Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

9Screens

by stasss - Jam Entry

Switch Channels, grab stars

Soundtrack (Ludum Dare - Robert del Naja - BC (RAW))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Innovation(Jam)3.96
#87Theme(Jam)4.11
#338Humor(Jam)2.91
#342Mood(Jam)3.27
#379Fun(Jam)3.22
#561Overall(Jam)3.14
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

stasss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

Just concept

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

really cool and intresting game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

I love the concept, the only problem is it can be hard to control, but it's still a fun game!

viclw17 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09am

very cool concept

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Interesting concept, would be better if you could select the direction instead of having to click upto 3 times :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Nice work, loved the gameplay. Could have used something like "you died!" on the death screen or something, or some animation to show that I got killed by changing a screen I was already inside (or by the demon face) High marks for theme!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I really like this game! The only thing I'd change is having the bad guy indicate where he's going to spawn onscreen before he does. I ran into him several timed before I realized what was going on. Also, clicking multiple times to change arrows wasn't great. But I had a lot of fun with this one!

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Reminds me of those pipe games with the flowing water. At some point I got on a roll and barely had to click anything while I got 4 or 5 stars, but a red face eventually got me :(

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:14am

definitely reminds me of the oldschool pipe flowing game, and cool use of "screens" for the theme

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice game, large chance to lose when directing the sprite to closely makes you strategize safe paths and such

fil00dl says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:00pm

a really interesting concept in accordance with the theme

krighxz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Great concept and use of the theme! Quite addictive too! The direction of the arrows is a bit hard to internalise, but this may have been your intention. I wonder how the gameplay would change if something more intuitive was used like click + arrow keys, or swipe in direction of flow, and if it would be more fun that way. Nice job!

Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:38am

The game gets difficult in few minutes for me, great use of the theme though. Thumbs up.

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:42am

Not bad, seriously, the concept is fun and simpple, good job

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Somewhat innovative concept, good way to deal with the theme and overall quite interesting to play. I wasn't really sure how the screens react to clicks, if the new direction is a random one or predictable in some way, but I still managed to get 10 points and had some fun while doing so. Good work.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Intresting

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

concept nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]