Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Key Point

by oranebeast - Compo Entry

Heyo!
Heres my slightly early entry to Ludum Dare 31!
Woohoo!

Made with a GameMaker, Key point is a puzzle platformer which displays all eight levels at one time.

Controls :
Arrow Keys - Movement
Emergency Restart - Home

Game-play :
Game-play is explained in-game. And its hard to explain without you playing it.

Source :
I don't want you to copy my game, But I'm fine with you exploring and learning my lazy methods things from it. All rights reserved to me.

WARNING : If the game is told to be malicious by chrome or browser, its not. I would never harm you guys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#175Theme3.97
#184Audio3.36
#217Fun3.49
#257Innovation3.57
#305Mood3.23
#331Overall3.42
#427Humor2.68
#645Graphics2.95

Comments

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice concept. I got engrossed for a bit, but fell out of it once I died and practically had to start over. It'd benefit from checkpoints (maybe every time you hit a green point, it sets your spawn?) and a better hitbox on the player's character. You're wider when you jump and the legs at the bottom make platforming a bit difficult.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:53pm

@BtheDestroyer Level 8 is impossible if checkpoints are made. Thanks for the feedback.

xeon06 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Love the concept! Didn't get to the end though, got frustrated a bit before.

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

Nice game, but the controls are a little bit frustrating, the collisions a bit off and the game seems to lag a bit? It's still fun, but I had some problems with it. I'll play some more and get to the end later this week :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

Never seen anything like it, very nice.

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

I agree with BtheDestroyer. Checkpoints would have been great! Otherwise the game was pretty engrossing! I felt like the character could collide too easily with the spikes, too. Every now and then I would lose myself because I didn't realize I had died!

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:49am

It's fun, but it's tricky when you need to jump through narrow holes.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Classic platforming is always cool. There's some clever misdirection going on here with how the keys are in different rooms requiring a slightly non-linear approach to the 'levels'.

The collisions are a little imperfect and the controls feel slightly rough and I think when you make a game in this style these are things you really need to have nailed above all else. Pixel perfect collisions and a smoother jump arc would definitely improve things!

This aside there are some slightly awkward areas in the level design. Many seemingly unplanned low ceilings in areas that make jumps particularly unforgiving, but perhaps this was desired. The game also requires a significant amount of backtracking at times and re completing areas you have already passed.

Be careful of instant respawn on death. The benefit of a death animation or brief pause is not just aesthetic, it gives the player a chance to see exactly what mistake they made, whereas if a player just snaps to a respawn point the transition can seem very jarring and confusing, as it takes the player a moment to realize that they died, and how they died.

Overall I think it's a solid use of the theme and all round strong attempt! Gratz on making it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Such a fun, challenging game. I Included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/QrqYJieiXWs

Dontre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12am

It seems link for windows build doesn`t work. Writing:"Sorry, we weren't able to locate that URL"

oranebeast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13am

Works for me, and all above

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:19am

Interesting idea! :D Nice platformer

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37am

Interesting concept and nice game over all! Congrats!

Geti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:46am

Collisions seem a bit screwed and pixels a bit stretched, potentially due to non-power of 2 textures loaded into graphics memory! Makes it not fit through a bunch of places smoothly, and turns badly when it flips (position is right but the sprite is too wide?)

Fun idea over all, the music was nice sitting in the background and set the scene, more audio feedback for stuff happening would be nice but I know how LD goes, haha.

The platforming was a bit obnoxious in place, cant rememeber if it was you gloating in IRC about how trolly it was going to be but I would have preferred less fiddly jumping with the collisions being fucked :)

Geti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49am

Oh also, I fell out the bottom just after getting the orange key. mfw.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08pm

I love the level design here and how you handled the concept of having everything on one screen. There were some frustrating bits involving block collision--sometimes I'd get stuck on the corners of blocks, and trying to jump straight up through a 1 block gap like on screen 3 was far more difficult than it should have been.
Still, this was really delightful!

Tosic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice idea, kinda reminds me of that game bounce tales... :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:04am

Pretty nice. A bit more backtracking than I'd like, though.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Its cool to have some cross-level relationships (go back to last stage and ****), great concept! The 8 bit music style fit the pixel art quite well. Good job!

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:49am

Great concept, I really "got it" when I had to go back for the red key on an earlier screen. As others have said checkpoints would have been an improvement but it was fun anyway.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:55am

Great innovation! Good job

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:57am

I find it very annoying that people create games with spikes that point upward yet kill you even if you approach them slowly and/or from the side. That makes no sense. You should have used some sort of danger that is velocity and approach angle agnostic like fire or even a ball of spikes.

Also, I'd like to note that I played your game to the end, almost two times. The first one I fell through the part of the screen that says the name of the game, then fell off the borders of the screen and never returned. There was a gap in the ceiling of that part that makes it look like it was done in purpose, which is very annoying. The other one I got to the end and only got a "You win!" text, which is quite a disappointment. I tell you that I played it to the end because one of the reasons I do Ludum Dares is so that people play my game, and I realize many people give up easily and do not finish, even if your game isn't that big. Also, even though this comment may sound slightly harsh, it tells you I actually appreciated your game.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:31am

well done level design.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:38am

What an innovative idea! I love the game. It's a little hard, but that's OK. Great work!

Crefossus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Fun game. Playthrough and some comments littered about here:
http://www.twitch.tv/crefossus/c/5661356

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Stylish screenplay. Little hard and unforgiving, but fun to play. Well done.

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Interesting concept :D great work :D

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:33pm

WOW! Nice game, cool concept! :D Really liked this!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:28am

I liked it, however there were collision problems, as well as some other odd behaviors.

I liked the basic concept, however it seemed like the teleport pads were just a drop in replacement for moving to the new place by ladder or just walking. It mostly seemed like this because there wasn't anything stopping you from changing level by walking, dropping or hopping. I did like the basic idea you had, and I enjoyed the trickyness you employed in some of the level design, I just felt like some of the gameplay idea was lost when the importance of the teleport pads was reduced.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Some neat ideas with this one, I liked having to remember keys from previous stages, pretty clever. I like the classical-ish chiptune music. Some iffy platform controls with the collisions and whatnot, but otherwise great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]