Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Count Explodem in : "From Behind"

by schizokoa - Jam Entry

A top-down shooter with a twist.
Since all my game jam games up to now have been one screen games... Well, let's say I might have taken the theme a bit too seriously.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#267Fun(Jam)3.36
#286Mood(Jam)3.35
#292Humor(Jam)3.00
#369Graphics(Jam)3.55
#390Innovation(Jam)3.21
#414Overall(Jam)3.31
#418Theme(Jam)3.64
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:25am

The shots feel good!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13am

Everything looks great and shooting feels good. But after playing for a minute nothing happened, no enemies...

schizokoa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Yup, sometime, monster spawning just break, I know the reason, but the jam is now closed... Just reload and it should work.

Slothradamus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:40am

Loved the art style, and when I got attacked by a bunch of extra spawns. Got the spawn bug once but reloaded and it was fine. Great game!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:38am

Very nice!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Nice game and great art.

raxter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:25am

Omg such a great idea! Music, sound, game feel is all very well executed!

The idea is great, manically dragging bits around and using them to shoot things. I did die quite suddenly after like a billiin enemies rushed me at once , donno if that was intended :p

But great idea! would have actually liked a larger play field to drag the boxes around in, felt a bit crowded at times.

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Hah, loved the quips at the beginning of the level! Also a nice twist on the common top down shooter formula, though it was a bit confusing at first. The music and sound were also spot on, even if you opted out for them :)

Night says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:02pm

I like graphics and sound.

jotson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Love the gun.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Me gusta la música excelente. Los gráficos adecuados. Muy bien conseguido el juego.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:34am

Pretty fun. Took me awhile to get that I could drag everything around. Second time around had a bit of a bug where nothing would spawn. My top score was 690! The gun felt really good to fire with the graphics and sound attached to that.

01rafael says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:38am

Annoying blocks! I can't achieve this gameplay. But anyway this is great concept, nice graphics and awesome music!

Budaniel says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:04am

I like your take on the theme. It controls well, looks good and plays well. My only complaint is that after dying and starting again, I got one baddie and then no more spawned. Overall, I like it.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:55am

nice game, fun to play:)

gameattack says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:22pm

"It's time to kick ass and chew bubble gum... and I'm all outta gum" he would say :) Very fun game. I just wish the character could run and shoot faster.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]