Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Screen Space

by KickBack - Jam Entry

Controls:

WASD and Space to Jump
or
Arrow Keys and Up arrow to Jump
E or Enter to interact/take things around you

You use the Jetpack by holding down Space or Up arrow while you're jumping/in the air.

Mouse to aim and throw various throw-ables.

We couldn't test the linux version, but we hope it works!

"The Screen Space" is a... Platformer, text adventure, puzzle, interactive experience.... thing. We didn't get enough time to fine tune everything or do everything we wanted, but I guess it's the same for everyone.

Make sure to watch the ending :)

We had fun recording sounds with a mic this time.

Hope people enjoy it and we're looking forward to playing other LD games once we sleep for at least 12 hours :P

Made by KickBack and friends
(Nick Konstantoglou, Vagelis Antonopoulos, Panos Karabelas, Dimitris Perifanis)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#59Graphics(Jam)4.39
#61Theme(Jam)4.18
#118Overall(Jam)3.76
#168Humor(Jam)3.33
#168Audio(Jam)3.50
#178Mood(Jam)3.53
#212Innovation(Jam)3.56
#371Fun(Jam)3.23

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

amazing graphics!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57am

Loved your approach to the theme!

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

Very well done. Played into the theme very well. I was stuck on the jetpack. Sometimes the jetpack worked but was not sure why and could never replicate it again.

Inateno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

this is awesome, a good example on how to exploit the them. GJ

jackrugile says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01am

I love the humor the dialogue. Such a beautiful game, excellent work.

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:04am

Wow, this was amazing! Funny story, neat puzzles (the rock one in particular was really cool), and awesome graphics and animations - especially at the end. Great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:16am

interesting :D

teslashark says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

@digibody
Keep tapping jump before you fall, it only works when you are ascending.

teslashark says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

What you did with that tree is beautiful.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I see where you were going with this but starting with hard to read unskipable narrative threw me off almost immediately.
I guess that could be the reason why I did not manage to get the most out of it. Nice graphics though.

Detocroix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Very cool usage of theme. Thumbs up!

Felladrin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Wow... Such an amazing game! Great story, music and content!
5/5 stars! Best game I've played so far from LD31!
Congratulations guys!

KickBack says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:37am

@KrisDevelopment Yeah, it wasn't exactly a design choice, more like we didn't have time to implement skipping the text (or at least, being able to fast forward it), so I understand your pain.

It was on our todo list but in the panic of the last day and with some issues that arose we didn't get around to doing it. We'll probably do a post jam version at some point.

In any case, thanks everyone for the comments :D

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Great art . that awesome

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Stunning.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Beautiful, deep game. Amazing story, amazing arts and power message that it delivers. Top 10 of LD 31 for easy

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very witty and fun little blend of genres! Loved it :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice game! Nice ending too! :)

Riocide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:49am

Fucking A! Music is perfect!

guimonpa says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Wow, great take on the theme!
Loved the music and how light hearted everything felt.

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:41am

I really liked it. Some of the writing was a little on the nose. Just felt a little too self aware but I liked the theme you employed. The art is well done and the puzzles were well designed. Wish I didn't have to go back to the old man multiple times to figure out what to do with the bucket. Excellent job!

KickBack says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:58am

@masterhyjinx Cheers :D

My writing is in general a bit direct and self-aware and meta, so with the concept we had I probably went a bit overboard :)

With the general light-heartedness of everything I was hoping it would come off as silly/charming.

About the bucket, I think there are a couple more hints scattered around (the villagers have a random chance to give you a hint, and if you try to get rocks twice, there is another hint there), but yeah the old man does give you the more direct instructions.

fancypants says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Awesome game, funny script, great graphics!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

pretty interesting game - a lot here - great job

Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I'm amazed! Really good game. Nailed it in pretty much every category. Perfect usage of the theme, quite a bit of humour, beautiful graphics, nice audio, fun to play - what else could you possibly ask for in a LD game? :)

Teejay5 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

Super pretty! But what really got me was the jetpack.

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I was pleasantly surprised. :)
Some bits I found frustrating, like talking to towns people over and over by accident, and the text adventure style bit was tedious after a while. (Gotta get through a lot of games, so time I'm generally impatient, but I liked the game so I stuck with it.)
Ending was really good. Thank you for the experience! :D

Lokiman says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

What a beautiful game and nice ending!:D You really did a great job for a LD jam entry! :)

danielilett says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

This is one of the best games I've played! It's a really neat way to approach the theme, the graphics are superb, and the audio is awesome. The sense of humor in this game is really cool too, and the whole thing just works. Great job!

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Amazing. This is beautiful.
I am astonished.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]