Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

0000 : Press Z

by alvarop - Compo Entry

This game will challenge you.

VIDEO : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DXp92jcM7A
*********************************************************
0000 : PRESS "Z" is a frantic, hectic, fast-paced, minimal, low-rez and [add another adjective of your choosing] platformer. It's also my entry for Ludum dare 31 "Entire Game on One Screen". The game was made over 48h and I had a lot of fun making it.

It was made using Scirra's Construct 2, bfxr and paint.
*****************************************************

PRESS "F" for FULLSCREEN (RECOMMENDED)

PRESS "M" to MUTE

The game has GAMEPAD support. If you want / need it. I would recommend it.

Move with arrows
SHOOT Z
JUMP X
DOUBLE JUMP X X


**********************************************************************

If you like it, let me know on Twitter : @theotheralvaro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#75Fun3.77
#97Overall3.76
#215Mood3.34
#260Graphics3.57
#458Audio2.88
#490Innovation3.22
#957Theme3.23

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Been waiting to play this game :D
Very awesome, I love it!

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Love the style and graphics with fitting sound effects. Needs a great bleepy-blop soundtrack for a perfect old school mood :-) Overall really fun game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

I seem to be able to move between levels without doing anything, seemingly at random? Kind of confusing. Nice overall vibe and aesthetic, though.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

An interesting game with solid mechanics!

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

@alexfalkenberg you died? When you die, a new level is generated around you. Goes with the whole "whole game in one screen" thing.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

So hard! In all the right ways... Very nice, old school vibe.

ArcadEd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Great work Alvarop, like spacedoubt says, Hard is all the right ways!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03am

I never played it, but the picture looks nice.

5/5 stars.

Will you play mine now?

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05am

Good game. Well done. I was a little surprised by the screen at first, but when in full screen it made more sense :) Good job

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08am

This is really great, I love the move-if-you-move enemy.

Managore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:13am

This is amazing! Really cool implementation of a great concept.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:31am

WOW. This game is crazy. And frustrating. Yet satisfying each time you beat a level. Great job. Although, I gave up when I had two rooms left to go...

Crefossus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16am

All the things I said on stream + I like the particles.

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:55am

Best game I've played so far.

jpmit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Very cool.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Great job. Sweet game.

colludium says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great job!

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09pm

It's very confusing at the start, and sometimes you get teleported to 3 different levels instantly. But it's interesting how you can use the teleporting by dying as a strategy.

iostream says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48pm

The graphics are very clean and cute, and consistent mechanics makes it easy to understand what is going on and get into the gameplay.

Being thrown into another level on death is a good way of keeping the experience fresh for longer, as trying to get past the same obstacle over and over and over gets old quickly--especially when the levels are really hard like these.

However, the controls are way too sensitive and twitchy. Making any kind of precision jumps are pretty much impossible. I got stuck on the level with platforms going up and monsters going sideways. Standing at the bottom trying to jump onto the lowest two platforms wasn't the most fun I've had in a while. When I finally managed to get on top of one, I couldn't release the key before I was already flying off the other end...

I don't see the point in getting back to an already solved level, as it's just wasting time when you just have to die or reach the goal again, and doing that enough times is just as boring as getting stuck on a hard obstacle.

Overall it's a nicely designed collect 'em up platformer which I'd like to beat some day!

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Really cool idea. Took me a while to get it though. The controls could also have been a bit tighter considering how important platforming was to this game.

zatyka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52pm

That was a lot of fun. I found it challenging without being overly frustrating. The level design was clearly well thought out. I think black and white graphics were a great choice, as it fit with the whole retro look, were probably easy to create, and most of all, you managed to make them look good. Even the little particles really added to the experience.

I did get stuck once while playing my first time through. When transitioning levels, I got stuck in one of the shooters, and had to restart. No big deal though, it didn't happen the rest of the time I played.

My only gripe is that the theme didn't really feel represented. The game really did have multiple level, despite the player remaining in the same spot on the screen. Please don't think that stopped me form enjoying it, as it really was a great idea, and executed very well.

