Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Moonlit Crawlers

by Otrora Games - Compo Entry

Momo is a busy little elf. He spends his days tending the plants on the garden with the help of his friends. Things are usually very quiet in the garden of Momo, but lately things have become darker. Monsters have been spotted around looking to devour the plants. Momo will have to work even harder to keep them at bay for the night.

Only when the Light Plant grows, Monsters will go back to their lair.

Instructions:

-Helps Momo take care of the Light Plant
-Keep it alive for 5 days.
-Move with ARROWS Keys and attack with Z.
-Feed the plant with water and fertilizer.

You can find me on twitter: @OtroraGames
and tumblr: http://ajordaz.tumblr.com/
for info on the Director's Cut version and other games

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#143Graphics3.85
#469Theme3.66
#599Overall3.16
#630Mood2.86
#651Humor2.36
#723Fun2.91
#785Innovation2.80

Comments

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:45am

Very nice games, controls temperamental. Good Works

seanographies says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59am

Nice art and sprites, although the game could be better with some music and sfx for attacks and jumping.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Controls are nice but the jump is odd. Why have a double jump when the normal jump is so impossibly short, and theres ladders everywhere? You could have just had one jump and had it be twice as high.

Player cant get hurt so there is no challenge.

No sound really hurts it.

You can swing in both directions at the same time.

I like the concept though. I could see this being really good with some more polish.

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

There should be music and sfx. I like graphics and it's hard to hit the enemy when it is to close.

Zanaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Good fun!
Found attacking a bit problematic, but I can see why you're forced to be stationary.
Sorely missing audio, but the graphics were fab.

nuiguy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

What a great game! I can see myself coming back to this one!!
Great art, controls, story, theme... I really enjoyed it

-Nuiguy

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Nice game!
Easy to play, but some sound would be great. And a little more about the objective...

dook says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Cute little game, I like the idea of having to protect something else from the enemies than the main character. Got super hard really quick, though! :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

nice game, very smooth gameplay and great visuals

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Really nice game. Its fun to play, but how do you win?

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:35pm

pretty game

Belvar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Very nice game with beautiful graphics. Really smooth and pleasant controls. Quite challenging though, my little plant died after a few days and I didn't really understood what I did wrong.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice and simple game. I really like the art and the game play is very enjoyable. Music would really make the game great.

Thermite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice theme and graphics, but the controls were a bit stiff and awkward.

tompudding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Looks great. I don't agree that there's no challenge because the player can't get hurt, I liked that. On the other hand the gameplay was a bit repetitive. The bridge was cool though!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Very nice simple game. Completed it o my second time (didn't realize until too late that you needed to ration the water and soil to survive the last two days). The graphics and controls are very nice as well. Controls are very easy to mess up, so it was good to see the first game I rate get this done right.

The only real critical items I have to say are
1. As you stated, no sound, and
2. It was difficult to tell if my attack hit the enemies that take more than one hit or if I was being effective. The first time I played I thought I was attacking a large bug, but it was actually outside the attack box even though I thought it was hitting. A flash, or a little "-1" poppoing up over the head of the enemy (or an audio) queue would have made this a bit more obvious.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28am

Really nice art and a really cool concept. It's definitely better with sound, but I do like the way the difficulty ramps up nice and quickly

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Nice art, could be an interesting game. The controls really need some work though, much too floaty and temperamental. It could really use some sound as well.

Waschtl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Technically, this is really clean. Very nice art style. Sounds and music would really add to the experience. Mechanically, the jump seems a bit off and could be higher.

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Very nice game,
Simple idea, ncie graphics and effects.
Unfortunatly was realy lacking sound / music.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

It took some time to figure out that I could double-jump. Got really hard after the third kind of enemies appeared.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I think I found a bug.

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Cute game. The rope is kinda weird and I wish you had had time to put sound in the compo version.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:15pm

As others already said: nice graphics, sadly no sound or music, stiff controls, no feedback if enemies are hurt.
And that fifth day is really hard, I just can't beat it. Would be great if the droplets wouldn't go to waste, when your plant isn't even damaged.

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Yeah I did it!
Really nice and pretty game, it was really fun to play! :D

CScribes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Great game overall! It took me a second to get over to the water but, after I figured that out things went smoothly. Nice use of the theme and the music was very nice.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:39am

Great game smooth controls nice art. Just when I had to use the vine to get to the water I was in trouble.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:45am

Nice art style, it's cute! :D

Xanjos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:42am

Could do with some sound but this is a pretty good entry. The controls (especially the jumping) do need some tweaking though.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Awesome game! I love it :D

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

For a compo entry this is pretty good! I enjoyed some of the physics like the bridge and vine! good job!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:05am

Very nicely done artwork!

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:20am

good fun. The attack collisions are a little weird, but overall a fun game.

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:59am

Very cool game and well balanced! I really like the switch of responsabilities between the night and day. I like the Pikmin Cameo !

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:42am

NICE GAME. I lost though :( wish I could upgrade my attacks

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:27am

Liked the feel of the swing vine and bridge (even though they weren't a core part of the gameplay), however the combat needed work.

Enemy hits didn't feel very "solid", especially for such a core part of the game. A lot of the things mention in this video by vlambeer (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U) would really help, including knockback, persistence, screenshake, etc.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice game, cool style but controls are a bit weird, it would be nice to see an improved ver. Came here from duval!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:50am

Fighting was tricky, but I did it! ^_^

cabezotta says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:02am

Nice one! good work!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Very buggy game. :p In all seriousness, the graphics are really nice.

peeweek says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Really nice game, imho the jumping is a bit weak and erratic. But it adds difficulty. Since player is invulnerable, Maybe adding more pressure to the player would have added more balance to the game. In the end, this is a really interesting projet.

I've also tested the 3-day's version, the player control seems smoother. And the sound gives a way better feel to the game. Still, the games is rather easy.

Great work!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Hi there. Love the graphics and animations. The controls are a little flaky I think, especially jump off rope and attack - monster can't be too close or you miss... though maybe you intended that one. Shame no sounds. Nice idea protecting a plant. Good job!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Nice game and graphics.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Awesome graphics! Well done! Really fun to play

Nekith says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice gfx. Sound is ok.
Is it possible to win ?

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:17pm

It is possible

barryrowe says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:35am

The graphics and controls are great. I wish the attack collision was extended over your body so if they walk under you it still hurts the enemy. I'm rating on the version without sound. I feel like this game with sound would be very enjoyable. It's great as is, but missing that satisfying sound feedback. Good work.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Wonderful platforming action. Great presentation.

Scam says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice artwork and concept! The lack of sound is the most biggest issue. Enchanted version fixes that and other problems as well, but I am still rating the compo version.

Backterria says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:36am

Very cool graphics and the concept is really smart!love it :) (Now with audio is even better)

Riocide says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I like the idea but I am missing a bit of ambience and variety!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice graphics, interesting concept, well done!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Cute graphics, nice game! I Included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yuPvpTdD-O8

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]