Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Champions League

by holgk - Jam Entry

Champions League is a battle arena game.

You play as a champion of your choice and try to destroy the main building in the middle od the other team side.
To be successful you can destroy towers and enemys to level up.
Move and attack with left klick on map or target.
Keep in mind to protect your own headquater.

Have fun!


Made with:
- Unity
- Cinema 4d
- Substance Designer
- Audacity
- Photoshop

Additional info:
I usually enter the 48 compo. I started on time but after about 5 hours of work my hard drive died. Not the OS hard drive but my hard drive with all my programming savings and git version control saves. :cry: I tried everything to restart it but nothing worked. The hard drive was only a year in usage so it’s sad that it died at LD. Because of such a desaster I lost a day so I had to enter the jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#518Audio(Jam)2.65
#631Graphics(Jam)3.02
#764Humor(Jam)2.00
#824Overall(Jam)2.80
#849Theme(Jam)3.08
#879Innovation(Jam)2.35
#895Mood(Jam)2.35
#913Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

Impressive work for a game jam, it's a lot of content! :O
The game itself is actually messy and laggy but still fun to play and easy to understand (atleast for a Lol player).

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

thenmal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

Web version isn't loading for me, leaving a note so I can try the standalone version on my home computer later.

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

nice graphics

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33am

This could be fun with some perfromance optimization i think because the game was a bit laggy. It reminds me tower defense games. Not really my type of game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35am

Very atmospheric music though I wish it was a bit longer.
The game itself reminded me of a MOBA game. It was rather laggy to be honest, but pretty fun and easy to understand. Good job!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Like it

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

I don't know what's happening or how I'm supposed help. Is this league of legends?

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48am

Take WAY too long to load, and doesn't even come NEAR fitting on the screen

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58am

Quite a lot done for such a short time, nice work!

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:39am

Omg, takes forever to load, clicked away, I have the attention span of a 10 year old.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

Very laggy but still fun. Sorry to hear about the issues you had. With some optimization, I believe it'd be really well done.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45am

Nice amount of detail for a game jam, though it lacked some personality. And am I the only one getting those giant circles spawning on our side? Nice entry, cheers!

bukt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:49am

Not bad.

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11am

Took a while to load and I don't know how the AI power leveled very quickly, so I lost. Really good job given the tight time frame.

djk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31am

The game is a little slow to load and sluggish to play.
The content in the game is crazy impressive, but I couldn't figure out how to do anything other than watch. I'd left click and see black boxes, but nothing seemed to respond to those boxes.

holgk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I uploaded a smaller version (about half file size). I was able to do so because I had a lot of unused textures in the first build. So loading times should be better.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

good job! but i prefer games that dont base on other games

kaype says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I like the game, and the graphics look good, but you need some serious performance optimizations.

The buttons also aren't very reactive

ohmmus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Just a note that it took 3 minutes to download the web version on a 100Mbit connection. I'd also make the hero not be able to push around creeps, since they can really be used for meat shield for your hero. In any case, great work despite the hard drive failure! That takes some determination to pull through like that!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice game with good potential. Maybe someday I will play at big game like LoL made by you. Good luck!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46pm

impressive work in term of content. the game it self was running slow here. also I did not get who Iam or what is exactly the goal.

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I'm not sure how it works :(
Looked like it was going to be fun.

Madball says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59pm

That's bizarre. Our team had 14 kills with only 2 kills by enemies, and they had greater levels than us!
Seems like you did a good job. It's a pretty difficult genre to make in three days, but you wasn't afraid of it. However, it doesn't give you any bonus points. But there are some bugs and flaws, those, I think, you would be able to avoid if you had made a simpler game.
Sometimes you can attack without a cooldown. Sometimes enemy minions form large traffic jams. And what are those giant white circles? Any why 1337 minions and an AI player at the enemy base didn't do a single point of damage to buildings?
This game will be much better that an average LD game after more development, but it's not the best choice for rapid development. Anyway, it was fun to play. But you probably can feel the rage in my comment. Out team was winning all the time, and now enemies are level 26 while we are level 16! Ahhhh so imbalanced.

popcorn897 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:30pm

It's okay. I think it'd be tough to understand if you didn't know MOBAs

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Kind of a shame that you made such nice models for the champions and that you only get to see them as really tiny figures in-game :(

playvue says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Web version crashes during loading on MacOS. And OS/X download link can't be found. Sorries!

holgk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Sorry! Fixed the Mac download link. Had a typo in the filename on the server. I can't say what's the problem with the web player.

TimtheBo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:13pm

This looks promising. However, it felt as though my team did all the work and I just watched; I wasn't really drawn into the game. With a bit of rebalancing this colud be great!
The music is nice, but I don't think it fits the map.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:10am

Felt a little slow. Perhaps up the player movement a bit.
Nice job, though!

pht59x says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 7:28am

Lovely sound atmosphere and visually great. As others said it, the gameplay is slow.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]