Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

You Have the Con

by OccamsRazor - Compo Entry

You Have the Con is a tactical starship management game, where you are left at the command screen(see what I did there) of a large starship. You are responsible for keeping components in repair, managing your weapons systems, tracking enemies on the radar and blasting them to oblivion!

Controls are through mouse only, click on each element of the interface to make stuff happen! Tutorial in game.

Just remember, if anything goes wrong, it's not a bug, it was caused by a Reverse Tachyon pulse.

-------------------------------

This has been my first full Ludum Dare(I've done one Mini LD before) and it's been a blast! Not everything came out perfectly, but I'm pretty happy with the end result!

Everything was made by myself during the competition. I used:

Engine/Coding: Unity2D/MonoDevelop
Art: Inkscape
Sounds: BFXR
Music: Bosca Ceoil

Rate and enjoy! Looking forward to some feedback!

Changes:
- Fixed an issue where Bow Weapons wouldn't take damage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#4Theme4.67
#90Mood3.64
#140Overall3.69
#158Innovation3.76
#217Fun3.49
#217Humor3.11
#286Graphics3.53
#371Audio3.00

Comments

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47am

Awesome execution! I loved playing this even though I blew up =P

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

6 Waves so far. A bit slow paced, but I love the balance between defensive and offensive behaviour. Execution is great. Perfect fit for this theme.

P.S. If you like spaceship sims, check my entry ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

So much action and drama just from a single low-fi 'console.' Really love this entry.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Good game! The letters are kinda hard to read though. Good job!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

This is really quite fun, and such a simple execution.

Sim00n says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41am

I'm surprised how cool this game is even though you're just clicking on a console. Very interesting idea that is outside of the box. Great job!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53am

Simple and fun. I'm normally terrible at these kinds of games, but I managed to survive for several waves of this one :-)

mildmojo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14am

This is the sort of game I'd like to make. UI-heavy starship con simulator. I hope you've also played Artemis Bridge Simulator and Spaceteam for mobile. If not, you might enjoy both. =) Ace job.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46am

Wow I survived till the end - and it was only pleasure in such a game :) Got me a while until I understood weapons (= when I noticed huge yellow note). Well done execution of a nice concept. I didn't know that simple console can give so much fun!

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:04am

I really loved both concept and gameplay! Great work! You should polish the GUI & Sounds, and it will be a really solid game

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:25am

Great stuff. Really enjoy it thanks. Music is a bit repetitive and thx for making a button to toggle on/off.

Not a lot of people think about that little button :P

5 star epicness.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Thanks everyone! Really appreciating the feedback, and I'm really glad you're all enjoying it :)

@NuclearNapalm Yeah...the pacing is something I laboured over. Ended up slowing it down a lot - there wasn't enough time to react to things if it was too fast - but its a tough balance. I also checked out your game, it was top-notch!

@mildmojo I've definitely played Spaceteam! Enjoyed it greatly! Artemis is something I've -always- wanted to play, but its a tough one to organize

@Jayson yeah, ha :P A short, fairly repetitive loop was all I really had time for, so I figured a toggle might be appreciated ;)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:11pm

It sets a very claustrophobic mood, mostly because you know they're out there but you can't see them. The graphics are absolutely spot on for the game. I would have liked to have had a little more control over the weapons.

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Nice aprouch to the theme. I like the tension on the play.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55pm

WOW! Really good looking managament/simulator game!:) i like GUI/HUD.. good work,mate! :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Super cool game! Surprising amount of strategy involved(strafing runs with the starboard weaps to 100 for the win!). Excellent job!

Trixton says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Great idea for the theme! I like the fact that you are not a character but instead are in control of some autonomous system.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Could you publish executables as well? I'm on Linux where the Unity Web Player doesn't work, and this game looks great - I'd like to play it!

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

@Germanukol Ah!, I didn't know Unity Web didn't work with Linux. I'll get some new versions published when I get home, starting with Linux. Check back and it should be there!

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Nice game, would have preferred less mouse clicking - maybe typing commands instead? Good work!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01pm

This game is completely awesome.
Totally enjoy the graphics, totally enjoy the sounds.
One of the top 3 LD games I've ever played!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Very, very nicely executed. Had a real FTL feel what with scrambling between repairing different component, and sometimes having to change up strategies on the fly! Difficult ramped up nicely, too... I just barely squeaked through the last wave. It did feel like the bow weapons weren't targetable, though: I was able to rely on them staying up the whole game.

