Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

hot & cold

by Wir - Jam Entry

---------------POST JAM EDIT-------------------
So i (Markus) overslept the last day. I was supposed to get up and merge my code with the fancy menue code of Robin.
so the code & art for the menue was actually done during the 72 hours.
Anyway, please rate the original version (java & source). The other one is just here because we have it done so we might as well upload it...


---------------ORIGINAL POST-------------------
Hey!
About the Game:
It's a turnbased 2 playergame. You can either play it on one computer by sharing the mouse or by a local multiplayer. There is a brief explanation of how to play in the "how to ...?" section on the bottom right of the screen.

ps.: if you want to concentrate you can toggle the movable ice shells, the moving water and the snowflakes

------
About us:
We are a team of 6 students:

-Robin Schuler: Code (ingame menue)
-Achim Grossmann: Music & Animations
-Felix Krauss: Art (platforms)
-Dominik Schmidt: Art (platforms)
-Garam Kim: Art (warriors, whale, snowman, coin)
-Markus Schmidt: Code & Animations

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#435Humor(Jam)2.70
#564Audio(Jam)2.51
#600Innovation(Jam)2.89
#668Mood(Jam)2.82
#669Graphics(Jam)2.91
#703Fun(Jam)2.78
#802Overall(Jam)2.83
#867Theme(Jam)3.03

Comments

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Having issues with java on my mac, still trying to figure out if its ur game or my mac..

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Nice

Wir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Luke pls tell us if you could fix the issues / found out why you have issues.

We absolutely recommend to watch the timelapse it´s amazing D

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice one here! I've fixed the lagging in my game though, and made it a lot easier!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

In my game, you are meant to go through the walls if you make a wrong move, in other words, death! :D

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:33pm

The timelapse is available in 60fps?? Awesome! Haha.

I need to find someone to play this with, playing it alone was good enough to learn the mechanics but I can tell it's going to be a lot more fun with an actual opponent! The art is also very cool. Nicely done :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Interesting rules! Actual gameplay is fairly slow, so it's kinda tough to make it through a whole game, but there are some cool mechanics at play here.

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:51pm

I tried to launch single player and it wouldn't launch I waited a long while

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:32am

Interesting! A two player board game kinda thing, I like it. Does it really work with online multiplayer? If so, that's kind of amazing. ;) Anyway, just playing against myself, it was kinda fun. I can tell you put a lot of work into the graphics. The problem I had was that a lot of the platforms were unconnected, so it was very hard to make a path to get anywhere. (It was also sometimes difficult to tell which platforms were actually connected.) So I think it needs more polish and balancing work, but it's a good accomplishment!

Wir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:49am

@ justin, well you need the time if you actually play a real match vs someone else

@ cake oh yeah its pretty awesome against other players, we are pretty sorry that we couldnt make it run via internet (its possibly within a network or via mouse sharing (we,the team used hamachi to play against each other)

@sharky, y that isnt possible, only to persons in a network with you

@ chaoseed, the path should be hard to make! and for the difficulty to see what platforms are connected you can turn of the movable ice shells then you should see it better ^^

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Cool little menu, launching the Local Multiplayer mode took.. quite a while, might I say too long? hm, it seems a bit stuck on launching. Using windows 8.1, I just updated Java earlier today so it can't be that... Not rating yet, is there something I'm doing wrong?

Wir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:11pm

well, it shouldn´t take that long. True you have a bit white screen while loading the animations etc. My laptop needs less then 30 seconds to lunch but with a less good it might as well take 1-2 min i guess. Unfortunately we cant shorten that time unless we erase some of the animations

aidinviper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:53am

nice game . ty

Verz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:36am

Nice graphics! I love the snowman characterization :D! Congratulations on finishing Ludum Dare!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:23pm

It's not working here. The game freeze on launching. I waited for 10 minutes then gave up. I'm using Windows 7

Wir says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:57pm

benjamin you clicked on local multiplayer? or you tried to connect to port?(thats only possible in your local network)

Ace says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:07pm

A lot of game in this, 165MB of game even. Largest LD game I've downloaded so far.

A nice idea and rather well executed too, though there were some things that could've been clearer.
It could've been helpful - for instance - with a small graphic showing just which directions each platform will connect to when placed. Something like a small box in one corner where you draw a the connections.
Another thing that would've made it a bit more unique would be to have different textures for the summer/winter platforms, something like ice and rock.

Either way, nice graphics and sounds.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Interesting concept, although depending on the initial board configuration things can go heavily in favor of one player. Also, the visuals are very busy; it's a bit hard at first to figure out what's going on.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Is this a joke? 165MB? )))
I'm not sure that dig in gameplay. But music is lovely!:)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:36pm

The characters look awesome. The game concept could be interesting and fun. Currently however it is hard to figure out if two fields are connected. This makes it a bit tricky to play.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:27am

Interesting game, love the art style.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:35pm

nice

Nielz says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Beautiful!

jachepe says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Nice art :)

blzkz says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:09am

I can't download the game. The download stops at 30% aprox, and it never resumes don't know why :/, I can't rate it

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Fun but a bit of a slow game, the artstyle is very neat and original but not of my liking. Still a good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]