Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Near Jay Objects

by G_O_R_D - Compo Entry

Near Jay Objects - LD #31 entry

Intrepid astronaut Jay has accidentally strayed from his space ship when some asteroids appear!

Survive by shooting asteroids and getting out of the way of space debris. You can only move by firing bolts from your bolt gun.

Left click to shoot. Move the mouse to aim.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#341Theme3.77
#500Humor2.56
#533Graphics3.13
#574Fun3.07
#642Audio2.56
#657Overall3.10
#664Mood2.82
#893Innovation2.62

Comments

XenosNS says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

Very cool. Like the controls, simple but you can mess up so quickly if not careful. Would be nice if there was a way to see your score longer before it restarts.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I like that oclusion and movement depending on your shooting, well done!

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Interesting idea and great work!

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Neat that shooting is controlling your position and rotation as well as removing obstacles. nice blur effect for spinning.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very nice! Took me a bit to grasp the idea, control-wise, but once I got into the flow of the game, it was strangely satisfying. Saved it so I could play it again later!

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Lol, the game got a lot easier when I was not constantly shooting.
Good game. A bit spartanic on the presentation side.

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Cool game. It remind me Bea Hazard.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice atmosphere! But it's really a small game ad I don't get the blurry effect ...

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34am

I don't get the blurry effect, too.

G_O_R_D says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

The effects are WebGL, your browser needs to support the effect or it just renders 'normal' looking.

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36pm

I like the simple controls yet very challenging game. The graphics were nice and the dizziness effect really suitable. It's really hard to stop spinning once you've started though.

Some potential things to consider:

Warping around screen if you fly out of it or some visual warning when you are approaching one edge, like a fuzzy red flash along that edge.

It could have been cool to have a radar/sonar that indicated closeness to object. Even better if there was a soundtrack and the music became hectic as object approached.

On complaint, or something I didn't understand:

The score said something like 4-5k but gamejolt didn't show any high score for me...

And to sum up. Sweet and well worked game.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I think this is a good idea to expand upon.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Cool game but really hard!

karol says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:01am

I feel this would make a great mobile game. The controls are very simple, but the game is challenging and fun.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Extremely simple but pretty fun at the same time; though it was frustrating getting over 7000 points and seing that Gamejolt highscores aren't working as they should ;(

Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Hi there. Nice idea but I think a bit hard from the start, especially with the oxygen depletion... Nice sounds and visuals. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:38pm

pretty fun - super difficult to control - but thats part of the fun - great job

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:27pm

It's a simple and fun high-score game, too bad the leaderboards don't work.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:50am

Omg such a good idea! I really like the game. Fun, addicting and weird! Some things I wanted... A highscore keeper so I know my best score and have something to beat. Also, near the edge of the screen game gets hard to play. Cant click off the edge so there is no way to recover if you get to close.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

really nice concept :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]