Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Squishi

by uncade - Jam Entry

I wanted to make a platformer that felt squishy. And had robot arms. Lots of robot arms.

wasd or arrow keys to move
space to jump, float, and stick to ceilings

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#18Fun(Jam)4.05
#36Overall(Jam)4.02
#164Graphics(Jam)4.00
#180Theme(Jam)3.92
#212Mood(Jam)3.47
#308Innovation(Jam)3.35
#338Humor(Jam)2.91

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Pretty cool! The graphics are great and it is a good platformer. It would benefit from some sounds, but other than that, it's really good.

gquibao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28am

Enjoyable graphics, really missed the sounds, but it is really fun. Great platformer.

CoolChesire says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

I really miss some music and sounds, overall quite enjoyable game, i like how you make the tutorial through the levels.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

I liked this one. The graphics are great and I love your character!

JamesOfJames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17am

This is allegedly malicious, according to WhiteHat Aviator, but I sincerely doubt that.

uncade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

@JamesOfJames - Weird, they're just standard Unity builds. I just uploaded a web version, although it might run a bit slow due to the ludicrous amount of tweening.

TheGreenTie says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46am

Those transitions were amazing!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Nice graphics, and a ton of fun! Some audio would be nice.

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

This game is so pretty! And the animations are so good!
The progression curve and the mechanics are also quite impressive.
Really nice work. :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30am

Wow this is really cool to watch. Its really cute when your little platform races to rescue you off screen. Super cool!

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32am

Sweet. The way you deal with death, having the platform move to pick you up, the rebuilding of levels, sticking to ceilings, and floating. If only it had audio!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35am

Played until the end and I have to say that, wind aside, the game controls like a dream.

The wind is by far the weakest mechanic you have going here and with it immediately killing you at the start of some levels before you have a chance to survey the terrain is just terrible. Don't do that to people.

The way the stages rebuild themselves is really great. And the floating platforms that pick the player up if you die are also great.

I really wish it had sound.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35am

Dat transition! First time I saw it made my jaw drop! I also loved how the starting platform would fly down to pick you up when you messed up. beautiful visual detail. Like everyone else though, I want sounds on this!

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

Haha, that was absolutely awesome! I'm dying for some sound (it would really take it to the top!) but I still loved it.

Super Meat Boy style blood and gore would fit right in with the spikes and blades.

Absolutely loved the transitions, and the floating mechanism is great as well (reminds me of Peach from Super Mario 2). Overall a great game! My favorite so far that I've played.

P.S. The level with the wind blowing quickly to the right is nasty.

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

Very nice platformer. The mechanics are very solid and I really feel like controlling the character. I hate that the wind affects when you're in the spawning position, though. The level construction is awesome.

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09am

Excellent! I loved the concept of "building" the game on the same screen. The mechanics were solid (but got a little frustrating in the windy levels). Why not stick to the sides of platforms too? Overall, great game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Slick! This is the squishiest game I have ever played

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Simple but well implemented. Great game! The first level with wind was a real pain though, haha. :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I had fun with this one, and the mechanics were pretty solid. There was a nice ease with difficulty. The transitions after every level is a nice touch. I'm impressed with the amount of levels that have been provided.

Hammers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Nice slick platformer. I love the level transitions and they're a nice way to work with the theme. But oof those wind levels!

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Simple but challenging. Cool graphics too, especially the transitions :)

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great graphics and animations. Great controls. Simple mechanics getting used in increasingly complex ways. This game is so good I can only nitpick: You can jump out the top of the screen, which makes it hard to judge where you'll land when navigating small platforms. I'd maybe change it so you butt up against the edge of the screen, unless of course the current behaviour is intentional.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46pm

The presentation here is very cool-- having all the levels be constructed before your eyes is very nifty. Some of the level design is a bit odd-- it's easy to get knocked off the starting platforms and into the void in the windy levels.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:08am

Good job on the puzzles--they made good use of the new mechanics, but took a while to get really challenging. The transition animations were really cool.

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Very fun game!
Despite the fact I lost the "You Win" level, I really like the way you implemented the theme with the robot arms, it reminds me a bit of Portal ;)
BTW I found the secret Ctrl + T!

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Overall really nice game, levels were well designed and that transition was awesome

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:01am

Very cool game. Excellent graphics, especially the transitions between levels. Solid gameplay too. At least some sound effects would have been nice. Good job anyways!

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:06am

I like squishi and the typewriter effect. it's very nice. Some music and sounds would be great, then it would be nearly perfect.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:30am

Looks great and love the transitions! I would have loved to have seen each level start where the last level ended.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:34am

this is neat! i like the concept, and the graphics are nice! though the grabber arms act weird with moving objects

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:52am

Very good concept!I was just imagining some music :)

jackrugile says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:05am

The level transitions were beautiful and the controls worked perfectly! I love that you overloaded the space bar with three types of functionality. It felt intuitive. Nice work!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:29am

Great game! Would be almost perfect with some audio! I love the controls, and the level design. This is one great entry!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Really nice game! I like the level placement animations, also the way you discover the character abilities is very intuitive and natural. Lots of levels, all of them really well-thought and fun! This game really needs some music and sfx though, it would enhance the experience a lot! Good job, one of the most fun i played so far! :D

the-arrival says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Over the top gameplay and content for a jam-game

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Great game, love the animations

estuardolh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:34pm

i really enjoyed playing the game :D

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:47am

Very polished controls, wish it had music (and didn't like the wind mechanic, since the controls felt spot on otherwise)

Frump says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:08am

Very well done. The controls were precise and the character changing shapes really helped show what was going on.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Having seen a few by now, this must be the best looking changing-terrain concepts. A bit squishi controls but I guess that's appropriate. Really nice work!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Good controls and nice level design. Would have been better with sound effects :)

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice challenging game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]