Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Defend the House

by Enzo42 - Compo Entry

The goal of this game is to defend your house as enemies will spawn at night and try to destroy it. Place obstacles to prevent them from reaching your house as you kill them.
You can make money to build obstacles by killing enemies and farming.

Controls:
[SPACE]: Attack
Click a fully grown farm to farm it for money.
Click the button location at the right-bottom of the screen to open/close the building interface
Click an object to build and place it somewhere on the map.
Use your mouse wheel to rotate the object.

How many days do you survive?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#597Humor2.43
#666Fun2.97
#698Mood2.77
#789Overall2.97
#790Audio2.27
#800Innovation2.77
#892Graphics2.57
#893Theme3.32
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I couldn't download anything from the Uppit sites. Thankfully, I was able to run the JAR from Mega. This entry shows a great deal of effort - it shows! After I got the hang of things, I wasn't getting owned as much :P.

Zolkren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Cool game.
A game that is not about snowman for once hehe.

Timm638 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Very good game, but for me too slow, also the time is passing to slow, but good game!

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I feel that the random spawning can be a bit brutal early on, before you get fences set up. Monsters would often spawn simultaneously on opposite sides for me, and I wasn't fast enough to take them both down.

Enzo42 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I agree the spawning is a little extreme, I've been able to get to day 6. Best way is to try to farm with all your money as long as you can and buy the iron sword.

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Looks pretty well thought out.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Wow, it gets really intense real quick!
As Enzo42 said, the first thing to buy is the iron sword, so plant some seeds and sell some wheat until you can... After that, there's not much you can do, sadly, I couldn't get far enough in the game to unlock more than the iron fence, which is very expensive and doesn't protect you much longer than the wooden one...
A little frustrating, but a great game nonetheless!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I liked this, atmospheric at night time as well. Nice work, fun game.

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

This is the error i get:
Exception in thread "Thread-3" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Component must have a valid peer at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.createBuffers(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component$FlipSubRegionBufferStrategy.<init>(Unknown Source)

at java.awt.Component.createBufferStrategy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Canvas.createBufferStrategy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.createBufferStrategy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Canvas.createBufferStrategy(Unknown Source)
at com.game.Main.render(Main.java:111)
at com.game.Main.run(Main.java:225)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

using java 8 update 25

Marcellus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Liked the idea and the will behind this game. It's a bit time consuming tho.

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Nice game! Could definitely be very fun and stratetic if added more stuff to build. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:20am

The game time is progressing too slow. Also as there is not so much content the game get boring soon. But there is some potential, with some other structures to build I can imagine this as good innovative tower-defense-like game :-)

Enzo42 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:48am

At first the time seems too slow, but when you reach day 4+ i find I don't have enough time to put everything down in time. I should of made an option to speed time up to prevent the waiting the first few days

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:15pm

:)))) coll

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Really nice survival game, really enjoyed playing it!

Enzo42 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:44pm

If anyone is interested in playing an updated version with more obstacles and overal improvements, here is a link
https://mega.co.nz/#!g9lXCIZa!jMRJySJig7ca7nhEZ6sS_yGm8Ag6cS453nmGNghSVbw
(DO NOT VOTE THIS ENTRY BASED ON THIS VERSION)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:58am

I had fun with this game! I got to day 6. I kind of wish there was a goal day to reach or something. And the game did move a bit slow, sometimes I just wanted to skip to the next scene.

With the addition of more types of things to place and different enemies, this game could be really great! :)

esaygin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:27am

Good but t00 slow

sorlok says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:59am

Cool idea, but controls get "stuck" a bit (I can't move around all the time). I like the real-time plus farming idea. Good job!

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:40am

pretty good..

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:23am

Nice graphics, nice gameplay, very hard but that might just be me. Maybe could of used checkpoints, but I suppose the difficulty was very much purposeful.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:29am

simple tower defense type game, but it's fun and challenging, well done. imo the build button should be on top, next to the stats.

estuardolh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:40pm

level 0 too hard D': haha

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Things get very interesting after the second day. I like the game. I would say though, using the arrow keys, the mouse and space bar didn't really work. I would much preferred WASD, Spacebar and the mouse.

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:17pm

The attacking is very unintuitive and overall the game feels a bit slow paced but if graphics and sound got some tweaking this may get more interesting!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nice survival game, it's a bit hard to play. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]