Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Oscillation

by MaddeStudios - Compo Entry

====!EMBEDDED VERSION LOOKS WEIRD!====
!Yup, I know. Text is unreadable. It's a scaled down version in order to fit on this page. All other external versions are twice the total resolution, so text is readable. Most of the text in this game is not needed, but helps, so don't worry too much.!
UPDATE: - Linked the game to the full size version now.
It doesn't fit right on the page, but if you use LD's new Fullscreen feature, it works pretty well!

====A LITTLE NOTE====
Some people are saying the robot moves very slowly. This is certainly true at first, but if you hold out, you very soon get a wheel which makes you move fast. kthxbi.

====SHORT DESCRIPTION====
You play as a robot. You are in a derelict factory. With the aid of some computer AI thing, you are going to get out of the factory. That's all there really is to it.

Anyways, give it a try, and tell me what you think.

====THEME====
I think I cheated a little on this theme, because I didn't like it much. Instead of going all out on it, I made a game the uses a feature to show the "Entire Game on One Screen", rather than everything using that. I added zooming in and out on the world, which enables a handy feature in order to make life easier.

====CONTROLS====
Controls are all explained in game, but here they are anyway:
Any: Start the game.
Z: zoom in/out.
X: interact.
Left/Right: Move.
Up: Jump.
Sadly, I didn't have time to setup keybinding fully, as I was wracking my brain on the theme for too long :P
No saving, no pausing. Saying that, there are no major hazards, and the game is very short, so these features are sort of unnecessary.

====OTHER OPINIONS====
I disliked this theme. That's my opinion. I struggled to come up with a good idea for it (That wasn't too obvious or already done), so this is what I've got. I Don't think it's as good as my previous entries, but in building it, I did come up with some new techniques and methods -- Basically, my best coded platformer yet (for the basic stuff, at least). I also decided to delve into recursion and got those dang wires working, which I'm quite pleased about.
I'm still rubbish at composing, but I did make some music in the end.

====NAME/TITLES - WHY ARE THEY CRAP?====
I spent too long programming an trying things, I never thought of a name, and was too tired to design any form of title. The name 'Oscillation' I think came from the fact that you end up going round in circles in this factory, as well as being stuck in a loop of dying and returning to life until you leave. I don't know. SO MANY OSCILLOSCOPE SCREENS

Overall, I did pretty bad on the game itself this time round, but did learn some good stuff, so I still kinda win ;)

THE CURRENT LINKS USE MY WEBSITE. SOON, THEY WILL BE MOVED OVER TO GAMEJOLT AND ITCH.IO. JUST A HEADS UP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#52Mood3.78
#69Graphics4.05
#140Overall3.69
#224Humor3.09
#237Audio3.24
#379Fun3.27
#576Innovation3.10
#937Theme3.26

Comments

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45am

My favorite so far! The zoom is really fitting to the theme while also adding an interesting mechanic to the genre. The sweet jump controls and the great level design made you really curious to continue playing. Nicely done!

lion123 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Great game with great controls

MaddeStudios says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Thank you, peoples! I'm glad you liked the levels, I would have ideally had WAAY more features and mechanics to this game, but I didn't really have time :(

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Awesome game! I love the clever theme usage here, haha. This game is frustratingly unforgiving though. Awesome job though, I played it for quite some time :)

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great Game!

FredericRP says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Good mood ! I found that the robot was way too slow, but that's the point at first, right ?
I like the oscilloscope screens :)

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26am

Nice platformer, with some personality. Great work!

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34am

Great platformer with sweet graphics and a clever take on the theme! Dug the overall feel (plus robots are awesome)

Krisjet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06am

Cool little metroidvania. Impressed by the scope of what you managed to put together! A little bit too much backtracking made it a bit frustrating at times, especially when you missed jumps and had to climb all the way to the top again.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28am

Very nice game! I was expecting it to be a jam entry while I was playing it, then saw it was a compo. I have a few criticisms about level design but take them with a grain of salt as they are only apparent because of the high level of polish of the game. Some of the pits right after entering new scenes and or having to jump to platforms between scenes were a bit frustrating, as was backtracking from errant jumps. Great overall though!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Solid platformer gameplay. I really like this take on the theme. Some of the sound was a bit grating after awhile. Nicely done overall.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04pm

didn't get far... takes forever to walk anywhere... But quite nice from what I've seen!

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Very polished game, great job! I think the level design was pretty frustrating, the first section would kill you and send you wayyyy back and the robot doesn't move very quickly. At first I thought it didn't fit the theme at all, but it worked its way there.

I actually really liked the theme. Though it didn't dictate the entire compo like most themes do, it's a nice restriction that allows for designers to get a little more creative without just letting them go free.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice style, solid controls - the zoom feature works well and suits the theme nicely, good job! :)

Bernhard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Another one of those "I can't believe thats possible in 48h" entries. WOW! Really well done!

MaddeStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Thanks for all the Digital Love, guys! I honestly thought this was one of my worse attempts. Glad you generally like most of the aspects. But yes, level design isn't my forte.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Everything works so well together! Chiptune track, low-rez pixelart (so good!), it all complements the CRTesque mood.
Way to make something brilliant with a tough theme!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:22am

Nice with the camera zoom and rooms. Nice art and fitting sound. However I think it was a little bit too unforgiving sending you back to the start each death. Movement was slow enough to frustrate me each time I had to walk all the way again. Maybe a checkpoint at each new room entered or something. Still very good though :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:30am

The game is suuuuper laggy on Firefox. Opted out of rating since the zoom was laggy and even after wheels, things were very slow and stuttery about once a second. I was playing using the standalone web version instead of the embedded version.

A mute toggle for music would also be really appreciated since music can get a bit old in games that go on for a while. The text was also suuuper slow to scroll.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

There's some lovely art here and a solid platformer design. The opening section is pretty painful, but if you can make it past that it's pretty fun.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Great work! I like the progression and the graphics. The music loop is a little annoying and I found the fog at the screen edges a bit too thick/dark but it did help with the atmosphere. I liked the AI - I was getting a bit of a GlaDOS vibe and I kept expecting it to turn on me. Fantastic entry!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:36am

The darkness, the derelict screens, and text like "still working" all contributed to a build a pretty solid atmosphere.

The darkness was wonderful for mood and visual effects but really got in the way of gameplay a few times (like when the first upgrade station is nearly invisible because it's near the edge of the screen).

I found the music was too quiet for the sound effects.

I mostly liked the level design (apart from some of the long retry times). The game feels surprisingly "big" given the 48 hour constraint.

Great work!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Hi there. Like the bizarre music. Couldn't make sense of the game, the slow, very noisy, grinding motion has a certain pathos... but it was just frustrating.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:07pm

really nice game

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Walking takes far too much time.

gana0 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice submission! I agree that the robot does move too slow in the beginning though. I didn't really want to drag through the first moments of the game, but I found the wheel which improved it greatly. The graphics were pretty good and the dark atmosphere was easily achieved. The music was just ok. Great submission!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]