Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Fast and the Flatulent

by Drtizzle - Compo Entry

RIGHT-CLICK AND CHOOSE "GO FULLSCREEN" FOR A MUCH BETTER PERFORMANCE

DESCRIPTION:
You're a guy playing a game in a video arcade. But you get distracted by all sorts of things.
Try to get the highest score on the arcade machine!

CONTROLS:
use the ASD-keys to control your left hand, use your mouse and left-mousebutton to control the joystick and to punch.

GAMEPLAY TIPS:
- grab the joystick and make sure to move it gently
- keep your middle-finger on the S-key
- tap the D-key at moderate speed, keep an eye on the fart-meter to see what's fast enough
- wait to punch "Oi M8"-guy until you just passed a red car

this should make it less hard ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Humor4.13
#171Theme3.99
#187Fun3.54
#250Mood3.30
#270Innovation3.55
#318Audio3.10
#409Overall3.33
#539Graphics3.12

Comments

AGausmann says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:53am

This is hilarious! :D

Boog33 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:58am

YEAH! OMG U WIN!

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20am

You had me at Brake, gas, gas?!?

also: what is happening
this is a masterpiece

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:44am

This is beautiful.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Dear God what did I just play lol
I tried to put 6 stars in Humor but couldn't

尼克·許 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38am

I love it !!! Cooooooooooooool

eusekerci says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:09pm

gas-gas?? :D so much fun! If there is high score or something to achieve, it will be great. Like it

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Masterpiece :)

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I've been following your updates in the news feed and been looking forward to playing this! You did not disappoint! This is... HARD! And yet I want to play more! :D

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45pm

@eusekerci: There is an highscore to archieve, it is the highscore of the racing-game. Try to go as fast as possible for as long as possible and your score will go up. Just rembember to mash the fart-button ;)
It also saves your highest score, you can see it in the main-menu.

Thanks for the great reactions so far!

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Gas??...lol. Very entertaining, I enjoyed it.

Zolkren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30pm

HaHa, loved this game.
It is really funny.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Game over because game over!

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32pm

That tune is epic. It took me a while to figure out the controls - because I did my first couple of games without using the joystick, and got really far without crashing ;) I love the effect of looking around, and perfect interpretation of the theme.

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48pm

WTF! is what I have to say and thats positive actually :P

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

This is one of the dumbest things I've ever played, and I say that as a good thing. I like the viewpoint, and the QWOP like feature of having to do a bunch of different things at once. This is the kind of weird stuff that should be made in a jam. Well done!

Shampop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24pm

So fun :'D
This is stupid and really hard, but i laughed so hard :'D
Thank you ! :'D

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29pm

What mate? I don't know what the hell is going on. But this is weirdly fantastic. Like, seriously not what I was expecting. It's hard to control but it's so hilarious that I don't even care that I suck at it. Great work :D

rabbeni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Good job :D

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very nice game! I loved it.

P.S. If you will have a second try running my game again, I think I've fixed the issue

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

80's Arcade Sim... Perfect!

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

just wtf?! - in a good way. :d
p.s.: i seriously want to punch that guy now!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Haha, nice idea. Gets a bit hard to see, but a really cool idea. great button sounds btw, haha.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Wow! funny and strange. no idea whats happen but i don't care.

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56pm

XD THIS IS SPECTACULAR!

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12pm

This is so fun! xD I like it xD

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Made me laugh :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32pm

OMG! Best farting game ever!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41am

What the heck did I just play? :P

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01am

such random, much fun! :D

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:31pm

A really fun (farting) game!
Well done!

victorljs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Funny game. Fun controls. very good.

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I enjoyed the brake, gas, gas?! but oh my goddd what is going on

fil00dl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Everything in this game is funny! except the game-over screen ;)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Lol, this game is ridiculously fun. Very unique, awesome art and sound.

Simon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Well done it's a very cool game and a good use of the theme. Very gross too, that's perfect :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Definitely the strangest game I've played in a while. The fart meter had me bewildered for a while xD

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice graphics! Funny idea! very addicting, solid gameplay. Great effort!

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I have no idea what's going on, but it's majestic.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:22pm

The fart thing was annoying. Meter went up way too fast.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29pm

lol, very original and funny, well done :)

morshues says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23pm

so funny! I seem to smell the smoke!

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Very original concept with hilarious gameplay! I couldn't help but laught!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Really strange game.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37pm

A bit too noisy, but as distractions was a part of it, it fits. Still a bit tough to keep playing, due to the sheer amount of it.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Ahah. You win everything. Seriously this is great. Fast paced and fun, great sounds, utterly mental and great use of theme. I love punching that guy in the face. Feels so satisfying for some reason. Really good job OP. :D

Poupi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Haha totally dumb game, very fun !
We just have to fart too often in my opinion :)
(The music reminds me Doom)

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Really funny, hard to play.

dusho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09pm

brilliant :) but really hard keyboard smasher

T1MGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

This is great!

psydack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Masterpiece, thanks for made this!

