Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Takeover

by JangoBrick - Compo Entry

"It is the year 2537.
Mankind is being overrun by a horde of semi-organic androids.
You are the leader of a group of people fighting against the robots, trying to survive. The protective shield of your base was damaged, and repairing it takes time...
But you don't have that time! The androids are attacking!
Build towers to take care of the invaders and defend your people."

So yeah, this is a tower defense game.

I originally planned something completely different, something more "deep" and with a way better implementation of the theme. You can have a look at a screenshot of my original idea here, if you're interested: https://twitter.com/JangoBrick/status/541230972025704448
Anyway, that one didn't work out at all because I had no idea how to carry on with the story. One whole day wasted, but at least I only needed about 12 hours for Takeover.

Third time in a row that I'm participating.

These are the tools I used:
- Language: Java
- IDE: Eclipse
- Engine/Framework: JangoDare (http://github.com/JangoBrick/JangoDare)
- Graphics: GIMP
- Sound effects: Bfxr
- My brain

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Fun3.81
#366Overall3.38
#506Audio2.81
#533Graphics3.13
#744Innovation2.88
#769Theme3.44
#2152Coolness22%

Comments

Legiion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Its actually a pretty nicegame , i really like the mechanic that often used towers cost more in the lategame, so you are encouraged to buy the better ones. The sound could need some improvements though

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:22am

Nice little TD game. The sound effect for the green tower is a little annoying though

sausagroll says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:43am

The towers seem to miss a lot when shooting at enemies really close to them and really far away but overall it's a good game.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great!usually i don't like TD games but i enjoyed playing this one anyway. At progress 7.5 the game gets crazy and laggy then i died at 7.6 :) weird ? what happens at 7.5 ? =)

johannesl says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:31pm

The pixel art suited this game well. The game loop needs to be adjusted for less CPU usage - as soon as I started the the game my fan started spinning, and with 7 towers out (two green, two blue, 3 yellow) the game was unplayable in performance on this 2014 Macbook Pro Retina.

madalaski says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:50pm

A sort of cookie clicker tower defence game I find. Only part I didn't find fun was when towers missed which I'm not sure is on purpose or not. It was a frustrating mechanic which added an element of randomness which was not needed in the game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:11pm

cute tower defense game, like how you've used a maze so that the enemies path won't be so predictable, well done

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Doesn't wanna open up :( (Made it executabe..)

Divitos says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:45am

Progression was a little slow, the sound eventually got annoying, the game seemed a little unoptimized, and the towers could really use some path prediction for firing.

I liked it, though, it showed a lot of potential.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

nice idea

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]