Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Screen For Worlds

by danidre14 - Jam Entry

Update #4:
I've discovered the reason behind the invisible wall!
The real game size is 1000 width, 600 height, but Ludum Dare only allow up to 900 width, and shrinking the game messes with the collision, and I can do nothing about that....
Nothing except allow full screen! :D
When the game's width is 1000 or greater like it should be, the collision works perfectly how it was meant to be, although wrong movements still cause you to glitch through walls and die.
Click the enable full screen button to play each level properly, or just play the game on new-grounds, where the width is 1000, enabling users to still play properly! :D
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Update #3:
Fixed the glitch where you could not pass level 4, which was due to a collision error, where I tried to make the character glitch through the wall, if he stayed in that on spot for too long! :\ :]
Fixed bug where the levels would not reset when you win, unless you pressed 'R'.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Update #2:
This game was made for LD31: http://ludumdare.com/compo/

Vote on my Ludum Dare entry here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=32791
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Update #1:
Not based off I Wanna Be the Guy

Any wrong movements, and you're sure to glitch through the walls = death! >:D
Any wrong movements, and you're sure to glitch through the walls = death! >:D
Any wrong movements, and you're sure to glitch through the walls = death! >:D
Any wrong movements, and you're sure to glitch through the walls = death! >:D
Any wrong movements, and you're sure to glitch through the walls = death! >:D
Any wrong movements, and you're sure to glitch through the walls = death! >:D

You are meant to glitch through walls when you move incorrectly. You can also use that to your advantage to win.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Update #0:
Help:
W - Jump
A - Left
D - Right
R - Restart
N - Next level
Reach each new door to advance in level.
Collect gems on the way.
Any wrong movements, and you're sure to glitch through the walls = death! >:D

About:
This game was made by Danidre14 in 48 hours, for the Ludum Dare Jam with the theme: Entire Game On One Screen (I started this one day late).

This fast-paced, puzzle solving, path guessing, nerve wrecking sequence game is enough to let you raise of your seat, in both excitement, and rage!
Take your step into these despicable levels, not knowing of when nature would ambush you, or when you'd ambush it. Staying in time with the sequence will prevent you from ending up in a lot of bugs or restarting, but some may want to use that to their advantage.
Test your patience and skill, by collecting as much gems as possible per level.
Note: All levels are beat-able.

Music:
Main Menu Music: Chipzel - We Knew
Level 1 Music: Chipzel - Hello Earth
Level 2 Music: Chipzel - Focus
Level 3 Music: Chipzel - Can't Stop Us
Level 4 Music: Chipzel - Her Heart
Level 5 Music: Chipzel - To the Sky
Game Beat Music: Raiden III - Passing Pleasures

Credits:
Artwork - Danidre14
Animations - Danidre14
Programming - Danidre14
Sound Effects - Danidre14

Update:
Added Easy, Normal, and Hard difficulties.


Play the game on my website: http://danidre14.wix.com/danidre14#!one-screen-for-worlds/c1ux6

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#413Audio(Jam)2.94
#656Theme(Jam)3.38
#669Humor(Jam)2.26
#745Fun(Jam)2.72
#752Overall(Jam)2.91
#822Graphics(Jam)2.55
#838Mood(Jam)2.52
#862Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

hectorhon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Flash player crashed on load...

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Too hard for me.

Wir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Pretty interesting but hard to play since it´s lagging like hell o.O

we´d love if you could checkout our game and leave a comment :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

A bit of lag... needs some work in that department.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Nice idea. Good fun trying to beat it, but maybe the difficulty ramped way too quickly. Would have been nice to get used to the feel on a slightly more forgiving first level.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02pm

A rage-platformer to the max! It's pretty fun once you figure things out ;) I like the added challenge of getting gems!

My biggest problem with it is having the level so small on the screen. Yes it fits great with the theme, but it isn't really that good for the gaming experience (just imagine a Lets Play with it - it'd be so small on the screen!). Maybe you could make a second version later on that's viewable in a different way?

Other than that, you just need to polish things up at this point! :D

- The art is nice! Just kind of dark. Those dungeons be scary, haha!
- Even though some of the sound effects are low quality, it reminds me of old games I used to play XD Nice choice using Chipzel's music! She's an amazing artist :D
- Some times I phase through walls, haha! It happens to the best of us. You're close with the physics though! Using boxes and buttons and levers and water is really cool! You fit a lot into a tiny space! :D

I think this is another big improvement from you! Good job, and keep up the great gamedev work! :D

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Neat little game, very hard though :P I like how youve tackled the theme, only thing about doing it like this is that the graphics were very small it was a little hard to tell what I was doing sometimes. The music made me jump at the start haha, also the wall of text is a little hard to read because of the typeface you've used. Nice entry :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08pm

An interesting game and challenging, make me thing about "I wanna" series. The items on the screen are some time too tiny to look at.

