Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Oust Santa!

by Crosstales - Jam Entry

Every year, Santa Claus enters our home through the chimney - unsolicited and uninvited! We think that is an impudence towards which we need to act. So grab your snow cannon and defend your little village - shoot Santa until he leaves. Lets see how long you can fend him off, for every house you lose more Santas will come.
Just aim your cannon and shoot at the Santas.

Please enter your Highscore in the comment section, lets see who survives the longest :-) (My girlfriend's Highscore is 3400, can you beat her?)


The record in our game is currently 7100 points (Wave 17).

Can you beat this record? :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Mood(Jam)3.92
#51Graphics(Jam)4.43
#55Audio(Jam)3.91
#166Humor(Jam)3.34
#182Overall(Jam)3.64
#319Fun(Jam)3.29
#410Theme(Jam)3.65
#640Innovation(Jam)2.82

Comments

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Really awesome game. At wave 9 and only lost 1 house so far. Not sure why you eliminated so many categories. Fun and Mood would surely have scored well.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

Ah, that was stupid - I didn't unterstood the new opt-out-function... :-(
But thank you and I changed it.
If you like, you could now modify your rating ;-)

I'm happy that you like our game!


Cheers

reverso13 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Fantastic game :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Really enjoyed it. There were however a few issues with the collisions not registering; and then other times it would hit even when it looked like I missed.

The graphics are very nice!

xlash86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Really awesome looking graphics and Sounds/Music. Sometimes the aiming feels a bit sluggish, but that's okay considering it was made in 72 hours! :)

aslakhol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Pretty fun game, though the hit detection seems a bit off sometimes, that coupled with the fact that the santas don't always walk in obvious paths got a bit annoying some times. I got to 5000 score before 4 santas spawned an ran all over the map at hyper speed and one of them took less than one second to get to the last house.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Why no graphics vote? I would do 5/5 at least!
Nice game, although it lagged a bit.

Ranmara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really lovely style (the day/night transition is so pretty!) and with a little more time to tweak difficulty and pacing it could be very compelling.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46pm

We added graphics and audio also for rating ;-)

We modified the assets to fit the winter style and made the SFX for this jam...

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Neat. Great gfx and audio! The light in the night look awesome and beautiful.

vegard1992 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I like it, just wish the gameplay was more satisfying!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:12pm

You've done some amazing graphics there. :) It would be good to have a cannon firing like minigun.. :P

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Cool graphic, but gameplay is a little monotonous.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Awesome game, nice twist! Loved how balance shooting distance is.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

nice, good looking game

Magicolo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:25am

-Smooth graphics :)
-The game should really be more fast paced :(
-Gets boring pretty quickly :(
-Music and SFX :)

Interface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:34am

Thanks for updating, changed my ratings :-)

Poupi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08am

Nice work ^^

Xanjos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:45am

Pretty fun game. Matched the theme quite well.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:09am

Maybe this game is a too repetitive, but good enough. I like it. Well done ++

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Definitely one of the nicest looking games out there. Good job.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The Santas are just hard to see, and theres no notification a wave has begun. Shooting is very difficult as well.

joekinley says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Web version doesn't seem to work for me, so I have to download the 85MB LINUX VERSION (85MB? for real?).
Still downloading.

...

Still downloading

...

Fell asleep.... still downloading.

15 minutes left... my ISP really sucks...

12 Minutes left... this is taking foreeeeeeever

Such dedication, much slow, dat download, such big wow

Expectations are dying here. This better be good.

13 Minutes left? How is that even possible?

6 Minutes. I feel my hair growing. Teh anticipation

Still 6 minutes. I feel like someone is mocking me here. Wait... 9 minutes? Hey not fair, I wait patiently here.
Almost, almost, aaaand 50MB downloaded. Still waiting.

Could have voted 2 other games already, but I am still downloading. You better deliver Crosstales.

I swear if this doesn't work I'm gonna be soooo mad.

But seriuosly. 85MB? What did you put in there? How can that be so ridiculously big for a game you barely made in 72 hours.

Still loading. 3 minutes left, almost done... sooo cloooose

12 MB left, 2 minutes to go. I can see the light

Read about twist in comments... wanna know twist. If there's no twist *raises fist*... Oh boy 30 seconds left... almost there, almost there, please computer don't bail on me now. Yaaay here it is, let's open and check.

Sneaky little bastards. What the heck did I just play?
The hitboxes were really weird. I hit them often, but it didn't register, and other times i clearly missed, but it GOT registered.
Didn't get a twist though :( am disappoint. Maybe I'm just too bad? I blame the hitboxes :D . Also those sneky little basterds I tell you. They hide so good and then they move in.

Fun little game though. Nice audio, cool mood, funny sneaky little bastards. Liked it. Worth the wait

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Gorgeous little game, great art and animation. Scored 1900, wave 9.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I like the concept! Really fun gameplay... love graphics!

yanisvieilly says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Awesome graphics, awesome audio. You did a great job!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I think santa are too small :) But that probably a gameplay choice. Nice game for a jam by the way!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:25am

fun game - made it to wave 11 - awesome job

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:44am

3500 points, wave 12, 352.2 time.

Really nice audio, and entertaining entry. Well done. :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:26am

I couldn't get it to work. It loads than just freezes up the web page.
I had to copy and paste this comment in. I could here the music though
and that was 5 out of 5 easy. It sounded like it had an edward scissor hands type of vibe.

tonypai says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:28am

One snowball a take keeps the santa away. :D

Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:59pm

awesome! i love it

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:49pm

2800...
well done, need more features (differents santas, powerup...)

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:10pm

6100, Wave 15, 454.6 seconds
This game had me shouting "NOOOO!" when a house would triumphantly sprout Christmas decorations post-Santa. Just that is hilarious, but the charming art, premise, and gameplay really make this a standout entry for me.

Great work!

schnerble says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Graphics and music are brilliant - some of the best I've seen in LD! Fun game to play too - nice work. Two little things though: sometimes it's hard to see the santas in the dark... and also I'm not sure why there's more than one day/night cycle! ;) (it's cool - but I'm not sure it makes sense with Christmas night! ;) )

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:07pm

funny little game. Curious about technick behind. What is diférence between normal and webgl version ?

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:23am

Fantastic little game! Lovely music and animation.

Well made!

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Finally a game where one can kick Santa's ass. Elve out of five!

NanoidGames says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:19am

Looks pretty cool. Happy xmas! :)

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:20am

really nice - very pretty, nice music, fun to play, and what I think is a funny concept n_n Merry Christmas!

kaa says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:38am

Very beautiful and cute!

Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

hilarious!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Beautiful graphics, great concept, nice take on tower games! I Included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/SGfwL84KAH0

zed0 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:07am

Neat game, the day/night cycle and weather effects are great polish.
My only real complaint is that most of the time I lost houses because I didn't spot the santas, rather than it actually being difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]