Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

cover

by thristhart - Compo Entry

(instructions given in game - it autosaves too so you can leave and resume any time)

click to summon snowflakes

drag the snowline up to create snowmen

drag snowmen down to create blocks

drag blocks in any direction to make different buildings

click labs to open research

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#157Mood3.46
#187Fun3.54
#189Overall3.62
#229Innovation3.62
#469Theme3.66
#495Graphics3.18

Comments

Blockers says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:55pm

i wasn't expecting so much depth from such a simple little game. its minimal, but its great

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:37am

Cookie clicker * snow = fun!

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

Nice, I like how you turned the classic cookie clicker formula into a spatial game

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32am

A pleasant experience. Some ambient audio would have been nice, especially for a game this atmospheric.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

Nice user interface. Very original and fun to play!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42am

Fun little game, and a surprising level of depth. Well done!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

Wow did not expect a clicker for this one. Super cool. Love the controls, GREAT in-game tutorializing. I played for way too long (beat the game though).

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:45am

Great concept! It's riddled with bugs that make it really difficult to play, especially on small screens. However, the main mechanic and the story is so compelling that I pushed through (constantly resizing my screen to get the game to work) to the finish. Great Job!

greysphere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46am

Really well done. The ui had a fun feel to it. I had a few minor issues with clicks not registering. Really enjoyed it.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Like graphics style .. x)and mechanics.. GOOD. if you have time also check my "weird tower defense" :-D

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Oh no it is a better made cookie clicker game! I'm not going to have time to play another game. :P
Really good and fun game.

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Not a big fan of idle-games But this one was actually quite fun!

bofink says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Really addiciting game! :D

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Amazing! Love the start where a single click makes a single snowflake. Controls get pretty wonky, but it's a great game.

JamesOfJames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:48am

Great one! Not sure what to do after I walked away and the snow's filled the screen - will I ever get to see the battle with the warmbloods?

codebakemono says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice and simple, a very good game all in all
Controls could be a little better but other than that spot on :)
also if you are interested my team made a game based on Clicking to beg and buying robot parts to impress different people while avoiding the police.
heres the link :) looking forward to your feedback http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=20999

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Hi there. Fantastic winter-themed game... Shame there's no sounds/music. Excellent idle game. Well done!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:39pm

love it, very creative, but it would be better with some sound to complement the mood. Well done

pht59x says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I found it to be a very mouse-testing experience. A lot of clicking and not that much snow... Maybe global warming has to do with it.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:59pm

cookie clicker for the winter, nice work

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Loved it.
In particular the minimalist aspect of the game.
It's really something I would have never have expected from the theme :p
Great job!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice game. I never really did find out what sticks did, but after a while of spamming stormcallers, my world got entirely buried in snow, and I couldn't get it back. You were expecting the theme to be Unicode snowman, weren't you? ;)

Louisload says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:57pm

i liked this game very much, very creative concept.
a music would be a great addition to set a better mood.

Logun says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:12pm

A very good cliker/upgarde game. I am a bit lost about what I have exactly to do (there is a end ?), but i liked it !

Teesquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I played this way more than I thought I would. I had to fight some browser weirdness with the click and dragging but finally figured it out. Snowmen got in the way of interacting with the buildings and blocks. I had several blocks created that I couldn't access due to overlapping buildings. It got really crazy when the snow filled too fast. My snowmen were ready for battle though. Great job.

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I love your game ... !!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:50pm

I loved this. Greqt concept. I did go afk a few minutes, and when I came back my army of storm callers had whited out my entire screen, and I was unable to "drag" my way out of it. Have you considered releasing this to mobile? Very great job!

Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:03am

Think the minimalist look works well with the snow. Wasn't expecting so much depth and liked the way the lab research had a lot of variety.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]