Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bomber

by xaedes - Compo Entry

My interpretation of the theme was "Entire Game in One Screen" as in game screen. So I wanted that all game state related and the whole story telling in to one screen fitted. I imagined text information into the world placed. In the post-compo version this is somehow implemented.

For the compo version:
Not very much to play, I apologize.
Wasted too much time fighting with Unity^^

Controls:
WASD, or arrow keys
Click or Ctrl to drop bombs

After submission bugfixes: As the commenters said, the explosion is somewhat crucial, so I fixed this for the compo entry. The boxes are now also blocking as intended.

----
Stack:
- Unity (thanks to LudumDare key)
- Sometimes SublimeText3
- Audacity
- SmartGit
- Git
- Gitlab
- Github

----
Post-Compo:
I decided to get rid of all the Unity related Physics, Collisions and Nav, because that only caused problems for me and I only wanted a simple 2D movement anyway.
Also I added some levels.
Plus: there is music!

The first levels teach you how to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#597Humor2.43
#714Audio2.41
#873Fun2.74
#984Graphics2.41
#1000Mood2.34
#1041Overall2.65
#1081Innovation2.24
#1176Theme2.33

Comments

Phaax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

Funny sound effects, haha.. Prrwwhwh!
With a bit of polish this could be a fun game. Didn't match the theme though. ;)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05am

Nice attempt, I really like the character animations. I guess you were going for a bomberman-type game? I actually liked the all-white material, not sure if it was done on purpose but I think it has good potential.

devshawn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08am

I really laughed at the sound effects! Pretty nice, would love more to play though!

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43am

The sound effects! Perfect :)
Also, the animations are quite cute. I like it.

It's a shame that it's not really playable. A large part of the work is already done. Do you plan to finish the game later? It could be a fun game.

xaedes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I put some more work into it, to polish the post compo a bit. It's is now playable - but short. There even is music now, lol^^

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Am I missing something, or are the bombs missing explosion effects? Also you can walk through the blocks, which is a bit confusing (played the compo version).

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Something like this definitely has potential, but I felt some things about it were off. It took me a while to figure out that I had to click to place bombs, I feel like it should be mapped to a key on the keyboard too, like Space or Enter. On top of that, I couldn't figure out exactly when the bombs were exploding, maybe a particle effect or something visual to show they were exploding would work, rather than just disappearing. The sounds were very quiet too - I had to have my volume turned right up just to hear them, and even then, they sounded a bit weird. However, the character animation was very cute, it gave the blocky character some sense of personality almost with the way it walked. It has potential, with a bit of polish. (I'm of course rating the competition version, not the post-comp). I definitely saw the strong Bomberman influence from it though. A potentially cool entry, but a little off. Still, good work though.

xaedes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

@arzi - Yes indeed, the particlesystem responsible for the explosion effects didn't work in the webplayer for whatever reason. That is fixed in the post compo. Also, blocks are blocking there^^

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

It's like a bomberman brawl.
The idea is good, but it wasn't well executed.
As other have said, the explosion fx doesn't work and that's crucial for a game like this. The enemies keep killing themselves and you never die if you run around placing bombs.
(rated the compo version)

paps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:20am

fun game it's the beginning of something. To bad you didn't finish

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27pm

@el-pepi, you are right - the explosion fx shouldn't be missing. As others have also mentioned that, I decided to fix that bug for the compo entry. Btw: You where always able to kill the enemies with your bombs too; all the bombs have limited range though..

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Hi there. Not much to play, it is very simple with some little problems in the mechanics, but has a good felling and has a potential as clone of bomberman .

The post compo version gives a good addition to the official one. Good job.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:10am

Really nice entry, the 3D art fitted right into the game (maybe some textures would be nice). Also, I think a bomb-limit would be nice, as you can run around the screen putting bombs, and win instantly :P

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

explosions are weird but, in fact, really cool.
The mechanics need more reflexion maybe.

Wakka says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:57pm

love that little paperboy like guy. Animations be a bit faster

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Hi there. Like the bomb seeding. Like the explosion sound. Good job!

edve98 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:19pm

am I the only one who thought that in this game it's really easy not to die?

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Nice graphics syle. I think it could benefit a lot with added multiplayer. Also great improvment in post compo version, loved the acapella song :D

IcyLava says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Once I realized that you can just hold the mouse button to place the bombs it got really easy... also, it seems the bombs don't blow up each other, maybe if they would it would be harder to just make a trail of bombs. As for the sounds, it's really not that hard to generate some with bfxr, you can usually make a passable one just by clicking on one of the effect names. But good work, I really liked it :)

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Very simple game, felt like it needs more stuff though... Blasting enemies on an empty level with just a small range bomb isn't exactly too promising. Other than that, it was enjoyable.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:15pm

The music is really cool and the graphics are cute as well, but the enemies felt unnecessarily hard to kill. :(

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:44pm

The post-compo starts to be interesting.

Lynx says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:24am

Interesting concept, I can see the reference, would be a fun game when you get it all polished up. I do enjoy trapping the little guys in corners and running away!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Death sound effect is nice!

Maybe you should've done some practising before LD began, then you wouldn't have spent as much time fighting with unity

StackAttack says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:24am

Interesting game - nice sound effects - not sure how well it really fits with the theme

Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:45am

Scored 22, just had fun placing infinite bombs while holding the mouse button. Made me felt a nostalgia to the classic bomberman game. Nice :D

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]