Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screened

by hexagore - Compo Entry

A **furiously** difficult platform game inspired by some of my absolute favourites. My take on the theme is to take the concept of looping in level design to absurd extremes, constantly reusing sections of the level in order to maximise the gameplay.

Once you can do it, it takes about 9 minutes to complete.

Instructions Which No-one Reads:

There are two exits: You must go between each exit until you escape from the screen. Sadly each time you try to use an exit the world becomes much, much worse. Makes you wonder why you even bother, doesn't it? Discover what lies beyond! Or fail to!

Platform:

- This is a WebGL game so it should run on any computer with a decent browser and a non-terrible GPU without plugins.

Controls:

- Cursor keys.
- More Cursor keys.
- Any cursor key you like.
- Although WASD also works if you're one of those rare right handed people.

Tips:

- YOU CAN ONLY JUMP ONCE YOU'VE STOPPED BOUNCING. Takes a lot to push away from the ground.
- You're a big thing far away, not a small thing. You're a lot heavier and have more inertia than you might expect. Anticipation is the ...
- The longer you hold 'up' when you jump, the higher you'll jump. Mostly you'll just bump your head on things though.
- For the final obstacle, try coming to a stop before jumping over those...things. Whatever they are.
- This game is totally possible to beat. Full video playthrough to come.

Agh it doesn't work:
- Not loading: It seems to take a while to finish loading for some people. If it seems to be taking too long, try reloading it. No idea what's causing this!

- WebGL being a bit experimental and new, if it doesn't work in Chrome try Firefox. If it doesn't work in Firefox try Chrome. If you're using Internet Explorer, try Chrome! Or Firefox! Thank you for being patient.

- On Linux: There's a problem with Intel GPU drivers, apparently, which is breaking WebGL.

OMG MY FPS!:

- Built in Intel GPUs on old and/or cheap laptops are absolutely horrible. Luckily you can make it a little easier on your computer by reducing the size of the browser window and reloading the game. The game's playable between 30-60fps, but below that you're going to struggle a lot. Again, thank for you for being patient. See above re: "Experimental" and "New".

Making Of:

This was made in Javascript using the lovely Three.JS for help with the WebGL stuff, my own game library and lots of open source code. Blender was used for the level design, Reason for recording the music and sound effects, and the number of the day is 42.

UPDATE:

I've changed the audio so that it's using an HTML5 Audio tag instead of the Web Audio API which means the game doesn't need to wait for the music to download before starting. Hopefully this will fix loading problems. *fingers crossed*

UPDATE 2:

Ported the game to support right handed people by adding WASD controls. Sorry.

UPDATE 3:

Added a post-compo version which is basically the same game but the bounce and inertia has been toned down a lot so some people made find it a little easier to beat/get used to. Tweaked the graphics a bit to add support for retina displays and a few other things that don't make a huge amount of different tbh.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#67Graphics4.06
#81Mood3.66
#149Theme4.01
#166Audio3.41
#212Overall3.58
#468Fun3.17
#610Innovation3.06

Comments

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Really hard, too hard for me, but the mood fits the difficulty.

And wow, impressive usage of ThreeJS :)

olligobber says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05am

Not loading on Linux.

Zleub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:08am

Very nice graphics and theme integration !

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:09am

Unable to play :(
keys do nothing :/
Long time loading and seems at a low fps rate.

mattpattie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

#RAGEQUIT!
enjoyed it though! :)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

Really good graphics :)

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15am

Agh I will have to try to do something about the loading times. It's only the music causing these delays...

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24am

Amazing graphics. Was stuck on loading in chrome.

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:26am

I couldnt progress on the blue saw level >.< but the game its hard and looks really nice :)

Krimble says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28am

The graphics are awesome, the game is a bit to hard but still fun.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Really hard, but easy to understand, gread colors and music,

initia killed me but it's a great element

Answer to you comment in my game page - ( does the "play button" appear ? - did you try to update your unity webplayer )

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Fun, hard, addictive, beautiful! Awesome game.

taaboo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:08pm

The feeling the game gives is good. The game is hard and the graphics are nice. I personaly did not like the controller of the player. it felt to laggy to be good. You needed to think 0.5 seconds ahead of where your char was when you had to press buttons. But it matches the looks with the trail behind you

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Nice graphic, there is a lot of details that I like. Disturbed music fit the level perfectly.
Level 2 is too hard, I tried about 20 times to pass it, people might drop it faster. I end up on level 4. Nice entry!

vrld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Graphics are really good and the audio is great too, although the background music can get a little annoying. Almost as it was taunting me for failing so often :)

