Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Nooo Bath Time!!!

by Gabbmonkey - Compo Entry

Avoid the water, poop and eat to survive the water!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#113Humor3.40
#521Fun3.11
#523Mood2.96
#568Graphics3.08
#592Theme3.58
#690Audio2.47
#696Overall3.07
#718Innovation2.91

Comments

misson20000 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 4:55am

Can we get a zip file instead of a rar file? Rars are generally considered to be kinda nasty

Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:48am

yeah, i'd rather have a zip file

Broivula says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Hahah, the title image reminds of Binding of Isaac. Well done!

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:54am

Zip? Ok :)

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

Hahaha so funny :3

QuexD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

Good idea a some suggestions are to make the tutorial not in a pop up, the first 3 times I played I did not know how to avoid the tub.

srakowski says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

HA! That was fun. Took me a while to realize that the popsickles turned into poop. Well done!

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

The popups were a bit annoying, also the poop shouldn't be able to spawn in other poop.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

Good fun!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01am

Plays really nicely and the gameplay feels compact and solid.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05am

background color clashes with the hud and i died a lot trying to see how many poops i had :(

DXsmiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10am

Short but enjoyable. Well executed use of bathroom humour ;) Music does not fit with game, but sound effects do. Display of controls every time one attempts to replay the game is annoying. Graphics are nice. Would be good if the player started on a platform, and also some form of timer (or animation) to show how long until each platform disappeared.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11am

That music was starting to get on my nerves after a few retries. Also I think the poopsickles should give you more poop, given how much poop you have to use getting to them sometimes.

I liked the graphics though, it's a great style and the gameplay is pretty good.

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:14am

this is the first LD game i have rated so far with any attempt at humor at all! well done.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20am

I rather enjoyed this. I would have to say that some of the things seemed a little ambiguous. I didn't realize that the soap bars would harm me for a while. Also, sometimes the soap bars spawn somewhere I was already moving so I hit them with out a chance to avoid. The movement seems a little too fast to try to avoid something like that. If the game was slowed down a bit, I could imagine heading a direction, then seeing a soap bar and moving out of the way, but at the current speed it feels pretty difficult to dodge anything. Perhaps, as you survive longer, the game moves faster (and music speeds up as an effect).

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21am

Interesting game overall, but the having to use mouse to keyboard transition at the beginning feels a little rough,

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21am

It was good. I'm left handed, so the A-D-Space didn't work for me, but I didn't hold that against you. It was a good time... Thanks!

chakitp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26am

Nice Game, But little bit awkward Control. But Loved Playing it!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44am

Very nice. The controls are pretty smooth.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48am

Hahaha, really fun concept. And really nice graphics!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50am

The pooping mechanic had me laughing. Simple yet compelling.

locknic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52am

Nice game, well polished. I am having trouble finding a good strategy though.

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52am

Hope you like it guys! it's my first ld

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58am

Damn soap, always spoils the fun. Nicely done.

Only wished I could play again with the enter key without having to click the score box ok and play button.

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16am

Nice game! It was a challange and that is part of the fun. Music is a bit annoying tho but great job overall!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16am

<3 why can't I stop playing this? Gahhhhhh!

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:20am

Enjoy it :33

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35am

Wow, nicely done~ Simple, yet a challenge! I almost got myself playing over and over but I know when to cancel. >w<

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

Solid and challenging gameplay. Gameable a bit if you wait to start, as food will spawn anyway. Nice art!

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56am

Jumping from your poop is the best form of transport.

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37am

Great idea! it's humorous!

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49am

Thanks for zip file

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05am

Good idea!

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:19am

(D:30=R:15-C:47)

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

The most cool game haha

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:53am

Neat little game. I like the fact that it's kept to short and sweet gameplay.

Pampattitude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

Pretty cool, I had fun with it.
The gameplay mechanic is nice but gets a bit redundant after a few games.

Cool pixel art though!

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:28am

[Avira reports 'TR/Dropper.gen' in the zip download. ?]

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48am

Fun Game, Like the art style. Great Work!~

Devark says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59am

Poor baby! Funny but controls can be a little awkward. There's no increase in difficulty from what I played so it got a little repetitive. Sounds and graphics weren't bad though, good work!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Solid platformer. I agree that the controls feel a little awkward, and that the gm popup shouldn't be there each round. I scored 36 at best. GG OP.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30am

yea, nice game :D got only 34 points T_T
I like isaac and this :D

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Man! It's amazing!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Awesome fun game, cool art style, super clean and polished!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Great game!

