Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Baseball

by jeepracer98 - Compo Entry

This is my first time doing the Ludum Dare without a team. I made this simple game to simulate playing a cheap video game one might find in a kids' meal at a fast food place. The game is will only run on Java 8 at the moment. I might recompile this game to run on Java 7, and if I do, I'll put it up on the project page at my website (linked in the top). The source code is all set to be opened in Eclipse, but can be opened without it as well.

When you unzip the game, it will be in its own folder, so don't worry about unzipping it and having stray files. To run the game try double clicking Baseball.jar, but if that doesn't work try double Baseball.bat on Windows or Baseball.sh if you are on Mac OSX or Linux. If you are on Linux or OSX and double clicking the .sh file doesn't work, try running it through the terminal.

I hope you guys enjoy this game as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Controls:
A/D or Left/Right | Move batter side to side
Space/P | Pause/Unpause the game.

If you are in the correct place to hit the ball, you get a point, but if you miss the ball, you lose a point.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#753Theme3.45
#920Mood2.50
#1080Fun2.36
#1114Innovation2.14
#1145Overall2.41
#1151Graphics1.95
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:44am

A very simple game, but I liked the Game and Watch style of the unlit sprites. It definitely fits the theme!

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56am

A Game and Watch game! :D
My only complaint is that the Power button doesn't work. :P

jeepracer98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Thanks, guys. I was initially going to put in a working power, Start, and Sound button, but I didn't in the end. Maybe I'll add that in a later version or something :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32am

Very simple neat game, but the score gets negative.

jeepracer98 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:45am

Oh yeah, I meant it to do that. Now that I think about it, a normal game wouldn't do that. I just made the score either add one or subtract one, depending on if you hit it or not, so that's where that came from. Thanks for checking it out.

stray says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Very cool and simple idea. nice job man

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:57am

Very minimalistic, simple controls, and I like how I got negative score ;)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:23am

Very simple, but it has that ye-olde-handheld feel of a fun game that you could spend a couple of hours on. I enjoyed it :)

Not sure why it was compiled with Java 8, earlier versions are much more likely to exist on our computers and unless this game makes heavy use of lambda expressions or other new features it should be easy enough to compile it in 7 or even 6.

Also not sure why you didn't opt out of the Humor category, this doesn't strike me as a funny game in any way.

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:42am

Very nostalgic, make me want to go get a happy meal...lol. I liked it, nicely done :)

jeepracer98 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:04am

@Cake&Code Haha, yeah Java 8 is all I had, but I gotta recompile sometime because it runs on 7 and 6 fine when recompiled. I removed the humour category now, I missed that.
@CodeNMore For some reason I made it so that when you hit the ball successfully, it adds one point, and if you don't hit the ball it removes a point. If you end up missing more than you hit, the score will end up negative.
Thanks for checking out my game guys. :D

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Can't play it: got only java 6..

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

hy nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]