The way of using the level over and over again is very creative and fits the theme well. I like how seeing the things to come terrifies and motivates you at the same time. The only gripe I have are the controls.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Absolutely fantastic. Hard to 'win', but really addictive and fun.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Very impressive game. Fantastic work! Keep it up!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37pm

This is neat :D. Love the music, effects and the camera-tilt. The line "I wish I didn't make the world difficult" is great

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Very good. If you hadn't opted out of "Humor" I would have given it ★★★★☆

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Aww gutted. I thought the humor was too subtle. :P

bofink says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:36pm

LOVE this game! the design, the mechanics, and OMG the music! Wonderful! :D

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Nice graphics, the first levels are a bit too hard though

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Gorgeous visuals, I have a love for shiny things and particles though haha. Music was kinda grating in places but totally fit the feeling of the game. The movement controls are going to be a deal breaker for people but I loved the floaty-ness to them and the need to adjust to exactly how this game works. Excellant job on this one!

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39pm

You mentioned the player 'size' it in the tips, but the controls feel slightly sluggish. This hasn't stopped me from playing though.

I loved the particle effects and the scan-line effect. The music fit the game just fine, and all together it felt pretty solid.

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Awesome graphics! Great entry!

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Very good interpretation of the theme, and I loved the music.

It was a bit difficult though, both myself and my son tried and we only arrived to level 3 :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59pm

wow, pretty cool, nice graphics

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Good graphic, good atmosphere, but quite difficult ...

Dyn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08am

Best game I've played by now in this LD. (about 40)
Good job!

madmaw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36am

Runs fairly slow on my box, but there's so much to like about this entry. Excellent achievement.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03pm

The music is ahhhhh so great! I wish to know more about its creation :D

The game itself is quite hard, I'm going to try again!

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:26pm

This is gorgeous! And good music, too. But it's way too hard for me! I'm probably not the target audience. For what it's worth, it loaded plenty fast enough for me.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

awesome game! :D I love it

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

Damn difficult - nice GFX though :)

bushmango says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:37am

Thanks for rating my game, Four Seasons!

Great concept, very pretty! I like the subtle use of hte circles in the background. Really punishing though, I couldn't get used to the loose controls. I'm really happy to see that WebGL games can be this good! :D

chaosed0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54am

The pulsating graphics and particle effects are a little too much for me. Quite solid, hard platformer, though.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54am

Cool! Very bumpy controls that makes it challenging!

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Very hard game. I like it very much but I would tweak the controls because currently part of the difficulty seems to be coming from the somewhat sluggish controls. The theme is used in a cool way and though it's always the same level you get quite some different challenges. And as a super meat boy fan I just have to like this game ;) I also enjoyed the music.

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I liked it, even though its hard and can be frustrating at times. Especially hard to get a feeling for the jumping mechanics. Sometimes it "just wont jump".

Visual style is great!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Well it sure is difficult! Lives up to it's description, I think the reason I found it a little hard to get past any obstacles was the bouncing physics off the ceiling...off the ground was kinda cool and fun but the ceiling bounce just made things way too impossible for me.

Anyways, enough about my lack of skills...I enjoy those CRT scan lines on the orange objects! And all the movement and glowing makes things feel so foreign, well done!

hexagore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Aw it makes me sad that hte controls are so difficult :(

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:58pm

:D no worries. this is something you just have to test with people and there is just not enough time for that in 48-72 hours I think ...

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:17pm

This game is really good. No really. The controls take some time to get used to. Learning how long to hold up button and such. The level design was excellent, the music was good the effects were really cool. Job well done!

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:02am

Nice touch with the meta-narrative, might be the first Ludum Dare game I've played that broke the 4th wall! Found it a little too difficult to control for my liking, that's one of the few types of difficulty I'm not keen on, but I like the visual style, and I like the overlapping level concept.

hexagore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:25am

Rob, thank you. The narrative was actually the main inspiration for this game. Once I decided I wouldn't have a title screen it made sense to fold the credits and titles into the narrative too, I just wanted the player character to express the same frustration as I had with the theme!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:10am

Very hard!!!! love the trail on the character and the art in general. the music is harsh but it fits the game. cool theme interpretation. i rage quit XD

svenardo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Excellent and suuper hard :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Really nicely done. The controls are a little floatly and bouncy for a precision platformer, and the terrain could use more contrast with the background. This is a really impressive, challenging platformer. Awesome work!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:11am

super hard for me but very interesting. I manage to only did the first two layers.