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

That was fun!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Amazing.

The fart meter maybe goes up a little too fast. You have to keep mashing the button, can't forget about it for a second (maybe that was the idea?).

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Excellent !

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:17pm

The mouse look thing really did it for me, I loved it, very immersive!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Realy fun game, nice work!

BK-TN says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Very accurate simulation of going to the arcade. Difficult, intense and goddamn hilarious. Couldn't be more perfect!

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Game over because vomit! LOL

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Really fun game! I like the style of the graphics and the gameplay is cool!
The stick is a bit hard to grab imo. And the game has a glitch, if you don't move you go trough the cars.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Pretty funny, I have to admit!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Nice game although a bit hard to master.
There is an exploit but I will leave this as an extra challenge :P

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Awesome game :) love it

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56pm

"OI MATE"

I... don't really know what I just played. I think I liked it, though.

elliottd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51am

really neat use of the mouse for operating the joystick and punching the distraction guy, worked really well with the 3 buttons. and i like the third button managing something that is not in the game, though i dislike that there is no reason to not be pressing it and you can't hold it down. also everything is really quite ugly (sound, graphic style, fart jokes, smoking) though I really respect this work despite my distaste for it. Really well done.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43am

Yes.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00am

So funny! :D

The Jahn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09am

BEEN LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS

this game is art

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00am

I don't know what I just played, but I think I had fun. Neat concept of the game within a game. That long necked fellow is creepy. I like the music. Would play again.

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:18am

Very strange game. Who knew distractions would be an interesting mechanic?! Very hilarious use of the theme and very cool controls. Well done!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53am

Gosh darn! I think I almost broke my keyboard I was pressing buttons so fast!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07am

Thx for your comment :)
Hilarious game :D

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Hilarious! What a masterpiece!

goro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:44pm

It's cool and craaazy!!!

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Really hilarious game :)

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03pm

AWESOME audio!

really great!
how did you come up with this xD

Manderxan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19pm

*shits pants laughing*
This is AWESOME! And HARD!
Everything fits together nicely, so not really anything bad to say about this one.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Really fun ! :)

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

What did i just play?
Game is over but my cigarette where still glowing!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:51pm

That was funny! I like the animations, and how the "gas?" surprised me!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Great game. Super hard in a good way. Hilariously funny.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:57pm

WTF this is the most hilarious game played till now haha.
And the race game is and actual game too :D

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:27pm

HAHA THIS IS AMAZING XD

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:34pm

This is the most awkward...ridiculous game on this website I've played up to date! Good job !

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:13pm

HAHAHA hilarious!
it resembles the controls of the game my team and I have created, what a coincidence

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Oh my god this is the best game of all time.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35pm

WOW now thats what i call a cool game !!!! great job buddy!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:53am

Just like in real life, where I'm always pooping my pants if I don't fart enough! The high-intensity music makes this game. 5/5 in humor, with one of the stars due to the name alone.

vinull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:14am

I like the control idea and concept - playing the player of a game. The humor of the game didn't do anything for me, and the difficulty was annoying enough I couldn't play long. Still, props to the concept even if it's not my type of game!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:05am

Pretty funny! I like controlling a character that's controlling a game. I pooped my pants too many times. Who knew it was so easy to do.

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:56am

When people argue that games aren't art, direct them to this game to prove them wrong.

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:55am

Awesome! We had the exact same idea but ended up doing something else. I'm glad you made this!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Slapping Oi m8 guy simulator. 10/10.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:38am

Very funny!I like the animation in his fingers!Great!

drZool says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:29am

haha! Hitting the guy in the face was very intuitive and satisfactory!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:16pm

nice use of theme...

ponk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Hilarious and awesome ... !!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Hi there. Excellent. Love the Viz/Python punching arm and heads sliding in. So easy to forget to fart... Good job!

doos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:14pm

it was so hard i did a solid.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:19am

I don't know what to say. I guess I just need to fart more often.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Great use of the theme. Very funny.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:04pm

aha insane

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QPQ6j3uiw8

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:44pm

This was pretty funny, but unfortunately not very deep. I could keep going forever just by spamming all the buttons - when I'm losing just because I got bored, you know something's up. Graphics were half-decent, and music is good. I never saw a red car, but I was scoring upwards of about 5000, and there wasn't really that much of an aim.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

That was way intense, LOL!
This game's awesome :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]