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56pm

@zatyka Glad you enjoyed it. I felt like this idea went with the theme, as you're always in the "same screen" but the level around you regenerates. Maybe it doesn't work as well as I thought though, but yeah... that was my interpretation of the theme. Thanks for the kind comment!

uvwar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:51pm

The air speed and pushback from the gun were giving me all sorts of trouble in trying to position myself, but otherwise a nice and awesome looking game!

Thermite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35am

Lovely style, and a really smart death mechanic. Fools your brain into thinking you're not being punished. Very nice work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Really liked moving on to different screens when I died. Nice game! I Included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/v6qOf-i7cO4

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

This is quite polished, runs very smoothly, and it is an interesting idea to warp to other levels instead of dying.

I have a few suggestions if you are interested:

* I probably didn't realize there was a double jump until playing a few levels. You might want to mention that in the instructions on the webpage, unless I just missed it.

* Being able to use WASD for movement and a different key for firing would be really nice. Arrow keys are uncomfortable for me to use to play games, though I saw you mention gamepad support.

* Once you have completed most levels, it becomes a bit tedious to die or finish levels over and over until you get the one level you are actually looking for. This may just be my opinion however.

Overall good job! Nice consistent, minimalistic, visual style.

Odefus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10am

Solid game. It simply felt whole from start to finish. Really liked the simple aesthetic. Definitely among the better games I've tried so far.

The only gripe I've got with it is getting thrown in to already finished levels quite a lot towards the end. It got pretty frustrating as I was yet to finish only one of the levels. I understand you could maybe use the position of your death on the finished levels to make the unfinished ones easier, but you can never be sure that's where you'll end up next. Making it throw you in to an unfinished level at least every second time would be nice.

randomdragoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34am

I beat the game. It's pretty fun and a good challenge.

I'm not sure if you ever say you have the ability to double jump. It's easy enough to find if you're genre-aware, but can be frustrating if you don't play much platform games.

I think the game would have been better without the gun recoil. It's not all obvious that it exists at the start of the game, and makes you frustratingly fall off the platforms on the stage with the vertical platforms and horizontal enemies.

There were some nice things to discover too, such as dying in strategic spots to try to get in a good position for another stage (I think one stage forces you to do this to access the coin)

locknic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40am

Jeez that took me 234 retries to win. Movement felt a bit imprecise but was super fun.

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:49am

Solid platform and fun! Overall aesthetic is nice and super old school feel to it.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28am

Great platformer! Confusing at first but that just leads to that eureka moment. Postmortem plz. Will speedrun.

-AlucardX60

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:24am

I love this style of game, I miss these kind of platformers. I hope to see more of your work in the future!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09am

Thanks for the game. Minimalistic, but fun.

dunin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59am

so fun game.
controls are too sensitive for me and I get stuck once (can't move) but really fun game...

Conk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13pm

229... Gotta say I was hoping for a boss at the end ): Really good game, love the style, awesome work (:

nuno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

nice game, I also got a bit confused with the random change of levels when I didnt do anything at all ( I think... :)

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19pm

The game is so challenging, I love it! The art style and the concept is excellent too, kudos for this great entry!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Great game, I love the difficulty and the warping to another map on death. It could lead to some really interesting possibilities like kill yourself in certain screens to get to specific locations in others. Well done, hopefully you continue working on this.

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Okay, yeah, I love this. Brutal and stylish. Nice!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:10am

Really nice and stylish. I liked how you linked up the levels with each other.

VDZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:19am

It's possible to get stuck in a certain level if you get there at exactly the wrong position: http://i.xomf.com/sfcdz.png

Detailed feedback (and rating) later once I replayed the game.

VDZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:39am

Very nice game. Very challenging (though this may be a false impression, see below) and everything works as it should.

The twist of switching levels on death is very interesting and completely changes the gameplay. It's also a very good take on the theme. I never figured out how the levels are connected though - is it just random, or does where you die have anything to do with what level you end up in? I feel the death counter at the end is counterintuitive given this twist; you can switch levels by killing yourself instead of completing a level, why 'punish' it by giving the number of 'retries' (including non-accidental deaths)?

