Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Last Rooftop Hero

by Phoenix849 - Compo Entry

-= Controls =-

Hold space or left mouse button to charge a jump, and release to jump. You turn and shoot automatically.

-= Description =-

I've thought about making this game while reading about one button games mechanics. When I saw the LD31's theme, I could not come up with original idea, but then remembered about this one-button-jumping guy. That's what I've been able to do in 48 hours. Sadly had no time to make various enemies. If people enjoy stomping stuff, I'd like to remake Last Rooftop Hero in future with more content (enemies, powerups), more mechanics and better graphics.

-= Tools =-

Engine: Game Maker: Studio
Graphics: Adobe Photoshop, PyxelEdit
Music, SFX: FL Studio and my vocal chords :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Graphics4.24
#91Audio3.62
#248Humor3.00
#282Overall3.48
#297Theme3.81
#327Innovation3.45
#383Mood3.13
#387Fun3.26
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

theCoder15 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

Great game love the art iso is the best :)

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

Thanks! I've never done iso before, so it was a challenge to implement.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20am

I was stuck on a roof once, It was a daunting experience.
The game looks great, the music is banging. The gameplay isn't so crash hot.
I lasted 56 seconds with out jumping.
I lasted 30 seconds when jumping.
I could just really really suck though. I did get stuck on a roof after all.

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00am

These are some top-notch sprites oh my god.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20am

Well, I am a real sucker for pretty pixels, so I tend to spend much time on my graphics usually. Just the hero is a last-hour addition, not so cool.

I was planning to add enemies, that require you to move around, like bombs and bullet-proof ones, but had no time to do that. Gameplay with just all these maggots is not so tense, you are right. Wish I could've balanced the shoot/jump mechanics. Maybe I'll continue in post-LD.

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Survived a whole minute by just staring at the screen. Don't start the player at the center. It the optimal position to stand on!

Art and sound is excellent though. Would also like to see a way to jump a short distance without charging.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Game looks fantastic, Audio is great. It's not buggy. This one made me laugh, I'll give it to you. I played by standing in the middle and not doing anything.

I survived for 41 seconds by the way.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I wish I had just an hour or two more to add falling bombs to avoid at least. Now you can just stand in the middle doing nothing like a boss :D

Disabling shorth jump distances is intentional. The only tester I had just started spamming them, and I don't want it to play like that.

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:19pm

OH! I saw your post on twitter and now I've found your game here. However no mac or web version :( SAD

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Interesting mechanics. Awesome sprites. Great game.

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Good fun! assets are really good, well done!

Like everyone else, I tested to see how long I could get away with not doing anything: 57.75 seconds was the result. First try with jumping? 8 Seconds. I jumped straight off the edge accidently xD

I also agree it would have been nice to start the player off at a random location. perhaps "the centre +/- 3 tiles" or something, just to stir things up a bit?

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Cool idea and implemented very well with great graphics and audio!

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice drum and bass there! The grunts make it even better :)

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Thanks, folks! I'll definitely toy with this some more in post-LD days. However there are lots of dirty coding in this version, but maybe I'd like to see a proper sequel on my Android some day.

I could not have my Game Maker: Studio to make a working web version. It has no sound and graphics are crippled as hell. So only Windows for now, sorry.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12pm

The artwork and sprites are all top notch and everything is super well polished. Everything's here to make a really awesome game, though like others have said, there's really no incentive to move anywhere so you're just stuck staring at the screen. Having objectives that spawn at random locations on the map or just having obstacles you can't shoot down would go a long way towards making this game really really fun.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Aaawwww yeah, GM:S buddies! :D haha I absolutely love this game! Art is stellar my friend!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10pm

For start the screenshot is just awesome! You can sell a game that easy at least for me, incredible style!
Survived 56 seconds! Awesome game, would love to aim shots and jump.

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Amazing 1/10 -IGN

lionroot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

That was fun jumping and squashing, great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

Great game, loved the isometric art and overall style! Good job!

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Wow, very well polished. Sprites look awesome, and music and sounds were great! Pretty fun gameplay too, after I learned that jumping helps a lot.

Good work! Thanks.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Kinda cool aside from the fact that doing any actions at all is most likely detrimental to your survival. But gdi I just kept making the guy jump off to his doom over and over again because the groan sound you made is hilarious. xD

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I wish I had you FL studio skills, making music is hard,

I will probably kidnap a sound bro for my next LD.

Ellian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:43pm

That is a pretty well made game!
The fact that you can move with WASD feels almost like a cheat, and the game quickly gets REALLY hard... but it's a nice concept and very well made execution :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Looks really awesome! Nice one-button gameplay!

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Ok, guys. This is fuckup of EPIC proportions. I forgot to disable WASD, and thought everyone had a one-button game. I've NEVER used it during testing. I think I've just made then out of habit and forgot about it. Fixing this "typo" took me 5 seconds, should be a proper version without WASD now xD

Great thanks, Ellian! Now I don't really know how many have people found this.