A detail I'd have changed would have been to have the radar dots rotating around the ship instead of rotating the ship on the radar display, but that's just a nitpick. Also, really enjoyed the tone of the tutorial.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

@gallerdude Wow, thanks! I can't imagine higher praise than that!

@Ian Morrison You have no idea how long I laboured over exactly that decision. That was is definitely more like a true radar, but I worried that without some more tangible movement on rotation, things would be unclear. I was second guessing that one until the end :P

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

@Ian Morrison Also...you might be right about the Bow weapons...I'm questioning whether those were added to the list too. Might need to make a quick fix :P

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Great work. I enjoyed this a lot. I am glad you provided a mute button as the music got a bit much. Outstanding presentation and game design though. superb!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50pm

good Job. Remembers me to a mail-Box game i played with some people ... it was called something like trek ... Nice Simulator... cool that there is a tutorial....

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very nice entry !! Liked the humor. Keep going !

runvs says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Great game, especially for 48 hours. (plus you made a tutorial and extra credits for the yellow note :D ).
I liked the simple graphics, though sound did not convince me. Sorry for that.
Great interpretation of the theme!

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Like the idea, nice work!

mogwai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Really fun game, quite hard though :) Love the music

Budi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I liked the idea, it feels complete and graphics with music and mood blends together well. I don't like controlling the direction of ship with mouse, for me, he game feels too much "clicky".

But overall well done, sir!

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Cool game! Love the graphics for the panel display.

rameshkannan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14pm

some what ok

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Heh, I made a control panel based sort of game as well... but ended up very different. Amazing the number of takes on the control panel :)

I liked the game. It reminded me a lot of an old star trek like game I played on the old 386. Had a strong strategy element, and added in a little of that frantic feeling in the later waves. Good job!

spazzarama says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Found it hard to get into, but great execution of the theme

goblin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:17am

Hey! very nice game. its funny!! look my game ;)

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20am

This was fun! Love the use of the theme and the humor.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:33am

Great work. Everything is clear, controls well, and challenging. There is enough going on to keep you interested and anxious, but not so much that you get overwhelmed. The music was a little repetitive, but that's really about my only feedback. Nice work.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Hi there. Nice sim. Seemed a bit slow, but then I was being very timid... Running from them using bow weapons only... Like the control system. Good tutorial. Very clean introduction. Good job!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This is well done! To be truly great, though, it need some polish. ;) First of all, it's easy to get into a situation where you sit there repairing stuff for a while...and then you realize you're *not actually hitting the enemies*; they enemies have all found places to sit where your weapons can't reach them. (Occasionally I would set the ship to spin around just to make sure I was able to hit enemies.) Here are some possible ways to fix that: Sound effects when your ship fires, glowing lights on the weapons panel when the weapons fire, firing arcs superimposed on mr. radar. Also, it seemed like flying around didn't do much; most battles just came down to me and the other ships sitting there shooting at each other, hoping I can repair myself faster than they shoot. (What I wouldn't give for a Spathi ship...) One more thing; it seems like a valid strategy to wait until there's one ship left, then turn off your weapons and repair yourself completely before finishing off the last enemy and going to the next wave. Which sort of makes sense, but it also seems kinda tedious...So, just address those issues and fix the spelling of "conn", and you'll have a great game!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Help are cool made, intuitive gui design.
I missing visual feedback off speed.

Well made!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Stopped at the ninth. Well, exploded is a better way to say it, but it's much less heroism.
A simple little game that sustain my attention for a few minutes, good job. :)

bushmango says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:10am

So much fun, I love games like this.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:38am

@Chaoseed Thanks for your awesome feedback, those are great points.

For the spelling....I'm honestly a little disappointed in myself over that one...

The speed can end up being useful for only trying to tackle a portion of them at a time, but I think it lacks good feedback for movement, which makes things a little difficult.

And ya, I completely agree, the weapons firing/range/arcs were something that bugged me until the end, but I just had no time to implement.

Glad you enjoyed it though, and thanks a lot for the useful feedback!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:08am

I had the exact same idea with my entry, but I went in a totally different dirrection... I am affraid yours is a bit more interactive... Oh well

There is a clear lack of feedback with the weapons : I can't tell what are the differences, and I don't know how the orientation of my ship affect them.

I also feel it is pretty unbalanced because I was able to get pretty far (wave 8 or 9) by activating all the weapons and pushing the power ratio all the way to the right, switching to "shield mode" only when repears were needed.

Good job overall. It is especially impressive for a first compo :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]