Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Astrador

by sirikan - Compo Entry

Astrador is a computer based card game where you must defeat an AI player by destroying their base.

Apologies in the advance for my programmer art. Some of it kind grew on me so I left it in.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#322Theme3.79
#467Humor2.60
#546Overall3.20
#652Innovation3.00
#698Mood2.77
#750Audio2.35
#799Fun2.83
#880Graphics2.59
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02am

Pretty good card game. Would be fun against a human player. I would've preferred solid colours to the noisy background, but that's just me. Great job!

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03am

It is quite a confusing game, but I've never been much for card games. I feel like a good deal of thought has gone into the mechanics so kudos for that, and the programmer graphics are fantastic.

Still, I found myself randomly clicking and watching numbers change even after looking through the tutorial. It's quite hard to read the resource consumption stats in the card preview.

Samm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04am

I liked it, theres some balance and rules issues potentially, but a solid idea. Plus, it would totally all fit on one screen if I didnt have so many cards.

purezero says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:19am

good idea good thoughts and strategy, and looks like lots of work. I just don't like the game itself sorry.

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:32am

Fun little magic clone, it takes too long to complete however because you have to destroy EVERYTHING and unless you were lucky enough to get a bunch of ballistas at the end thats going to be 15+ minutes of destroying their land with nothing to defend it.

It was almost worth it just for the ending SFX =P

sirikan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33am

Spacedoubt: I actually had a solid background to start with but thought it was to boring. Should have stuck with it huh :p. I am considering adding that in later on if I can find the motivation over the xmas holiday break.

Pinpickle: Yeah I should have made them a bit bigger and in hindsight I should have added stats on how much resources you consume and generate each turn.

Samm: yeah i struggled with that a bit. I think it might actually have been better if i made the whole table pan with the mouse rather than the individual sections. As for the balance I tried to tweak it but ran out of time.

Purezero: no need to apologies any feedback is good feedback. :)

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01am

Great card game, but sometimes I forgot to draw card from deck :D. Check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:05am

I had fun with it, seems like a good jumping off point. Though getting a frosty snowman probably helped. It does say PlayER again win you win, but maybe that's some meta concept I didn't pick up on :)

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13am

Interesting mechanics. Found the fonts way too tiny, the music (sorry!) was really distracting to me. The combat was interesting too, and overall it was a good game, but it felt a bit unfocused in terms of what kind of gameplay flow it was aiming for.

kierygeek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:19am

I don't usually play computer card games, but this was really fun!

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:24am

The game mechanics are good. But either unbalanced or the AI is very poor as I can annihilate every time. Would love to see an updated balanced/multiplayer version. Maybe just make the town hall the VC, and add extra defense perks.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48am

Very involved system for only 48 hours, nice work. I thought the game was going to be super confusing since I did not really follow the tutorial, but then it made sense and I won the game after a while.

I'm not sure if the tower is bugged though. It says it is a defender unit, but I seem to be able to attack resources past it.

ElBatanony says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53am

I like the game and the idea, but I never really did understand card games that much. I like that you kept the textures really simple, and good use of the new Unity UI. Goodjob!

dusho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:14pm

interesting.. disabling the cards you can't play would help
nice card game overall

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Text doesn't show on buttons on linux :P

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:07pm

It would have been cool to force the player to draw a card. I forgot on many of my turn, and nothing prevent me to end my turn without drawing :(

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]