It is still admirable to make so many contents only in one day, so cheer up!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Great Job !!!

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

First impression: the font you used for the intro and instructions screen was very hard to read.

Ok, as for the game itself: it's very challenging. I got a strong I Wanna Be The Guy vibe from it, although the controls were unfortunately a bit more floaty. I see what you were trying to do with the "entire game on one screen" theme, but it kind of begs the question: if you've got an entire area reserved for one "screen" (help, menu, etc), why have it hidden most of the time? Why not just have it always on? Especially the help screen!

Wir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16pm

haha i first didnt know what you meant about the laggs under our game :D then i realised that you mean your game ^^

thx for fixing it its way better to play (but there are some bugs in the walls, in lvl 5 i could even jump into the menue XD)

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

One of the few that really followed he theme. Nice game.

Check this one;
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Very hard entry, but with more polishing, this could be a very solid game :)

Wir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

ah ok didnt know you meant it like that, there are also many puzzles you can skip with going through the wall :D

Wir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32pm

reading would make my life easier XD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Kinda hard to get into, but cool idea, challenging gameplay :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:40am

So overall this game was fun.

I found the controls to be a little sluggish, and a lot of the information was hard to understand (couldn't see the switches, didn't understand where the spikes were going to impale to at first). Once I understood it was a lot better.

I think the actual theme of the jam hurt this game. I would have liked to have been able to see each of the levels full screen.

But... The level design is actually really really good! There are lots of interesting action challenges and puzzles in here! I really like that, with some polish it could really stand out. :)

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I like the idea a lot, I think that if you polish it a little bit more would be a great game. Consider making it for consoles and add more levels, good job!

friken says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I clicked start level but just a blank screen. not sure how to play

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Good idea, nice music

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Way too hard ._.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I wouldn't call the game fun, I'd call it extremely challenging. You did good work.

guldlock says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:58pm

yeah, a bit too hard. but still quite fun hehe

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:06am

Interesting, but lagging and very small.

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:07am

Too Hard.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:10pm

The screen is too small to play these kind of games.
Otherwise, pretty good.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I liked the difficulty and puzzle solving. nice work.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:27pm

A bit hard at first, but once you get used to the feel of the movement it's not too bad. Overall, not bad, it was pretty fun once I got into it. The two main things I'd say that could use some work are the movement physics (they felt a bit sluggish and unnatural) and the collision.

I actually couldn't physically beat level 4 because my character was getting stuck on the top and couldn't do anything to avoid the spikes (due to the collision). I could also sink through floors to cheat my way through a couple levels.

Despite the couple issues, the game was still pretty fun! Good work!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Reminds me a lot of old-school flash games from back in the day. Nice work!

BooleanByte says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Sound scared me when opening the site. But to hard for me.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:09am

I can't deig it. When I press play there is nothin on screen to interact. Maybe, I do something wrong.

MMOOxy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:16am

Level 4 was still glitched (maybe you didn't update it?). Music in level 4 is kind of annoying. Was able to glitch through the floor on level 3 and skip the whole level.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:17am

Woaaaah hard game!
A little annoying music but good gameplay

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:58am

Cool idea, and I like the level design. The exploitable glitches were actually kind of fun (jumping up while walking into a box lets you enter "wall-world"). Unfortunately I couldn't get past lvl 4 as my character would get stuck while walking across the trap door above the water :( Also, the sprite art was a bit of an eyestrain, it doesn't necessarily need to be bigger, it just needs to be more distinguished from the background.

Overall nice entry, I enjoyed playing.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Wow, this is definitely hardcore platformer puzzle game!
Well done!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Game can be very challening but it is still possible to beat so balance here for me is good :) And good choice of music :D My only complaint would be that graphics are small (I'm playing on 15 inch screen laptop) but without this it probably would be hard to fit in theme :P

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:39pm

cool game i loved it

ynots says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:06pm

nice..

Eggplant says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Really hard, but fun! I liked the art and music, and I thought it was pretty creative! Good job.

Yarek says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:56pm

A bit difficult to play because of the screen size but nice game!

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:13pm

interessant idea. Need more works.
(we can make out of bounds easily, but it's funny!)

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Super hard... I wish the spikes had a little more forgiveness (especially when jumping over them). I see why you made the levels tiny (to serve the theme), but I found it super cramped and would've been much more enjoyable if each level was the full window.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]