Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman's Tropical Adventures

by chadheim - Compo Entry

While sitting in my nightly oatmeal bath, sipping a minty hot chocolate, I contemplated the theme. Snowman was so much better, but what is a proud new parent of a 3 month old to do?! Then it hit me! Smash them together!

You are Sammy the Snowman and you have decided to travel to the tropics. Why? Well, cause I don't particularly like winter.

Whilst Sammy the Snowman is in the tropics, he must find the magical Christmas tree to prevent him from melting. Wait what? How does a tree prevent a snow man from melting? Well it is magical... duh!

Along the way mysterious presents are strewn about... and since Sammy is a bit of a kleptomaniac, he desires to pick them all up during his travels!

Good luck!

WSAD = Moves Snowman
Left Mouse Click and Drag = Orbits Camera

Tools used: Unity, Blender, Paint.NET, cgMusic, Bfxr.

***UPDATE***
Due to popular demand (and I aim to please) the snowman now moves TWICE as fast! Not only that, a RUN button has been added (LShift or RShift) so you can cruise even faster throughout the levels!

Fantastic feedback everyone! Lets keep reviewing everyone's entries!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Audio3.13
#373Graphics3.38
#512Mood2.97
#546Overall3.20
#559Fun3.08
#597Humor2.43
#727Innovation2.90
#1098Theme2.89
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

quite a good game.. good gfx/sound ...really wish the snowman would move abit quicker tho

maddogawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Snowmen! Nice Job, I really like the background music. I kinda wish the snowman had a shadow under him so it's easier to determine where he is.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Cool. A lot of personality. Love the opening music as well. Though it's quite hard and the snowman is a bit slow.

Anti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Intresting idea. The game was fun but I think you move way to slow.

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Like the atmosphere, bacground music and its 3D, what could be better ?

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:27pm

The fact that there are multiple levels shows a great deal of care and design. The snowman was a bit sluggish, I got owned several times, but ended up getting the hang of things. Also, oatmeal bath game designs are best designs.

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

For me the gameplay is a bit boring, but I'm not sure about others!
Anyway, graphics are really good-looking

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Really nice! Reminds me of Captain Toad!

Wevel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Love the music and a really nice idea.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Nice game, wish it had a little more action in it

Is nice rotate the camera to analyze the path, it would be cool if i could analyze the path then go into a "burst", moving fast through the planned path

The music is really nice too! :D

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Greate concept! But snowman so slooow

crazyrems says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I saw snowmen in my life that would run faster than him !
I've see no bugs, it looks polished. nice entry.
The music sounds sometimes a bit weird to me.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I liked what you pulled of in terms of visualization. Of course you could tweak the gameplay, make the avatar a bit faster etc, but what's there plays well.
If you have a solid foundation tech-wise you could work on improving your art for the next LD.

Good Job!

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:09am

cool concept!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Hi there. Excellent. Like the level design level 1, graphics and sounds. Have bookmarked for a revisit. The level select UI at front is particularly slick. Good job!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Well done

-C

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]