Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

endless rules

by dunin - Compo Entry

a tiny procedural puzzle game

arrows to move, a new rule appears each time you reach the goal.
rules are randomized, so each run is different...


edit 12/08/14: fixed some texts that were in bad english (old ones can be find in source)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Innovation4.36
#121Fun3.67
#177Overall3.64
#202Theme3.92
#356Mood3.16
#422Audio2.93
#568Humor2.47
#1043Graphics2.29

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:52am

Really cool concept and simple presentation!

inkeystring says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:35am

Yep, really nice idea and progression, made me smile

timwe1912 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03am

I like it.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:07am

I like how it encourages you to find out about each next rule and that the feeling is suitably mystical. I would probably have played longer if rule #3 was a little later on the list :)

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:11am

Got to the 9th rule. Very neat idea! The 8th rule really kept messing me up.

xaedes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:09am

Nice concept. I always like to explore games with changing rules.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

This is really awesome, good job!

dunin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:46am

Thanks all, that's cool!
the rules are randomize each run, so I don't know what is your your rule #3, or you rule #8 (but I know which ules are hard haha....)

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53am

Awesome, made it to rule #9 also. Great idea :D

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:23pm

First few levels bored me, then, interesting rule appeared :first X steps you make a wall. Every next rule make it better. It really surprised me! Great gameplay, and cool that so many things are randomized.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Really like the concept. The potential for this type of gameplay puzzle is quite interesting! Keep up the great work!

Blockers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

this is really cool! although the controlling felt a bit choppy, i think that was intended to make the mechanics display better. very fun :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:25pm

nice, very original game

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59pm

It was a pretty alright game

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05pm

It was interesting and different to other titles I've played so far

Pete_H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Original and clever! Loads of potential to be developed into a full game! Loved it

gre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:59am

This "adding up rules" concept is robust, never seen such a game mechanism. 5-stars in Innovation.
I enjoyed it also the rules quickly become frustrating which makes a great increasing-in-difficulty puzzle game.

Maybe a bit light in graphics, you could use some gfx effects as part of the game difficulty (e.g disformations, shadow areas,...).

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Awesome idea! that's the best procedural game ever!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Innovative and cool game that with simple means gave a very good game experience! Quite hard to survive longer than 13 rules. Thank you for the game! Merry Christmas!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Absolutely love puzzle games. Nice job!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Very cool premise, and deceptively hard to keep track of everything! I very much appreciate that a rule glows when it takes effect, really helps emphasize what's going on.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:32pm

GREAT concept! Loved it!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Great concept, and funny game, I hated ruled #9

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:40am

This was pretty tense to play, I couldn't beat it but had a lot of fun anyway, a very clever use of the theme. Only problem I found was having to refresh the window every time you die. But still, great game.

Silii says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:59pm

13 rules ^^

Nice game, love it. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Hi there. I got quite interested in what next rule would be. Only got to rule 12 because not thinking clearly... Clever the way you get more and more constrained. The up/down swap was the worst, or maybe teleport every 50... hmmm... Good job!

yodamaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Fun to play. Simplistic but then who needs fancy gfx if it's fun anyway.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I like the idea and it was fun and challenging :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:51pm

15 rules! Very cool game, I've never played anything quite like it before. Good work!

vekjeft says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:58pm

The simple graphics makes you focus on the mental game. Thoughout a fun game with a really original concept.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:40pm

It is a great and innovative mechanics concept, it was pleasure to try it

psychonull says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:44pm

This is a great and original concept. It's simple and really fun. Made it to rule #12 but I will continue!

Lynx says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very interesting concept for sure, reminds me on a card game called Mao. Add some music and you have yourself a good game

Azlen says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:17am

I love the concept! I survived 14 rules...

Some rules that were annoying (but also contributed to how fun the game is):
- left and right are inverted
- every 10 steps, one direction is prohibited
- hitting a wall will kill you

this game has great potential, I'd love to see a post-compo edition

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Hey this is REAL procedural gameplay. I have seens tons of attempt to do that but this one is the best.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:28pm

GOSH! This got really hard after a while! :O

Crosstales says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Very nice concept and good implemented. After some rules it gets real hard, but I like :-)

Well done!

Backterria says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I'm impressed!Very cool concept,very innovative and very nice use of theme!Bravo!

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Great stuff.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:11pm

I love the rule system ! Some are quite annoying (like the one that block a direction every 10 steps), but otherwise it's such a great idea !

Krisjet says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Cool concept! Really like the "add more rules as you go" idea, although some of the rules ended up being pretty frustrating at times. I thought especially the one where you ban a direction, and when you force the player to take more steps in one direction than the other were very annoying, since they could directly stop you from progressing for some time. Nice job!

dunin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:15am

Thank you all for playing (and commenting)!
@Blockers : Yeah, it's a snake-like move, to see each step.
@gre @yodamaster : Sure, I didn't have time (only one day) so I decided to make squares. After have enough rules, I had two choices: gfx effects or music. I made music. But in an hypothetical post-compo, there will be effects.
@oskardevelopment : Merry Christmas!
@p1x3lruckus : I'm agree, I just forgot the replay button, and see that at the end... My bad...
@Lynx : I didn't know it, seems cool. In fact, the inspiration was a drinking game call "le roi lapin" (= the rabbit king)
@Azlen @Alexandre Szybiak @Krisjet : I know some rules are annoying, it's the puzzle game side. The idea is that the goal is more complicated to reach each rule, and not only because walls or possible death. But it's true that some combinations of rules are really hard.
@Benjamin : wow, thank you.
for all: my best is 18 rules (very lucky run)...

barryrowe says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This is a great concept. The building of the rules on top of one another keeps the game interesting. The audio really fits. I wish it had a little more visual juice. Nicely done.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Really good idea. I like the progression in difficulty as the rules build up.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Very nice idea. It would be better if the rules didnt repeat and when when a new rule is shown it flashes briefly near the player or in the middle of playground so player doesnt have to look away to check out the new rule. Overall, very good.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:37pm

That's some really sick concept you have there, it's really frustrating, but somehow I also like it.
The rule that messed with me the most is the 3 second time limit per move rule, because you suddenly can't take your time anymore to think about it. Also invisible walls + deadly walls ...
And you should give some visual indication which direction is currently blocked. In general more visual/audio feedback would be nice, only the rule flashing up on the left side can often be overlooked.

For a possible post-compo version, you could add some more tiles than just walls and maybe even some objects and then you have ENDLESS possibilities for rules that modify the behaviour/interaction between those things. I'd love to see that.

jpmit says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Cool game!

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Super cool concept!
Really surprising. You need to dig into it, you can make something really powerful!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I feel like this concept could be developed into a fantastically infuriating game :)

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:58pm

That's brillant ... !
Really cool :)

shadow64 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I made it past 12 rules. This is a really fun game and a pretty innovative idea. By the time I hit "invisible walls," that was pretty tough, but before then it wasn't so bad.

The music was good and really it's all about the idea, so nice work. :)

Thanks again for commenting/voting on Natquik. I really appreciate the feedback. Best of luck in the results and congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]