Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman Simulator 2014

by sharpcoder - Jam Entry

You are a unique snowflake, traveling through a windy front on a brisk winter afternoon. This is your time to shine. Become that which you desire! Accumulate mass by colliding into your peers, shoot a lazer beam with the mouse button, avoid collision with firey agents of doom that traipse around under the guise of a circular arc thing. Realize your destiny and become - a snowman!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#195Humor(Jam)3.26
#290Audio(Jam)3.23
#319Fun(Jam)3.29
#363Mood(Jam)3.24
#369Graphics(Jam)3.55
#425Overall(Jam)3.29
#437Innovation(Jam)3.13
#942Theme(Jam)2.70

Comments

srakowski says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Banking on the snowman theme? :) Was a lot of fun. Great mood with the snow falling and music. Liked the pew pew's :)

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

Good game. The art came together, which was nice. The sounds were a little ... unthematic, but I guess that adds to the fun. :) Good job!

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

I think you might have started this one before the 48 hours? I'd say this would hit the short list for the snowman theme that's for sure. Nice job!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice work! The whistling made me think there was someone outside of my window though. =p

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

Not much to say that hasn't already been said, but I loved how the hat and glasses awkwardly fell down onto the snowman at the end.

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

When I first started playing the game I actually found myself laughing because of the pew pew pew and sound effects. Art was on spot. Overall good job!

csaunders says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37am

Great looking game, super simple to play and learn.

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Thanks for all the great comments! @Pcholt, no, this wasn't started before :) I just wanted to go with snowman regardless of the actual theme. Though I did try to fit the one screen constraint as well. Kind of.

kevinevans says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

I think all in all, it took us like 10 hours total. Still feel like it'd be better with 3D evil bear faces that attack you and make awkward moaning noises. :3

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Loved the voices, beautiful yet simple art, amazing :)

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Ambient music is so great.
Doesn't fit the theme tho.

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Really gooOOOood...!!

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45am

The whole game-screen didn't fit on my screen, so I had some cut off at the bottom. I love the simple concept, otherwise, and very much appreciate being a winrar while pewwing asplodions. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Very calming music and cute sound effects! Pew pew!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Doesn't fit the theme, but I don't mind. Nice simple gameplay, humorous sound-bites, relaxing music... Overall a solid entry.

Pew... p-pp-pe-pewpew OwOwO-Ow HUAGH! Top laugh :D

ElBatanony says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice work! Really simple and fun!

karol says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:28am

A really cool game. I'm pretty sure it's an accurate depiction of how snowmen are built. Very realistic.

borgi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

Another snowman game :D Very moody music and atmospheric graphics! Good job!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice Idea :D Pew pew... Like sound and the surprising gameplay. Only problem, without zooming out it is very hard to play on a laptop screen ;)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Moving so slowly suits the serene tone the game is going for, but it can be a little frustrating in a shooter. Very atmospheric, nice work!

Meral says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I don't like to see the word "Simulator" abused.

The atmosphere this provides is very relaxing. The voices, music and slow movement contribute very well to this.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Neat Game

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Hi there. Lovely game. Fits perfectly I think. Love the music, very ghost scene in Mr Vampire... Nice generous combat for once. 71.71 grams lv 3... Good job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:38am

This was cute. I found shaking back and forth was the best method to becoming the best snowman I can be. Nice job!

Javabot says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:41pm

really fun to play, sadly not this theme. Would have enjoyed better sounds and a system which prevented me from spamming "pew"s.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]