Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Piano Racer

by davidcollado - Jam Entry

Enter the artistic delirium of this musician and experience the race for personal fulfillment!

Enjoy! :D

Game by @davidcollado and @turmixs
Art by @davidllanos22


//--

For Mac Users:

In order to run the game, you should enable 'Allow applications downloaded from Anywhere'.
To do this, go to System Preferences / Security & Privacy / General.

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#10Fun(Jam)4.13
#27Overall(Jam)4.06
#32Humor(Jam)4.00
#53Innovation(Jam)3.97
#95Theme(Jam)4.09
#141Mood(Jam)3.63
#176Audio(Jam)3.48
#507Graphics(Jam)3.26

Comments

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05am

Wow! Really fun!

Got 56! The controls feel great and the sound and music are great!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07am

So now I have seen everything... A racing game with a piano :D Cool idea. Nice little game. Like the trip like artwork... some kind of lsd visual peared with 8bit pixels ... nice piece of art :D

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Ha-ha! I love how you put it on One Screen! Nice idea and plays well!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Avira antivirus finds the TR/Dropper.Gen virus in the executable :(, am I the only one that get this warning?

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05pm

awesome!would love to see this expanded

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05pm

From the screenshots I thought you ignored the theme, but boy was I wrong :) Great idea and great execution, the controls work well and the graphics and music do their job. Also bonus points for creativity. Why use a car when you can have a piano? :D

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Oh god, this is like a quintessential ludum dare game. That drifting is so sexy. This should be in a list somewhere

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11pm

WOW, haha I came here with low expectations, but it was awesome xD

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Really fun game! Very innovative. Implementing theme & idea was excellent. Pretty awesome!

local minimum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Got to about 15-16 but had a blast playing. Really quite fantastic and extremely well executed game. Music, graphics, controls all came together more or less perfectly. I try priding myself in these comments to have some constructive critique, but it is a bit hard this time around. There's not much I would consider changing or tweaking...

If anything, I failed to understand the controls the first two times around, but since the game was so quick at restart it didn't really matter. You could test having the first two passes in a slight slow motion. Or even have the whole tune be one of those that increase in speed over time. Might be so now, but that I didn't get far enough.

The second thing I came to think of, though it clearly wasn't an issue for me was that the paths existing now seems to be rather few. It could be possible to add 360 turn around and some other paths while still keeping the style, width of path and general resolution of the game.

Full starts all way through.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Didn`t expect this to be addictive as hell! Nice one, well done!

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:11pm

So this is basically Rainbow Road 2.0 on a piano. Cool.

Finlal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:48pm

One of the best game on this lundum!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:59am

Pretty fun game with catchy tunes, scored 47 on my first game, so I think it should a bit harder. By the way, I never used the brakes, I didn't feel they were necessary, don't know if that's what you wanted.

ilokimo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Good gameplay and use of the theme. The difficulty progress is a little slow and it seems that braking is not really an option but what racing game needs actually brakes...

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:51pm

tried downloading for mac, said the file was damaged. i tried downloading it twice

NPException says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Holy shit this is addictive! The controls feel just right, and the music is perfect for this game.
Would you mind sharing the source for this gem?

NPException says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Also, could you try working around Avira Antivirus recognising your game as a TR/Dropper.Gen virus?
I just ignored AV for the sake of LD, but this might keep many many people from trying and rating this masterpiece.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:38am

Wow! Simple but pretty awesome!!
It is a great game and a solid entry. Good graphics, sounds, gameplay, fits well with the theme, funny... and very addictive! Nice work ^_^

spotco says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:25am

luv me some autotracker-bu

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I don't know why I'm driving a piano, but this is awesome.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:27pm

omg this entry is so crazy I love it

Florent says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very hard and very crazy !

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:02pm

A very interresting game with a strong concept :o !

I think that some random could make the game even more addictive ;)

Anyway, I love it, good job !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]