Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

King of the Cave

by AnaglyphCoding - Compo Entry

In this game, you must guide the player from the bottom of the screen to the top in order to fight the troll enemy.

Some grass blocks are a darker shade of green, meaning that the player will fall through if they attempt to stand on them.

The troll spawns explosives that the player must dodge.

Trusses will attempt to trap the player on various sides of the screen as they attempt to advance to the next floor.

Instructions are included in-game.

You must touch the troll at the top of the screen to advance to the boss battle, which will ultimately determine whether you win or lose.

The .zip file includes the source code of the game (Game written in Java, recommended IDE: eclipse) and a runnable jar file of the game for those who just want to give it a go.

This game was written by Harry Cramp for AnaglyhCoding.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#97Audio3.59
#458Humor2.62
#607Graphics3.00
#723Overall3.04
#799Fun2.83
#814Mood2.63
#925Theme3.28
#1013Innovation2.39

Comments

Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Oops, title is meant to say "King of the Cave" instead of "King of the Cane". Is there any way to fix that? :s

Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Not to worry, fixed it. :D have fun!

sikosis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:09am

Nice 8bit game, though I did find the dark grass a little hard to see at times, but otherwise it was playable and fun to try and beat the troll.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nice little platformer, it is like donkey kong.
The music is really nice!
The controlls felt a little weird, and I kept getting stuck on the bounce thingies.

Deranes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:37am

Great audio, I really like the music. First part of the game was challenging enough without being too frustrating. I don't really get what the point of the trusses keeping the player character stuck in them for a random(?) amount of time is all about though, hard to tell if it's a bug or feature. Couldn't figure out how to damage the boss for the first couple of attempts. Tried to attack him by jumping from above with the sword but didn't do much damage. Attacking from the ground didn't do much either. The way I found was to attack the boss while beneath a tile so that you don't fly away and keep damaging the boss that way. Resulting in one hitting the boss. But that feels like exploiting the game mechanics instead of killing the boss with skill. Also the boss got stuck underneath a tile in the death animation one time and therefore never triggers the game over/victory event. Overall I had fun playing the game. Cool explosion physics also =)

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I thought the fact that you hit your head on the ceiling was quite annoying and the glitchyness of the bounding blocks frustrating when TNT was in my face.

Good use of sound and cute graphics though.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice 8-bit version of Daft Punk :) it was fun.

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Good job!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice concept! I really like it!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice game, good use of the theme. The holes on the grass are annoying because they are hard to see and I would take away the bounce when jumping. But the game is good in overall!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Quick and cute, nice job!

BitOfGold says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Cute graphics and nice tune! I kept stuck in the platforms. Nice job!

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice entry. Why to put dark and ligth grass instead of simple grass and nothing ?

Headmade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11pm

The music is great!
But I couldn't figure out how to beat the boss :(

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:16am

The music is so freaking awesome! The controls could have been a little tighter but I really liked the game.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:19am

I liked the feel of the jumps; the feedback to the player was tight and they flowed with a nice rhythm, assuming that it didn't glitch when hitting the ceiling.

The glitches were a problem, especially when hit by the explosions. This meant I never got to the boss, but it was fun to jump around. Good job.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:19am

Love the old school look and feel. The music was excellent. I was confused by the sinking spots, I thought they should have been completely different looking so you know to avoid them. I couldn't figure out what moving squares and growing circles were supposed to be. I wasn't sure how the gravitating thing the circle did was supposed to effect what you're doing. It became very hard to reach the boss with that last layer. Maybe the hazards could have be more spaced out? Regardless of the critique, a fine job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:44pm

nice audio, cute visuals, a little rough though, well done

danidre14 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:18pm

YOY! I'm the king :3
Or so I'll say! :D

OttersDen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Give Life Back to Music, by Daft Punk?
Also, there's a 3 block wide jump you have to make near the top of the level that got a bit frustrating. I reached the boss after a while, but there were some bugs during the fight, I think. Still, I think you overall did a good job! Keep up the good work.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Love the rendition of Give Back Life to Music from Daft Punk, hearing that made the game 10x better! :D

zompi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:53pm

That darker blocks... hate them. Those TNTs... hate them. That monster... hate it. It is harder than it looks and has oldschool feeling... 5/5 :D

Si1ver says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Nice retro thingy.
Hard to master though.
Feels like this game wants a little more love to it (at least in button handling and jumping ladder things ;-) ).
Fun! Requesting replay button at the end screen!!!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

really nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]