Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cat-ana

by Valandre - Jam Entry

Cat-ana - Valandre - Jam Entry

Move: Arrows or WASD
Attack: Spacebar
Special jutsu: hold Spacebar
Reset room: R
Fullscreen: F11

----------------------
Cat-ana is our entry for the Ludum Dare #31.
I'ts an action-exploration games, in a japanese futurist world
We searched to mix 3D cell shadding characters and pixel art props.

Rules:
- Activate pressures plates to unlock the doors but beware of the trap
- Find the 5 special items
- Find the secret room


Hope you'll enjoy.

----------------------

Development (Haxe): Bernard "Valandre" Stouls
2D pixel art and texturing : Anais "Sashimi" Maamar
Art, Modeling 3D, Sounds: Etienne "E-MAK" Makowski
Animation 3D: Stephane "Tinois" Videlo

Very best thanks to our bosses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#4Graphics(Jam)4.72
#21Overall(Jam)4.08
#90Mood(Jam)3.77
#123Audio(Jam)3.66
#144Innovation(Jam)3.68
#261Fun(Jam)3.37
#304Humor(Jam)2.98
#310Theme(Jam)3.75

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45am

That is really neat! I like that it stays on one screen but then floats to other levels. - Kintinue

SamCyanide says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

Excellently done mate! Controls are a little stiff, but otherwise, well done!

herofresh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:27am

Graphics were nice
But cats

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27am

Really nice Graphics and Area-Transition Animation.

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12am

Controls are a bit hard but it looks lovely, I can't say no to graphics like these ><

caporaltito says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:53am

Excellent. The graphics are amazing and a really innovative concept. The controls are a bit hard, though. 5/5.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34am

A real neat idea and nicely realized. I loved the graphic style and arens (reminded me of the crusader games!)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34am

It looks cool, I like area animation and how you embedded interface elements to lvl!
But controls are really thing to be tuned.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35am

Cute graphics, very nice animations, theme 100%!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:43am

Amazing graphics and animation! background music creates good mood. Nicely done!

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47am

Could not see the theme. The best graphics so far, almost way to good. LOL It is a good game with allot of depth for being done in less than 72 hours.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

Work always sensational team, congratulations on the game.

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59am

Fantastic graphics! Gives a really great feel to the game and keeps within the theme very well. I did get a bit stuck as what to do, kept going around in circles going where I had already been.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38am

Kudos for allowing both WASD and arrow keys! I am not sure this is a good type of game for diagonal movement, but it was an unusual choice at least.

The room transition sound is VERY loud. I kept turning my sound down.

It sometimes seems possible to get trapped in hitstun and take many hits in a row, especially against a wall or while trying to attack / charge the special jutsu.

I got all the items and found the secret room. Great artwork and animations everywhere!

keyle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Great game! The first level took a few go, I kept going back to the main lobby, didn't see that exit between the two walls. Very impressed by the fact that it's a web game.

deepnight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Your entry looks REALLY good *_* The engine is amazing and even though it's 3D, it really looks like a very beautiful 2D game, well done :)

However, the controls are a bit weird, traditional problem for isometric 3d game. The hero movements are a bit annoying, especially the fact that you have to stick to the grid, and that to move in a particular direction, you have to turn around first, then walk. Too "slow" for an action game like yours. Because of that, battles quickly became less interesting.

I love your room transition effect, but imho, it doesn't fit the theme at all, which is a big problem.

01101101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58pm

It's a very impressive result, both technically and graphically. The whole thing is really cool to experience.
But as others have said, the controls make it hard move properly and enjoy the fights. The links between the rooms are a bit confusing too, but maybe just making the door you came through look different than the new ones would be enough to resolve this.
Overall, great work guys!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Beautiful graphics!

What engine/tools/language did you use to create that?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Fantastic graphical style in this one! Love the transitional effects, especially the walls folding up from behind. I think the grid-based orthagonal movement doesn't do the combat any favours, it feels a tad clunky, and I wish the attacks had more punch to them. Some hit sounds would have been nice. Otherwise though, really well done.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Stopped working (Opera, Firefox, IE11). Just says "Get Flash player". Something happened?

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Hard to control love to play it ! Great entry here art is very amazing good job !

Valandre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59am

Thanks for all your comments,now we know controls is a problem and we work on a solution to make a better experience.

Sorry for people who can't play to the game next to a large number of connections to dropbox. Now problem has been fixed. game is now hosted by a pro server.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Nice game, not sure if the theme is really respected but the execution is amazing.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Wow, very impressive! The artwork is amazing and the level transitions are really cool. I found the combat just a touch awkward, but might just need practice. One of the best games I've played so far!

