Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Interview

by Lacaranian - Compo Entry

You are an applicant for a job at the prestigious (and fictional) Indigo Corportion. Answer their questions well enough under pressure, and get the job!

How to Play: See if you can survive the interview. Click or tap to progress through text. When options appear, click or tap on the one you want!

Features:

- Five fully trained interviewers, prepared to test your mettle
- A jazzy pizzicato soundtrack
- Hallucinations
- Realistic interview waiting times
- Unrealistic interview questions
- Hyperrealistic application of a snow personage
- One sweet desk

Made using Construct 2, Audacity, sfxr, msPaint, notepad++, and GIMP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.46
#123Mood3.54
#154Audio3.44
#166Fun3.57
#217Overall3.57
#460Innovation3.25
#498Theme3.64
#676Graphics2.89
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24am

LoL LoL LoL LoL LoL LoL . Good good music and these snowman... but no hiring :(

burnedkirby says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Dripping with humor, and filled to the brim with those snide comments that appear when you turn your back to it but seems pleasant enough when you look again and it's just charming and yet bizarre at the same time.

I have yet to get hired, but at least I am hired.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

haha very good music fun game :D

BKGH says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

I get what the waiting time at the begining was to simulate, but it bugged me so much. xD
Funny game, though,

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

Hahah, lots of humor, but I would like to see better graphics. Good job

Newt_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

Hooray, I got hired! Overall, very nice game! It was really funny, but a little too slow-paced for me, especially waiting for the characters to switch. I loved the unique characters though! Nice work!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

Ahahah, this is the funniest and most absurd game I've tested this far! Wonderfully nonsensical and the music fits really well. Also liked the reviewer-specific noises :)

Managore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07am

This is hilarious! Well done.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

I didn't get the interview, but if these interviewers were anything to go by, I'm pretty happy I didn't. It was like being in some sort of slow interview hell, with music eternally playing in the background!

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08am

That was really funny and endearing! Very enjoyable

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05am

Awesome!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:07am

Pretty funny, nice job!

eerongal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09am

This is one of those things that bizarre enough to play through just to see where it's going :P

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

Silly. I like the music.

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

Not too dissimilar from my real job interviews.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:13am

Such a wacky game! Great job!

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:37am

This was hilarious, thanks

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Hi there. Much fun, very good script.. Well done! Hated the long gaps between interviewers, have you worked out to the second how long someone will wait before #RAGEQUIT ? Oh yes, love the music!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Awesome! :D Could use some background animations (snowflakes falling outside the window, a clock on the wall) so waiting periods would be more bearable.
Sadly, I didn't get a job. ;_;

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:23am

@rzuf Digging that clock idea!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

ncie idea

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]