Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Victorian Circus

by ilokimo - Jam Entry

Hear Hear!
The Circus has finally reopen after last weeks tragic "incident".
A practitioner of the fine art of surgery has saved the best parts for your eyes only.
Come witness the magnificent power of science over life and death!


Team:
Kimo Boissonnier, Game Design, Animations
Sami Anttila, Programming
Emilien Rotival, Graphics
Kalle Boissonnier, Music and Sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#32Graphics(Jam)4.51
#118Audio(Jam)3.67
#120Humor(Jam)3.52
#194Mood(Jam)3.51
#266Overall(Jam)3.49
#277Innovation(Jam)3.43
#497Theme(Jam)3.56
#577Fun(Jam)2.95

Comments

muhwu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

Amazing! :D

Anikki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31am

Great visuals.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Really cool! Took a bit long to understand the timing of the game, but love the game-related music, and graphics!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26pm

graphic is nice!

moldfire says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09pm

This was a great game.

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12pm

This game was ridiculous. I loved the whackiness of the concept and was surprised with the combinations. There were some problems with duplicates behind the animations but nothing game breaking.

Really great art, too!

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Sweet visuals ! Took me some time to understand the point of the game, but when you get it, it's very pleasant :)

Congrats !

(the music is awesome too)

ilokimo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Yeah we had a big problem with the animation import, the plugin is early alpha to import that sprite animation, so our animations are full of glitches. The good thing is that now we have all the time in the world to fix these small things and add the gameplay elements we wanted how we wanted. Thanks for the comments everyone!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Poor Kittie!!! ><

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Great combination of sound and visuals, but you should improve the Hitboxes

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I like the graphics, very nice style.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Great art!

nov1kk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

nice artwork!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

FaNtAsTiC visuals and game play. Solid entry. I wish some categories had more that 5 stars.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Good job. Great artwork and engaging music. The game-play needs some polish, it's hard sometimes to make the creature jump when you want. I like the concept, so I'm waiting for the final version. ;) Keep working, make us, players happy! :P

StMatn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Awesome work!

The graphics look really great!
Collision detection could be a bit better.
I had a small bug, where the rear of my animal would disapear, when dashing and the front arm was displayed in front of the obstacles (rear: zebra; front:gorilla)
The audio sets the mood really well.
Some explanation on the mechanics of earning party would have been nice. On my 2nd try I was disapointed, that I wasn't able to use the just earned tucan part. On the 3rd try I asked myself, why the game didn't give me the gorilla rear. Then I noticed, that you don't always get the game over screen and understood, that you use up the given parts and loose the game if you are missing a front or rear part.

All in all really great work!

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

the art is awesome! the gameplay could need a little polish, but still a nice game for a jam.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Very comfy graphics :) (5/5 for that)

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:13am

Ey, great game. I love the crazy combinations and the music. Maybe the gameplay is too simple compared to the wonderful idea, but good job!

Forge says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:13am

Amazing graphics, fantastic concept, innovative and smooth gameplay. An instant new fav! Great Job!

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:22am

When the window is scaled at less than ~1200x760 the lever and selection boxes were hidden behind the animal selector for me. I eventually figured it out. A+ for weirdness, humor, and art for sure though.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:02pm

OMG I like the idea a lot haha, the graphics are super creepy which fits perfectly :P

peterthehe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Excellent graphics

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Graphics are slick

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Awesome entry. Great art and hilarious concept. The only major flaw in the game is that the collision detection is very wonky, sometimes your creature just takes damage from walls even though they didn't even touch them.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Beautiful graphics. Really cool hybrid animal concept.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Good artwork, music, liked the theme.

Controls were boring and the gameplay not really that exciting. Graphics glitchy at times, music cut out. Solid artistry, programming needs work.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:27am

nice art

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:45am

The graphics is so great!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:49am

Fantastic visuals, nice job!

scias says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:38pm

If you did everything by yourself you deserve a big pat on your back, this is probably the best game I've played so far, a shame it's not in the compo : )

kaa says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Thats hilarious!! Very good graphics!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:23pm

@Scias, We were a team of 4, so no, I didn't do everything myself :) but yeah, we works hard and this would have not been possible to create in compo with our skills :D

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Pretty unique idea. Gameplay feels a little rough, but it's fun. The art and design is pretty gorgeous too.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:26pm

The animations are a bit too rough, sometimes the giraffe has too heads, and some legs disappear, and the gameplay is weird, I don't think I understood everything that was happening.

Good mood in general with the circus feel, using the credits and game explanation as a way to introduce the circus.

The game is extremely beautiful as still images, congratulations to the artist, amazing job.

ilokimo says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:04pm

animation problems are an issue with unity importing and corrupting some of the animation, I added a post jam version with corrected stuff

Zayron says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:06pm

This was fun and the graphics/art work was very nice.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Quirky and interesting, I like the concept. :) good job!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:13am

Fantastic visual design, madcap antics and great music make this a joy to play. The only thing that really bothered me was the mixing of fonts and the difficulty of actually playing the game - it took some time to learn which parts did what, but often at the cost of a game over. I laughed at all the newspapers, so you're doing something right there. :P

Good job everyone, keep it up!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:17am

Astounding graphics, great idea! The animation is done pretty well too, nice work. The gameplay itself is a little bland, since it only consists of jump and dash. It was hilarious though, nice work. :)

friken says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:44pm

fantastic visuals. The controls were a bit off. jumping worked but not sure what dash did?

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Beautiful artwork! Insane, very creative idea, enhanced by the music.
Also - nice typography.

uvwar says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

I didn't see what dashing was doing, or if it was helping me at all, and it seemed like you basically had to pick a certain order of animal parts to progress at all, or else you couldn't realistically jump over some of the obstacles. Also at some point my music just stopped playing. Otherwise, really cool aesthetic and sound!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Very interesting, great graphics!
There isn't much to the gameplay and I find it very easy.
Some animations are a bit glitchy.
I think the parts you have chosen should be highlighted, because I didn't understand that right away, also make the lever more noticeable when you can use it.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

Great game. Congratulations. Excellent graphics and fantastic music.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:02am

Awesome job, guys--the atmosphere was excellent! It's a shame the text prompts weren't lined up in time for submission, though.

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

Ok this is epic! Great idea guys! A little sad too to be honest :(

GarethIW says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I really like the graphical and audio style.

-C

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]