Unlike what others have said, I feel the controls are very tight. However, they're also very unforgiving, which probably led to others' criticism of it. Myself, I think of it as a good thing - if you screw up, you die, it's your own fault. Even though it's both in the description and the readme file, I forgot you were able to to double jump the moment I started the game. This made the game a lot more difficult but by no means impossible. (However, one of the levels did become frustrating: the one with the moving platforms leading to a single platform with the 'elevators of death' with spike walls on the left, where getting onto a moving platform with a single jump is extremely difficult.) Once I started replaying it after getting stuck, having read the comments and noticing the double jump, I had little trouble clearing it in a short time.

Like others have said, the gun knockback adds little to the gameplay and 'chain deaths' caused by warping into spikes or enemies are confusing.

The graphics have a clear style and look nice. They fulfill their functions well too and, other than the spike at the bottom of the leftmost bar in the 'elevators of death' level (which isn't a clear threat and took me two deaths to notice), there was no confusion about what things were (destructible/indestructible blocks, enemies, effects, etc).

The sound was simple but functional and it sounded good enough to not be annoying despite playing for some time.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:05am

Movement is a bit too fast, you'd need a well design begining of the game to get the players used to it.

The level changing really feels like cheating on the theme, though I've seen it on other entries and, to be honest, it's not that important.

Really good look and rythm on this game, the recoil really added a lot to it.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25am

While I am really not the person to be representing a census on platforming mechanics (as I am notoriously not very good at it), there is definitely something great here. The presentation was good, the sounds were good, the art was good.

The only issue I really had was with the overall movement of the sprite. As I am notoriously bad at platformers, it's always nice to be able to set up my jumps, but I wasn't really able to do that, as I'd gently move the joystick and the sprite would fly off his platform. :(

I think if you managed to hone his movement really well, you'd have a really accessible game for all sorts of levels of ability. :)

Eduardo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very nice entry!

I like the level design at the beginning of the game where the player learn that can shoot and destroy the blocks! Need something to teach that there's a double jump!

The movement is nice, good speed, but it's a bit hard to jump at the moving platforms!

Good job! :)

Erkberg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

It's an awesome game, really quite frantic, I liked it a lot. Some minor flaws would be:
- I played it with gamepad, but there seem to be no alternate controls for different keyboard layouts (like qwertz, it's always a pain to use arrows together with x and z for me)
- music would make it even more awesome
- if you only need to finish one more level, it could take some time to actually get there (it seemed to me the next level was chosen randomly), maybe levels you haven't finished yet should have a higher chance of occuring

Great job overall!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Not my game type, but it was awesome.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:19am

I like this type of games. this game feel "finished", and this is something rare around here!
I liked the game, the sounds, and level design.

one thing though, at first it felt buggy switching around levels like crazy(I even tried to play the web version to see if it will make a diffrence)
I suggest you make it clear to the player that this is NOT a bug. I suggest using a square to tell you where are you at.

also you should not come back to levels you cleared.

but great job all'n all

Alendro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:12am

Nice job man! Really liked the creativity. I was a bit confused when I hit a spike and was taken to another screen. Wasn't sure if it was a good or bad thing. Overall great game.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:13am

Very good, I love the simplicity. Could never get the full screen to work which is unfortunate because it could make it easier. Maybe I'll download instead. Thanks for sharing this, its great fun!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:58am

The little ***** game!

For real yo, the random teleportation was probably intentional, but it was also frustrating to end up teleporting to rooms I've already cleared only to have to either clear it again so I don't add 1 to my retry count or die.

Kitch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:48am

Have to reconsider some of my previous votes after this one. Good job! Thanks!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:51am

Very good job! Not an easy game at all. One thing, is a bit confusing the change of the screen when you die. At first didn't know what was happening.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:15am

Awesome game! Really addictive game play ! I love graphics^^ well done

Aevek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:31am

I had a lot of fun. The ability to change the level elements really made it an interesting one to play, and made me try to think about different ways to approach problems.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:42am

The control is a little hard which make the game very challenging but I like it! The graphics style is also in my favor. Playing this game make me think of the game "I wanna be the guy".