Hatsome says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:48pm

It was a little frustrating at first, because I fell to death pretty fast. But it was fun after I got the hang of the pooping mechanism.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Great gameplay with tight controls, wish the tutorial wasn't a pop up dialog though.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Really fun game. Took me a second to realise I had to poop to make a platform. Once I got it it was really fun. Shame about the popups every time you restart, but I guess you ran short of time. Very funny, nice art too.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Funny idea :)

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Well that was urr, different haha. Really challenging game play though, I liked it alot. Though as others have said though the pop up is kinda annoying.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Very nice, i like the handling of the player

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

There's poop EVERYWHERE.

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Rage! Great stuff, tho. Too bad for the popups, they really interrupt jumping back in to the game, which is important in a game like this.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Took a while to get used to the controls, but a pretty good game mechanic. I liked it.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Really funny

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Very addictive and fun! My highscore is 67.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Now I have a certain distaste for soap :)

Bardikus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Only managed to get 26 in 4 tries. Simple and cool game :)
Didn't exactly understood how soap works but it was fun neverthelss. The main character certainly reminds me of Isaac

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53pm

My highscore was: 112 e_e hahaha, my game is very addictive :B

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Wooo, so nasty and dirty humor, very Isaac style :D Sound od death is quite too loud. But it had that thing that keep you trying and trying... and poop... Dude, what were you smoking? :D

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

haha, I do not smoke, to a couple of days I did not take a shower for problems in the pipes and stuff, so ... that was my inspiration lol :B

madmaw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Loved it although it's a little hard to click the play button, close the dialog with the instructions, then hit space before you fall into the bath. Would be nice to be able to either use the keyboard or the mouse for an entire play-through. Anyway, scored it was awesome, good work.

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Words cannot describe what I have just experienced.

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:51pm

For good? or bad?

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Hilarious concept! Works well with the theme and the control of the character is really good. Creating platforms to help you stay alive while also good for using as a double jump is a pretty smart idea! This game is so dirty, good job!

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Thank u n_n

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I really liked the game, is a old mechanic but you make it a little more interesting.
I just don't like the "poop" thematic platforms xP

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03am

Interesting gameplay, character reminds me a lot of Isaac from BOI :P

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

The little boy reminded me of the character of "The Binding of Isaac". Congratulations

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49am

Fun game! :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54am

nice, very funny game

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

I'm putting poop in my next LD game HAHA! Games with poop are fun! :) Good first entry.

Omer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

Overall quite a nice little game, though challanging. I enjoyed it.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

Really funny! And fun! Nice and simple game.
The randomness was a bit harsh sometimes, I want MORE popsicles mommy!!

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03am

that was some solid poop haha.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25am

Simple game! nice, although i found the control a little hard to get used to as it relied on one hand to do everything.

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40am

So much fun. I love the way the poop comes out as rectangles and not just goo shape! Makes it easier to platform on he he

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:28am

Fun game!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Funny game, background music is very repetitive though and not very fitting to the game's mood.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31pm

"So much fun. I love the way the poop comes out as rectangles and not just goo shape! Makes it easier to platform on he he"

That's going in my quote book.

kingpirux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

quite funny xD wasn't expecting that a baby needs to shit to survive. It's hard to master but the idea of the game is it, so it gets adictive.

charlesque says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I really liked to poop. :)

Conflei says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Gabi tu juego rockea, saludos desde Venezuela.
Excelente para ser tu primer jam!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Really nice game! so funny!

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Pooping to stay out of the bath - reminds me of Mrs Beerman's pet hedgehog...

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

+ theme
+ gameplay
- music

A funny little game. Well done!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Awesome game :) love it

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Gave us quite a laugh

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:28am

Nice and simple. The controls feel great.
Easy to play, hard to master.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

The graphics are simple yet cute. Also the concept idea is good enough (poop to save your...unpurity?? xD) and the controls are very responsive.

But the music is very creepy to be a "bath time". Also I find the poop "jump" to be "unproductive" sometimes.

Overall, I like the game :)

The Jahn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

10/10 for tactical MLG pooping

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00am

Hah, what a weird game! :) Nice job.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:17am

I really enjoyed the core mechanic, and the jumping feels good. It seems like you're sort of at the whim of the popsicles, though, since it almost always takes at least 1 platform to get to 1 popsicle. Also, it would be nice to have the menus navigable with only the keyboard, so players don't need to switch between keyboard and mouse.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20pm

yess, finally, a single screen game that dosnt rub it self into your face, your game felt intuitive and was a joy to play and master. Cool Game :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Funny game!!! 33 points is my personal record. Good entry!!!

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Brix will be shat hehe, literally. Cool little game.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Funny :] more piss and shit in games ! BOI opened the way...

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Poop platforms. Now I've seen it all.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:54am

i never thought i would use my own poop in a platformer - great idea - tricky gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]