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Some parts of your music remind me of the transformers theme song, was it on purpose? If yes, great, if no... great!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:56am

graphics and animation were awesome - i could not get attack to work - adding it to my play again list so i can try it later - thanks.

celanova says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:26am

Very well done! Controls are a bit odd as people said, but an interesting mechanic indeed. Doors to other levels are a bit difficult to grasp at first, but once you get it you're in for a heap of fun!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:38am

Cool Graphics!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:47am

Absolutely love this game! I just can't get enough of that transforming animation and all that wonderful graphics! All those funny details! Beautiful! Intriguing! Just wow!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Yes, this is a good one ... the tutorial was a great idea ... we rated high on graphics but we think the theme was not strictly respected, however our congrats :D

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:08pm

This was pretty great. I spent a long time wandering around because the world was so compelling. The controls were really awful--being locked to the diagonal grid just did not work for me. That said, I still have a great time and thought the concept was really amazing.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:24pm

wow ... amazing :)

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:07am

Ok, that just amazing ! Art are awesome, and I love the effect on the level generation. Also really like your use of background elements as menu option. But I'm not fan of the character controller in only 4 directions. Great entry by the way. Congrats !

Raxsus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:10am

Amazing! Did not think this much could be made in such a short period of time.

Xaychru says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Beautiful art and nice music! As previously said, the characters sticking to the grid makes fights less interesting, but the game is still quite fun. (btw the level transition is really cool! :p )

deepnight says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:12pm

PS: about the theme "problem" I mentionned :) It's just a personal point of view. I still consider your game very solid and super impressive as a jam entry ;)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:40am

Very well polished game, loved how the levels came apart and constructed themselves. Graphics and overall look were really nice. Controls are a bit fiddly though.

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Very nice game! I like the level-switching mechanic, this just looks gorgeous!
I had some problems on orienting the sword in the right direction (facing the enemy) because of the iso-tiles.
A great game!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:09am

Very cool and atmospheric!
Like how implemented room switching.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I really enjoyed this game I thought it was a very original idea. I thought that it went on and there wasn't a stopping point but overall it was really good. Also the way to go to different levels is really cool!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Very nice game! Awesome to see a 3D game so polished made in Haxe for Ludum Dare, also good music and sfxs. Controlling a character in an isometric environment with the keyboard is always a little strange, but overall a very good entry. Congratulations!

zemeon12 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:54am

Very nice art style, but odd movement (off grid movement would work way better) keep me form enjoying this.

waxwire says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:18pm

awesome game, i love how what you made of the single screen theme, it's quite pretty and stylish and i like the animations

Lythom says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I'm impressed by the technical level : 3D iso + graphic style combined with the music give this game a very unique and pleasant atmosphere. I had hard time to find the way and move around, and the rythm, jumping from screen to screen, is a bit jerky.
Still a very good entry, thanks for the game !

Ryusui says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:54am

I don't know why playing this made me think "GBA game." Any game that can make me think of one of my favorite gaming platforms ever gets extra points from me. ;)

Just a couple of concerns about the sound design. There should've been SOME feedback for defeating enemies - and that over-loud "MEOW" was irritating after a while. Also, am I the only one who heard a few bars of "Transformeeeeers, More than Meets the Eye!" in there?

spotco says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:44am

REALLY impressive graphics, though gameplay (combat) was on very clunky. Never a good sign when you feel like you need to fight the controls.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Amazing graphics, and the level transitions look fantastic!
Also loved how the tutorial and options were integrated in the game.
Controls need some tuning though.

admix says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:57pm

This looks stunning. Great job!

mechabit says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:30pm

looks amazing and well done on the rps article

Impmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Came here from the RPS article. I love the graphics and the polish. I felt that the controls were awkward, and the fighting was kinda hard. But I felt like it could be expanded into something really nice!

BTW, I got a glitch when I fell on the spikes where the pain sound played a million times in one second.

Anyways, great jam game!

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Great!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:48am

Fabulous ! A potential winner ? :D

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:56am

Ninja cats in a cyberpunk world! Me-oww!!
This game is beautiful and very well crafted! Graphics, sounds, music... Everything is impressive!
Directional controls are a bit difficult at times but that's always the case when dealing with isometric views.
Well done overall!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I'm really impressed by the graphics, they are gorgeous!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I like this concept - how these worlds are created each time in a smooth movement, how the cat is moving and many others things. That is really neat. Well done. One of my favorites (serait-ce par hasard français tout ce beau travail ?)

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:58pm

This game is so, so great in so many ways that it's disappointing that it is weak in other areas. It's one of the downsides to make a really great Jam entry: it gets so good that it's comparable to a shipped, fully polished game, and the comparison is disappointing. Here, the graphics and concept are outstanding and I could see myself buying this game. The downfall is, unfortunately, the gameplay itself: the actual mechanics of moving and attacking. It's not fun. It's really not fun. So you've got the shell of a game with absolutely beautiful and intriguing trappings, but it's empty inside. Fill in this shell with really engaging gameplay and you've got a winner. And "engaging gameplay" doesn't have to be complicated: just better movement and attacking mechanisms are all you need.

Madball says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Amazing game! Control choice is strange, but it's okay. It leads to buggy situations though, like getting stuck in an enemy. Or getting hit by an enemy when exiting a level, it makes walking into animation play twice, and, if I'm not mistaken, after that my character wasn't centered on the tile he's standing on. But an amazing game, anyway! Reminds of old games, but in 3D... I like the space invaders graffiti. I want some story, though. I hope you'll make a post-compo with it and a final boss.

anissen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Really awesome game! Especially the graphics and audio aspects are brilliant. The controls feel a bit clunky.

