Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lil's Sheep Defense

by virtualtoy - Jam Entry

Defend your crunchy sheep from ever-hungry wolves. Shoot those blood-thirsty predators, don't shoot your sheep! How much can you score in two minutes?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#168Humor(Jam)3.33
#228Fun(Jam)3.42
#264Theme(Jam)3.81
#468Overall(Jam)3.24
#487Graphics(Jam)3.31
#517Mood(Jam)3.00
#748Innovation(Jam)2.64

Comments

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Really funny idea, made me laugh and I really enjoyed your game!

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Ow so cute, i love it !

blzkz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:30pm

It's funny, and... beeeeeeeeee! cool game!

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Cute! Took me a little time to notice that shoot sheep wasn't a good idea, some player feedback would help with that. Otherwise, great audio too.

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Fun game with great humor. Unlikely characters "little girl with shotgun" and half eaten sheep are hilarious. Good, but a bit repetitive music. Although you can toggle so. I love the sfx too. Munch!

Not sure exactly what else you can do to make gameplay more interesting but the whole time feels the same. Powerups or something?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Your game is adorable and easy to grasp. Also, I have red hair and my favorite animal is the sheep...so I'm like 99% sure you made this game for me specifically. :) Can I tell you how horrified I was to learn you can accidentally shoot your own sheep? Music + Sheep + Cute SFX + pixel style = yay!

X54321 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I read 'avoid shooting sheep' as if there were going to be sheep holding guns. I was wrong, but the game's pretty fun.

TZeroth says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Loved the game! Had to beat my won score a couple of time. Nice mechanics, simple but sweet. Nice melody. Nice graphics.
I wish there were a scoreboard, but that's it. Really enjoyable!

Wir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51pm

omg .... so difficult to not kill the sheep yourself.

piotrevic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51pm

That pixel art looks nice, but how to shoot? :)

piotrevic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Ok, I got this - "A" Button

virtualtoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Guys, thank you for suggestions, probably I'll release update soon!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:14am

Awesome graphics, music/sfx, and crazy fun! Those sheeps pixels are perfect, and the baa noise-I became quite protective of my flock. It was Zombies Ate My Neighbors all over again.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:24am

Cool game! I was probably more dangerous to my sheep than those wolves :D Fun!

Namide says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:54am

Very fun and efficient!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Love pixel-art and music! :)
The game is fun and become interesting when the screen fills up with sheeps and you try not to kill them.
Nice game!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Haha, those are some resilient half-eaten sheep. Nice entry!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Sheep walking around with a big bite out of them are funny. Unfortunately, I don't think this game is lose-able? I intentionally gunned down all of my sheep at one point and they just came back.

virtualtoy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:52pm

@SuperDisk killing sheep decreases score, you only have to make best score - that's the point of the game

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Adorable!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I like it a lot! the only comment I have is music is a bit repetitive but... great game!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I love the theme. It is very funny how the wolves do not simply kill your sheep, but leave bite marks. The game is really difficult.

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Cute - little bit hard to control tho!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I really enjoyed playing this. Having to avoid shooting certain entities is something you don't always see in shooters, and it adds a fun dimension of strategy. The art is delightfully gory too. Great job!

Shivur says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Good music and cute graphics.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:17am

Hilarious. I love the bite out of the sheep. Had a smile on my face the whole time.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

There comes a point where you have to sacrifice majority of your sheep to save the few.

Also, half eaten sheep walking around is hilarious and terrible.

Also, why u no sound rating? That was good music dude!

Ossi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Great graphics and good use of the theme! It was pretty challenging just trying to shoot the wolves instead of the sheep, and the bite marks on the sheep were pretty funny! Very cute game, well done!

mikale says ...
Jan 15, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice game haha!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]