Nice concept and graphical style!!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hi there. Looks really great. Did level one ;) Took about a minute to get first jump on level two, about two minutes to give up on first buzz saw... I'm bad at playing platformers, but this seems very harsh/pixel perfect to me. Loved the sounds and animations/pulsing. Good job!

GFM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:24am

So... I was able to beat you game. It wasn't as hard as I expected, after your recent post, but it definitely wasn't easy.

Although, as a fellow game developer, I understand that you wanted the controls to be part of the difficulty, but, as a player, it felt kind of... artificial, maybe? Like, most of the time, I wasn't playing against your game, I was playing against the controls...

After you figure out that you can hold 'up' to jump right after you touch the floor, this stops being a problem. Then, there's the fact that you maneuver better on the air, being able to make a complete stop by jumping and adjusting your speed. So, the only thing left was the slow acceleration/deceleration.

Of course, this is a different kind of platform than the usual (that has more tight controls). Perhaps adding animations to the player and, for example, ice to the floor the controls would be better accepted. This kind of "mind trick" can help make others understand you intent with the game.

Don't take, by all that, that I thought your game was bad. It wasn't!! I only didn't like the fact the most of the difficulty came from the controls, and not from the level design itself.

Still, the game was well made! I really liked all the effects, nice use of shaders, there. I gotta admit that the song loop got tiring after a while, but it was nice, initially.

=D

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:22am

Pretty, and just as frustrating as you say.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:58am

The art style and music are both amazing, but even though I love difficult platformers, I found your game just too frustratingly hard due to the bouncy nature of the cube.

I think a less steep difficulty curve that helps ease the player with bouncy controls would do loads of good to the game.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:03am

Yeah. The restriction of the theme really worked against this particular game :(

alabebop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:46pm

I really like the graphic, the audio, and the overall mood of the game, but it's just tooooooooooo hard to control...

rjhunter says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:27am

Way too hard for me, but what *gorgeous* graphics.

The music was pretty amazing too, but it got a bit repetitive. The high-pitched sound (violin? rusty gate?) would have worked better if it only showed up once in a while instead of almost all the time.

(I was frustrated by the controls, but I see you've fixed that in the post-compo version. Still just as ridiculously hard, but now it feels like a hard *game* instead of hard *controls*.)

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:58am

rjhunter: Ah that is gratifying to know. Yes, I wish I'd spent more time on the music now, but I panicked and only budgeted myself an hour for it. Whoops :P

waxwire says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:32pm

the graphics are awesome but it gave me headaches aftere a moment. it's super hard and challenging but i love it :D
awesome game

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Great interpretation of theme - awesome how you have the same map, with constant variations. Very cool.

Looks great! So many nice visual touches; really very nice on the eyes.

Found this tough as hell, but action felt very very solid which I appreciate. Will keep at it and see how far I can get. For now, let me just say well done for a great game here!

gre says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice work on graphic postprocessing.
The gameplay is quite interesting too with the motion inertia increasing the game difficulty, it fis the mood well.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Gnarly. I like the gritty guitar music and the post effects.

Meedoc says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:21am

Nice entry! The physics is a bit tricky to take in hand but once you get it, it's pleasant!

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:05am

Good job, mainly with the aesthetics and the mood. The controls may be though; however once you realize how they work, it's incredibly easier :)

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Wow great game!!

Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I HATE YOU. But also this was really cool, it ran perfectly for me on my gaming rig and the whole mood and feel was excellent. It was super difficult, but I enjoyed the platforming for the most part; mostly I felt like it was my fault when it went wrong. There was one bit with a blue saw on a slope when the jump just wouldn't respond, but other than that it was a good challenge.

hexagore says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:47pm

SecondDimension: music to my ears :)

Beerman says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:20pm

That's horribly difficult, you're a monster. The music really suits it, fits the feel of the game perfectly.

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Excellent all around. I love the style. The background is a nice touch. Great music. I really like how you reused elements in different levels. The controls are really my only complaint. It's just so sluggish. I know you're going for a difficult feel, but this is ideally done with really tight, responsive controls and a difficult environment. Twitch platformers usually want you to feel in control of your character. So I came close to quitting a couple of times, but I held out because the style was just so great. I finally managed to finish it. Took me a lot longer than 9 minutes, though, that's for sure.

elvaq says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:02am

The audio and graphics are great but I was really frustrated with the controls. I get that it's part of the difficulty but it just didn't feel good to move around. Maybe if the character's graphics communicated the weight/floatiness more?

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

The controls are way too laggy, this is like playing Super Meat Boy on an ice rink... :/
It's a shame because the level design and the theme exploitation look good!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]