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:43am

Pretty cool. It'd be nice to have some indication of what the next level is so that the deaths can be more planned out, since levels have to be replayed.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:33am

I really like the graphic style you chose, the gameplay feels really responsive.
It's a good thing that death is not that punitive, because the game can be very tough by moments. I was surprised by the teleportation to a random(?) level at death, I found it quite puzzling at first! (but not in a negative way)
It would be nice to have some background music to it!
Overall this is a very neat entry.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:01pm

82 retires to win. The game got WAY easier when I found out I had double jump, I think it should be more explicit

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:12pm

The game provides a nice challenge. It would be great if the player didn't feel so 'slippery'. I love the aesthetic. Awesome work!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Fun little platformer, the sound and visuals are nice and simple but work so well together. I did have an issue where I died in a later level and got thrown back to the previous one but was stuck in a wall.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Awesome! Simple graphics and controls work really well. This game has a nice polished feel all around. Great job!

Mase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:31pm

The character's movement is too fast for me; I was unable to make any precise movements, even with a controller.
I like the level switching on death though.

gana0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Awesome! The controls felt really good. This game was incredibly difficult, but I liked the death/new level concept when you died or cleared it.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:45pm

nice, cool visuals, solid gameplay, well done

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Pssst - You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-skEj9o26aE

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I love the style of it; it's simple but feels really focused. I always overcomplicate things so I really appreciated that you were able to do this. It feels like a small but complete game, remind me of an Acorn Electron game or something. Good work

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Hi there. Love the gun and recoil. Destroyed some stuff. Good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice game, it was fun and I liked the black and white style. Managed to complete it, and my only criticism is that the controls are very slippery and the character is very quick, it makes it hard to control him especially in places that need precise jumping.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I really liked it. It's lovingly difficult but enjoyable.
Except having to go back to the rooms you already have completed, when there is only that one room left you want to complete. That is really annoying. Also I enjoyed the levels without moving platforms a lot more than those with them. Stupid moving platforms *grumbles*

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:51pm

that was frantic! and fun! It really liked how as you completed more levels the objective changed from staying alive to seeing how quickly you could die (so you could switch to the one room you had left)

jelly says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Everything about this game is so spot on, and I want to keep playing, but I find the controls frustrating. The sensitivity combined with the tininess makes it way more difficult than it should be and caused me to step away. I don't want to sound overly negative, I'm just trying to be constructive.

Everything else is so well done, that it pains me to be pushed away by the controls/sensitivity. I love the way you cycle through rooms when you die. I love the enemies. The level design is spot on. Just the controls ;_____;

GFM says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I got a really bad stream of RNG when I was only missing one room...
Also, I sometimes spawned over threats and died instantly...

Still, well done. :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice! I saw the updates on the front page but forgot to bookmark it so that I could find it again.

My only suggestion would be to slow the character down a little bit. It's pretty hard to do precise platforming when he moves so fast.

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:30am

Really good!
The most fun game I played from this LD I think! :)
It feels really nice to play, nervous and fluid gameplay. The core gameplay feels finished, great for a jam game!

I think for most level there's a really nice lvl design, even if some could be a bit better (I think some are too difficult, too frustrating, with spikes sometimes for exemple), maybe it could be actually more simple lvl design, it would be fine. The room with lot of moving platform confused me a lot, there wasnt any enemy and I kept dying because of not having a lot of visibility(too many things on screen).
It's good that you added the thing with "the player moving backwards when you shoot". That's not really often seen in games and I love when there's something like this and when it's used in good way :)

The art is quite simple, but super cool. It feels good. Same for sound effects.

