Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Off Screen

by Bogden - Compo Entry

A twist on classic survival arcade games. The screen is your weapon.

Controls: WASD or Arrow Keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Overall3.86
#68Fun3.79
#117Innovation3.89
#129Audio3.48
#402Mood3.10
#404Theme3.71
#545Graphics3.11
#768Humor2.19

Comments

nuno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53am

I can only rate your game in "Humor" and "Mood" is it supposed to be like this?

funkysquid says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56am

Awesome! But it's weird it only lets me rate for Humor and Mood?

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59am

Oh my god! I totally meant to opt OUT of Humor and Mood. Accidentally opted out of everything else :P

Should be fixed now!

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00am

It's a shame you only unlocked the rating for the humor and mood cause it's a really good game. It's a little slow for me, but watching the explosion of colors just feels delightful.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05am

Great game! Loved the music and idea!
Somehow this was really slow on linux & chrome, had to make browser smaller to get more than 1fps.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:06am

Good game.
Sometimes the start of the scene was too unfair, fast. And once you left the critical mass there was no difficulty left but you still have to reach the end, which takes some time. What I want to say is, balancing the distribution could make the game even better.

NuSan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19am

Impressive idea, with simple but beautiful art. All those color exploding are great. I love the music too.

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56am

the best I saw so far ! as good as mine almost :P

tedling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58am

cool game! Music is good, game is fun and addictive. Only thing: I had some weird frame drops from time to time, but this could also be an issue with my browser.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02am

Very addicting. I got stuck at think outside of the screen. The explosions of colour on the screen was very cool.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03am

nice game!

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:12am

I'm with tedling here, this is great!

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36am

Just an update after rating... 200% BAM!
http://i.imgur.com/5UVmKaC.png

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:41am

Holy cow furriKira. I'm impressed!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58am

Great and simple concept! The stylish look is really fitting!

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16am

It is really FUNNY
great graphic, sound.
Nice job man

Manou says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17am

Very hard !

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50am

great, it's clear and effective

Lolwned says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58am

Really awesome idea, simple yet fun. The music is also great. Good job !

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59am

Really really great game! Simple yet addicting; love it!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21am

This is in my top games, well done. It's an incredibly simplistic concept, backed with a simplistic art style. It's extremely addictive and fun to play. Well done sir.

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36am

Really really fun to play. It gets ridiculous after 50% in the topleft, haha. Music is really catchy!
I quickly found that the "right" way to play this game is to hold down Up or Down while dodging to the sides. I just had to keep tabs on the orange little devils while the other circle types were basically just clutter :)

Great game! I'll come back and play more later of this for sure - gotta rate more games first!

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Amazing game! Graphics, music, game mechanics: everything is minimalistic yet solid.

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I love the simplistic graphics, music and you nailed the theme perfectly! Fairly challenging and really fast paced. It's one of those ideas where I ask myself "why didn't I think of that, it's genius!" And the difference in behavior for the enemies allowed for the game to never get boring even if I had to restart a bunch of times! So incredibly well done, fantastic work!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Got to 85% ) It gets really hard there.
I like the polished look of this game, really got me sucked!

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Super game. really like the changes in motion of the enemy waves. Amazing what you can do with just blobs - it looks great!

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The game looks amazing and the concept is really good but you can exploit the game by just going downwards all the time :)

Bogden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18am

@swedishbacon Only up to level 12 ;)

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

Really adictive game! Great aesthetics, music and also really addictive. Latter levels are really challeging: they make me don't want to stop playing until I beat them all!

brombatti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Very addictive. Every new screen the beginning is always a desperation. Great jobalho

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50am

Really enjoyed it, best take on the theme so far. :D
Very well done. :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:37am

Made it to "Onslaught". Then the rage set in. Great implementation of the theme.

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:49am

Solid mechanics! I found myself playing this game a lot more than I expected myself to. Nice work!

Wir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:51am

same here, made it till "Onslaught".

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:15am

That was fun! Stopped after several Onslaught restarts as well.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:04am

Sweet game. A lot of different enemy behaviours for the allocated time. I beat "The End" but "After The End" was just too hard for me.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Cool idea, I like the little text prompts before each wave too! I realised about halfway in that you could pretty much just hold 'Up' and escape most of the wave before it materialised, but I stopped that to experience what you'd put together properly! Very challenging & fun.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Way too hard after 42%. Nice style and music though.

BretHudson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Wow, this is definitely my favorite compo game of LD31. I spent somewhere around 40 minutes, and finally gave up at Beyond The End 1.

My favorite enemies were the orange ones (Tricky Little Buggers), since they not only solved my only complaint up 'til that point (that once you clear a maze of enemies, it's super easy to win by just continuing in one direction), but also were interesting in the sense that you have to use their own inertia against them.

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

awesome entry!

good difficulty curve! :-)

stuck at onslaught for now, gonna try to get further (I like how you put a progress percentage in the game, if not I'd have thought this is the last level, meaning I would quit because I'd have seen it all :p now I need to continue xD)

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:48pm

I need to know, did you ever complete beyond the end 4? xD

and how many are after it? :D

I neeeeeed to know :p

or I lose my life

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:26pm

ok I am not at beyond the end 7..

this is getting out of hand

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:26pm

8... :p

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:26pm

starting to lose my sanity,

not sure I had any to begin with

(help)

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Well polished and addicitve little game you made there! Very nice!

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Really nice game :)

radmars says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:32am

Surprisingly fun and addictive! I didn't think much of it at first but after a few levels I was addicted. Can't believe I managed to beat it! GG :D

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Hi there. Basically impossible, hard-core only. Like the sounds.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Really great! Unfortunately I had to make my browser's window really small to get it working at some reasonable speed but still it was pretty good experience! Big + for the idea and theme implementation, nice simplistic graphics too.. Good job

jepster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:59am

Holy shit, this game is so addicting! And so goddamn annoying! In a really, really good way!
10/10 would smash computer again.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:00am

This is an excellent game! I imagine developing it must also have been really fun. I made a game recently for another jam, called Gunship Souls. I also used drawing primitives and had a very dodge focused style of play, so I know how much fun it is to build these up.

Really cool use of the theme! I loved the way the edge of the screen looked, too. Thanks!

krighxz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Nice difficulty curve and very well executed game! Kind of unrelated to compo, but this would make a really nice example to work through for teaching OOP :) Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]