GFM says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Really polished! I really liked the way you guys changed the world's perspective in each transition, to keep it consistent with the direction you were entering the scene. This, with that amazing transition effect, was a great use of the theme!!

Although I personally found the game kinda slow, the battle system was really worked for me. I'd attack while entering the next tile, to have more range. Also, I'd attack while turning, to hit two tiles at once... Don't know if you guys wanted it to be played like this. XD

The graphics and the audio were great, and I was able to hear some "Sakura sakura" in there. :)

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:25pm

The controls felt a bit off, and I kept hoping for more variety in the gameplay, but this has some professional level production value. I'm impressed.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Reminds me of Bastion and Transistor. Graphics are obviously amazing, but the game was laggy as hell when I played it, which made it pretty unplayable. :/ Couldn't really control it, sometimes my key presses were recognized several seconds too late and sometimes not at all, I couldn't properly fight the enemys and on top of that the two hp/energy bars at the bottom kept going crazy in all directions. Might be just my browser though as nobody else here mentioned such problems. Which is a little strange considering all games so far worked pretty much flawlessly on my machine. But well, I can definitely see it would be pretty awesome without the lagging.. :)

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:14am

Awesome graphics! Nice, atmospheric music, great animations. The mechanics were clever, liked the way it stayed on one screen. Turning around was a bit of a pain though.

Frump says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:53am

I recognize the first song that is covered but I can't place it! The other one is the Transformers theme. Great work!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:19pm

full black screen at the begin, give me the feeling of bug but it's okay. Like the main cat-racter it remember me an old manga.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:42am

YEAAAAH STEPHAAAANE

dpgamingblog says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:40pm

That is really cute and nicley done !!!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:50pm

This is the best game I have played in Ludum Dare! Really well done! Continue to develop it !!! wow.... Awesome!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Cute! Very cool way of moving between levels, awesome models and animations, good mood and simple yet fun gameplay. My only gripe would be hitting enemies was a little unsatisfying, they just... slide away :P audio on hit and a particle effect would go a long way. Otherwise great work! Looking forward to your next entry!

recursor says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:53pm

There are a few collision bugs (at least I think they are bugs) that were a bit frustrating but otherwise this is quite nice. The level loading is quite innovative and well done. I also like the non-bloody deaths of the enemies. Is that sushi that the enemies turn into?

Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:27pm

this is really good! the onlly thing i don't like is the 4-way controls. the controls remind me of an isometric version of the original Startropics.

i think 8-way controls and not limiting to standing on a single tile at once would make the game feel better.

otherwise, love it! :)

Teejay5 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:39pm

ITS SO PRETTY
AND CUTE
I ENJOY THIS
I like the really sharp texture filtering, and the cube transition is wonderful.
I would love to see this become a full thing! :D

apiotrw says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:34am

A really good game. Great art and cute idea. Definitely one of my fav ld games

barryrowe says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:11am

This is really well done. I had to check this out after watching LarryChupacabra cover it. The transition animations are so well done. All of the art looks great. The sound is great, the gameplay is smooth and fun. There's a lot of depth to the game. Very well done.

Lynx says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:25am

Very polished game, honestly the locked isometric movements were a bit weird to get used to but I can't wait to see more!

Definitely release a post-jam version!

Taldius says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:34pm

The graphics are really great, I love it!
But the gameplay tends to become a bit repetitive.
But great work, one of the best looking game I've seen so far! :D

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great entry, especially art, pretty mixing 3D / 2D, really polished for 72hrs
I just think isometric controls with arrows isn't the best game design choice, but despite that nice work !

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:08pm

nice, reminds me of Batman/ Head over Heels, I could not spot the theme though..

-C

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Hey, I really liked your entry! I really liked the blending of 2D isometric with 3D models and the art style you went for, it looks really neat! The part I didn't like about the isometric world was the directions snapped to diagonals and movements made one tile at a time - I think Bastion's control scheme is a good example of controls done right in this kind of game. I really disliked being stunned when hit, it meant there were a lot of situations which resulted in certain death (e.g. an enemy landing on top of you); I'm glad there was little penalty for death though! The music was simple and fit the theme well, I liked it overall. It took a little bit to get used to entering and exiting on the same side of the screen, but I thought that was a great interpretation of the theme. I did find the secret room, shame there was no proper ending when you collected all the trinkets but I had fun along the way. :)

Great work folks, keep it up and good luck!

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Wow ! Impressive !

Great job :)

gameattack says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Waou very good entry guys! I can't believe you did this in 72 hours!
I like the musical references (Did I heard transformers and ghost in the shell in the same soundtrack? awesome)

skilljam says ...
Feb 1, 2015 @ 12:51am

Is that Babymetal in soundtrack? Keep hearing their melody from song Megitsune.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]