Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Clouded Day

by valid4life - Jam Entry

This is my first game made with Unity!
Coming from a more standard JAVA / LibGDX setup, this was quite refreshing and fun!

I was only able to work Friday night and Monday but thats okay. For the limited time i had, i got a lot done!

Game Story:
You walk outside of your hut to find clouds everywhere. Of course you yourself ride a cloud, but why the sudden outbreak?

You then your'e missing the medallion of the sky!
You must go and clear the clouds while finding the medallion on your journey.

Game Controls:

WASD / Arrow Keys for movement
Space for Jump

M to Mute.

Credits:
Valid.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#632Graphics(Jam)3.00
#864Overall(Jam)2.75
#871Innovation(Jam)2.38
#896Fun(Jam)2.44
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

gana0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

Nice platformer! Unfortunately I wasn't able to make it to the end because one of the boxes got pushed up against a wall with no way to get it out.

MT Kinyon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

^same

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46am

Couldn't play the native Mac version, probably because my OS is too recent(Yosemite 10.10.1). So I played the web version.

Good ideas, but the fact that you're floating but still are "touching the ground" make it feel weird. I would like to see an indicator when you touch the ground, in the form of a visual icon, or an animation.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47am

Couldn't play the native Mac version, probably because my OS is too recent(Yosemite 10.10.1). So I played the web version.

Good ideas, but the fact that you're floating but still are "touching the ground" make it feel weird. I would like to see an indicator when you touch the ground, in the form of a visual icon, or an animation.

Nice graphics!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54am

Cute art and pretty solid gameplay. However, you should really put a physics material on the players collider and set friction to 0. Its annoying when you stick to ledges and walls. Might mess up pushing those boxes but you get the idea.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:37am

Good work on the physics and graphics, but the controls felt glitchy and frustrating. In the end I got stuck in the ceiling and couldn't move

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:56am

Nice job, very cute graphics and lively colors. The sound was nice as well, though the tune was bit short and ended up being repetitive after multiple loops. The gameplay was fine but I got stuck twice by pushing a block against a wall.

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice game, well done. Especially good graphics and music.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:40pm

XD thats lovely platform game!.) Also check my project if you have some time mate x) thanks.

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Yea, like the other, broke the game with the box. Real problem that would need to be fixed (even during the jams so you wont lost votes like this)

Replayed it and finished it.
As some other said, being in a cloud but physically touching the ground, pushing boxes and jump feels weird really.
Graphics are kinda nice though! :)

(Oh and.. Did you forgot what the theme was..?)
Overall it was quite fun, but there's some issue that would need to be fixed.

Waschtl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:13pm

It has potential, but at the moment it's kind of repetitive (see other comments). Pushed the box against the wall too, so I couldn't finish.
But: For a first game, this is good. Keep on dev'ing! :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:55pm

You made some cute graphics there. The controls were tricky, sometimes it felt that it's not working. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]