As for FL Studio, I started around 2008, having not a single clue what I was doing. Just around 2013-2014 I felt that I'm any good and not ashamed of my music anymore. That's how you learn things: try it, and then don't stop.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Really Awesome game! The jumping sound got kind of annoying though. Overall, a really well refined and designed game!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Wish there were a mac or web build. Looks like my kind of thing!

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Really nice graphics. But jumping around feels useless, as many others i got my best score by just watching and doing nothing at all.

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Wow very nice pixelart game here damn polished great job i love it !

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Game looks absolutely sweet, graphically, gameplay-wise, the sound design, but it's not running correctly for me. Rather than drawing the player sprite, it only draws a red line in his pointing direction. Don't know if anyone else got this problem

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Nice art style and rather simple concept ;).

theomg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Amazing art, man! A few power ups and maybe a death animation would have been nice, but great game nonetheless.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:36pm

@CullenCoyote no one reported this yet. Very strange. The red arrow is intentional, but so far no one complained to "no hero" bug. What are you running it onto?

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I downloaded FL studio two weeks ago, the road to become the next Skrillex will be long :D

mtanton says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:00am

Very nice. Really like the graphics. It definitely could use more enemies of some kind, but it's still fun!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

Great game, specially the graphics. I would slightly change the way you jump, because you are helpless once you start jumping. On the other hand, I love you can jump to infinity and beyond, so a few humor stars goes because of that.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:36am

Great concept and delicious art!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20am

This game looks beautiful, big fan of isometric and sci-fi too

Managore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00am

It looks great and I really like the one button mechanic. Stomping on the bugs felt really solid!

AsixJin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32am

I have to give mad respect for the sprites and audio. Pretty cool game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:35am

Great pixelgraphic, fresh concept, didn't like the controls, but its rooted in design and that's allright. Great entry!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:20am

If charging a jump didn't stop you from shooting it would increase game possibilities while retaining the one button theme. Also, shooting could have a recoil, moving you from your static position in unwanted ways, that would be a way to force the player to jump sometimes.

Graphics are a bit too static, but they look good.

Rooftop industries is the best name for a company ever.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Excellent audio, sweet song.

The gameplay didn't make a lot of sense to me, jumping gives no meaningful advantage since the optimal position is in the center.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Although this game looks really sleek it is one of the most bizarre games I've played. I guess it's a combination of the context, the game mechanics and the hilarious falling sound. I really think you should take this further, it is actually quite fun!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:58pm

When I saw this nice looking screenshot and later that one-button jump mechanics I was sure this game is super cool, but then... staring at monitor and listening to music turned out to be the most efficient way to play it. I hope you will polish this idea after compo, because I would definitely play something like this on phone :)

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:39pm

This is really well put together and clearly tapping into something interesting. Others have already commented on the gameplay so I'll just note that I agree that I had no reason to jump right now--but I really want to! Really worth the download. Great work.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Art is good, audio is nice and game fun to play. Good job!

Frump says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:08am

The art is good but the gameplay is lacking. The concept isn't bad but the charge to jump takes so long it's rarely worth doing. You kill very proficiently just staying in the middle and letting him shoot. It takes too long for the initial enemies to reach the roof as well.

pegigante says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Beautiful art

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Really nice graphics! Gameplay-wise it could use some work, but otherwise great job!

GFM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:38am

Great graphics and nice sound!!
It was fun to try and avoid the bugs as things got more and more hectic. :)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:53am

Great artstyle

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Doesnt work here... I have windows 8.1, the game lauch but the building sprite is blinking and I doesnt see the charactere. (only the red indicator)
:'(

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Excellent entry! really like the style and sounds in this. Superb work.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very interesting what you've done here with one button! Nice work, especially having nice art, sound, and music on the interesting mechanic.

An onscreen score while playing would have been a nice touch.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Love the graphics and unique mechanics! The crawlie thingies were well done and sufficiently creep-tastic! Good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:10pm

wooooa cool control system!
I really like it! The pixel art is great end the sounds too.
Well done! :D

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Simple but fun and hard to master. The art is lovely. How about a mobile port? The game mechanic is perfect for it.

hbocao says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:03am

Very innovative! Loved it! Yes, you should work on it. Think mobile!

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:12am

great work, hope the start part could be faster.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Love the art. Not a great fan of move mechanics like this, but it was a solid, very well made game.

sirdorius says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Haha, I kind of the like the absurd controls. And the game is very stylish as well!

TheExGenesis says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Not sure if the jump mechanic is the most effective, but was definitely interesting! Nice art too.

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:34pm

great art style, love the mood

Simon says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I had a lot of fun. This is very well done. Interesting mechanic too :)

seraphki says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:21am

Love the graphics, but it seems that standing still and not doing anything was to my best benefit. Game design could use a little spitshine. I did spend a few hilarious rounds jumping completely off the building and laughing at his distraught 'nuuuuuuu'. =3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]