Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Assault Team Giga Omikron: Total Mercenary

by andreaswitzen - Jam Entry

Assault Team Giga Omikron are ambushed in a derelict warehouse and have to fight for their lives.


Made in 72 hours.

Original music by JHAS - soundcloud.com/jhas

Font: Minecraftia by Andrew Tyler.


*** Higher cover (blue) makes units harder to hit. ***

From left to right:
Support - Low hit rate. High damage to cover.
Assault - Medium hit rate and damage. High Health.
Marksman - High hit rate and damage. Low damage to cover. Low health.

Controls:
Arrow keys to select
Space to execute
Esc to cancel


*** Post-Deadline changes ***

# Removed a bug where using "Act as Spotter"-skill would pemanently lower the hitrate and damage of the marksman, resulting in attacks healing enemies and then constantly missed shots.

# Added a line break in the "Delayed Attack"-string so that it fits in the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#229Theme(Jam)3.86
#278Audio(Jam)3.26
#367Overall(Jam)3.36
#449Innovation(Jam)3.12
#458Graphics(Jam)3.36
#478Fun(Jam)3.07
#547Mood(Jam)2.98
#790Humor(Jam)1.90

Comments

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20am

Graphics are nice. Gameplay was frustrating because *every* shot would miss, except for those of the sniper.

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

Good strategy game!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

Cool idea but I would like to have a bit more indication as to what is happening to my characters.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:39am

Pretty Reminiscent of XCOM (especially with the miss chances). I got pretty into it once I got used to all the different abilities, congrats on a short fun little game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Wasn't able to load the game, got a Dropbox error. Just a heads up!

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I really enjoyed this mechanic - lots of potential for a strategy game. I had a hard time understand at first how the attacking worked and I didn't really get what the blue bar/cover did versus the red health bar.

Good job!

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Gameplay and graphics are awesome. Literally the sniper only hits people so, just need to work on that but overall I like it.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I understood how to play perfectly, and I understood the strategy. I had a great time playing, I would probably buy this if it had more content :)

dook says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Interesting idea for a little tactics game. Could be fun with some expanded features or more levels :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10am

so harD!!

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

Great setup, concept, and interface. The music really got me in the mood. All of those options for the heroes got me thinking, but with no access to the numbers, it felt too random (and overpowering) to win. Maybe next time go with simple pips for health.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:13am

great idea doing a tactics game

ilokimo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14am

Fun and hard, would play, maybe could be little more original but it is very solid. Good art, hypnotic music and some sfxr sound like we all love!

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:16am

I like the music in this game, matches the art style nicely. It was hard to tell when the turns were up and when I was supposed to do things...but pretty fun!

Waschtl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:16am

Nice game. Nice graphics. Cool audio. The missed attacks are too random for my taste but otherwise you got your mechanics down pretty good. :)

kipelovets says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice graphics, although laking some animation. Interesting tactics mechanics

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46pm

could be better if it had more feedback

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I like where you're going with this. Animated sprites would really bring it to life!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:41am

As a fan o X-Com I really appreciate the game :) Moody and pixelish take on subject. Mechanics are maybe a bit too hidden in game, but after few plays I think I find out a bit It's nice you added different classes and skills, but it's a pity that enemies are so plain - just simple diversification would add additional layer to strategy - for example order of eliminating :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:21am

Very solid entry, but I wish there was more content. I like how tactical it is, but maybe it needs more balance: conver change guarantees cover bar replenish, and sniper-spotter team is a sure way to win.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:16am

omg nice. i like that

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:44am

Cool retro music and sound effects. Needed to maybe ramp up better to difficulty... but cool idea overall with the different squad members.

otaviogood says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:27am

I managed to win on the first try, but it was close. Great name for the game. :)

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:36am

Nice music, nice sprites (even if you could have done a shoot animation).

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I love tactics, and visual are very old-school looking!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:01am

Good fun, finished it on my first play through.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Well. Interesting concept. But my units is missed the targets all time ;)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Well thought idea!
I like it. Sound and graphics are not bad. The gamplay a little too slow and still.
BTW Nice game! Well done!

jay43k says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:36am

Very fun! Loved the scene.

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Really awesome! Many things to consider. Coverage, attack, wait for shoot.. nice concept!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:42pm

nice ork

Lokiman says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:59am

At first it seemed a little bit difficult but after some time I figured out the strategy :) Also I love the music! :D

nkling says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Wow really great idea! I would love to see this implemented into a larger game! This is really inspiring. Music fit really well, the artwork (the finished parts) were great. I wished there was more artwork but for the limited time the art you got in was perfectly enough to give a great sense of mood and intensity.I would love to see some animations in the game! I hope you continue to work on this.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]