Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Upgrade Zero

by vogon101 - Compo Entry

Your ship is stuck and you're under attack by federation kamikaze fighters!

Defend as long as you can until your shields go down.

WSAD to move, Space or LMB to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#795Humor2.13
#910Audio1.71
#950Theme3.24
#984Mood2.38
#1034Fun2.45
#1045Graphics2.27
#1114Innovation2.14
#1163Overall2.32
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

Scam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

The game is quite easy because the enemies slow down when they get closer to the player. :) I played through several waves before surrendering myself to death.

Some improvement notes if you plan to develop this further: There is no option to quit the game, which is a bit annoying if you are playing in full screen. If I cleared a wave quickly I was left wandering around for a long time before next wave appeared. Some kind of cooldown period for the weapon could be nice so the player would not be able just to keep the space down.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Hey, nice game, I agree that it is really easy, also, the shoot sound made my ears bleed. Aside from that, I like the visuals, simple but nice.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Simple, fun, well Executed

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

Nice little game, you might want to use Pathfinding for the enemies if you plan to develop further! :)

stray says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice game, really cool concept. goodjob

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31am

Simple graphics but clear and effective. Enemies ai is pretty good.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35am

First of all, the simplistic graphical style was rather nice, though the shooting sound was somewhat painful. Having to turn before moving made the ship feel a bit sluggish, though I could understand if this was a design choice.

Unfortunately, I experienced some pathing issues too, with my ship getting stuck out of bounds at the top of the screen for a while, and an enemy moving through an obstacle to the right as well. A quit button would have been nice too.

Shooting waves of ships is always ful, so if you did some more work to improve this and add more enemy types then you could have a pretty cool game on your hands!

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:37am

this is a basic implementation of a top down shooter. quite easy as enemies slow down on approaching you (kamikaze fighters wouldn`t do so, i guess). It seems you have to get to a certain area of the map after clearing a wave to spawn the next one, but i`m not quite sure how it works. You could simplify that by counting alive enemies and starting a timer if the last one dies. Also your shoots get stuck, if you stand with your back on a wall and shoot.

Groydis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59am

Very solid, Game Audio quite irritating. Enemy Movement too slow imo.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

FUN FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:15am

good game ^^

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:50am

Nice little game. I'm not going to lie, the phaser sound was grating. Otherwise, cool.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:46am

This is a good start. Some variety in enemies or enemy attacks would be nice. Additionally, something that detects the end of a wave if all the enemies are cleared would be nice. Driving around blasting walls while the timer counts down drove me to end my play sooner than I think I would have otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]