to study those carefully before rounds where they appear together in order to tell the difference!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:20am

Totally awesome. I've evaluated a lot of games in LD31, and this is one of the very few that I would choose to play again. Fantastic for education value and implementation quality.

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:21am

Very good game. What a great way to teach yourself to recognize signs.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:56am

Wow, this is a really solid entry. I could actually see using this program professionally, if you just made the hand positions a bit more clear--I played 3 or 4 times because I really wanted to learn more. It was only after I realized that I couldn't replicate the hand signs myself that I ended up giving up, because I felt like I couldn't really learn what the game was trying to teach me. Would have also appreciated an ability to re-attempt levels, because I got a bit frustrated having to go all the way back to start every time I couldn't tell between M and N.

Otherwise--lovely clean graphics, great unobtrusive audio, it all set a nice calm mood for learning and even in the short time I played, I felt like I picked some finger-spelling up. Thank you for the game!

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:02am

Well made game, simple art style, educational + fun!

I agree some signs can be hard to read but overall still great!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:10am

Wow, I'm also impressed. I love the aesthetics; lots of nice simple touches. I got a great mental work-out to boot. Excellent work. If you had a version where we can see the actual signs, I would download it to learn to sign. As a game and concept though, I really like the shadows.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:21am

This is super polished! What a great idea and well executed.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:30am

Now that's something a bit different!

It took a while before I got past the first level, and it was initially frustrating because each time I failed it took a long time to get started again -- and I had to learn a whole new set!

If you develop this further, I'd suggest picking a small fixed set of letters and gradually expanding (maybe even keep track of how well the player knows each letter).

Some letters were quite easy to spot (C, O, W, L) and remember and some were easily confused with others. S, M, N in particular were super hard.

The piano scale for each correct letter was a nice touch.

nkling says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:56am

excellent work on this. Its a great idea!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:10am

What a great idea. I'm not very good at this but it's fun to play.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:39am

The sign language idea is great and it also helps typing skills as well as sign language.
The music is nice.
I also like the shadow projection idea as a take on the theme. Good work!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I'll see if I can't put together another version with non-silhouetted signs for those who want a more direct sign-language experience!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:08pm

This is a great educational game, The only issue i had with it was 1, my lack of one handed signlanguage knowledge, i used to know this when i was younger but we use two hands for our ABC's in the uk, i found some of the shadows harder to actually see what the hands were doing, and some were very very similar to each other which made the whole game that harder.

Amazing use of the theme, and a really nice idea. You could add a colour coded element to the shadows for beginners then remove these alternative colours later on in the game to improve learning. Great entry.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Really cool game and a good learning tool as well.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:21pm

A really well made game for a good purpose, I would definitely like to use this if I where to learn sign-language!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Really cool,good to see an educational game. Shows how bad my memory is though :(

-C

Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Simple but fun memory game. Could work for educational purposes, too.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:26am

I mean this is just great. I felt like it really helped for learning sign. ALSO the graphics fit very well with the game. It's presented well and it's easy to figure out. Great Great learning game very innovative!

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Really cool, educational game. Nice graphics, love the pull down screen, but as others have said some letters are very hard to distinguish from others without seeing thumb placement.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]