Gonna go with some real negative points:
Respawning on a screen the player already finished is bad. Really bad. Almost got me not finishing it. Specially because the player does not always spawn in front of the doors.
The point is, if I die, I want to retry super quickly (Super meat boy effect :D ), and If it makes me go in a room I've done already, I will want to quit that room super quickly, and not having to reach an enemy to kill myself (which is 50% of your gameplay at the end of the game.). It's not interesting for the player.

Hum, About the last level: YOU LIAR O_O
Seriously, you make the player expect things with that level, you put a crown above it. When I play I feel like "Omg the last lvl!! I have to unlock it! it's gonna be so awesome" and there's nothing. You're lying to your player. That is super nasty .-.


Also, I'm not sure you're really respecting the theme, cause it still feels like it's changing screen everytime you go through a door..


But anyway, I said lot of negative points here because I think that's what helps, you know what is good about your game. I loved this really, one of the best game of LD I played so far. And the funniest to play.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:43am

Nice entry! Solid gameplay, responsive controls and the graphics are easy to identify. I have fun with it. But I would like to have some music.

Overall, I like the game :)

radmars says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:28am

Nice! Pretty fun but frustrating at times, the controls felt a bit too twitchy. The nonlinearity of the levels is an interesting idea but it was a bit annoying to do the same levels over again and not be able to practice the hard level you're on multiple times in a row. Kudos on the gamepad support too, always awesome to have that available.

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:43pm

You play inside the menu, I love it! very cool minimalist graphics.

I have trouble figure out what i'm suppose to do in each level, maybe miss some kind of indicator or interactive guide, but that's maybe just me ;-D

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:33pm

The controls feel pretty solid, and the knockback from the shooting is awesome. The levels were pretty cool although there were a few where the you'd have to wait for platforms to come down far enough to be able to jump but the timing had to be very exact because they came down only just enough to get on top of them. It'd be nice if they came down about two more player-character heights more.

Cheers :)

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I think iostream summed it up pretty nicely. Couldn't finish any of the levels with moving platforms, the controls were just too damn finicky for me, but then again I don't have much platformer experience.

exoddinary says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I like this games, makes you wanna play till finish

sputnik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Great game. Hard but solid!

Gins says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:51pm

That was pretty intense! I wanted to try really hard to finish it, but then I got teleported into a wall (the "stairs" in that one level where the key and the door are each on one set of stairs) and got stuck :(

But it was fun while it lasted!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Amazing fastpaced shooter. It reminds me of vlambeer games :) Graphics are nice and simple, I like the ghosting effect..
I missed some music. The rest of the audio was amazing.
Great entry overall!

AMS says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Awesome game Alvaro, definitively a challenge, I enjoyed the retro graphics and sound effects a lot, thank you for making this game!

rantt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:47am

Cool concept, and great level design. The controls felt kinda twitch to me, and I wish that after you solved a level you didn't get taken back to them when you died. Fun game, I really enjoyed it, nicely done :)

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:46am

Very well implemented and nice idea!, like the animations too

Tortoise says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:06am

Really cool game, I loved the art, audio. The audio felt very retro and so did the art. My only complaints are the controls felt very slippery and there were odd hiccups where the game froze. Neat game overall.

madhoe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:10am

Interesting game. Came here trying to get a highscore, but left the game twice. The first time not knowing I could double jump, and the second time just deciding it was WAY too punishing. And this is from a guy who loves VVVVVV, SMB, etc (BUT HATES DUSTFORCE SO MAYBE)

I feel like the controls are too stiff for a hard platformer like this. I think the fact that the game is so tiny accentuated this.

The ping-pong ball obstacle felt too random and when I was hit I didn't blame myself, I blamed the game.

Loved the aesthetics and all the juicing up. Knockbacks, little particle things, nozzle flash... Pretty well polished, but I wished it had music. In contrast though, the sounds were brilliant.

Loved how the game started / the introduction by pressing 'Z'. Good job on that!

Overall, not a bad game, but I feel this would be more fun if it wasn't SO punishing.

madhoe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:11am

*slippery, not stiff controls.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:15am

This reminds me of Hero Core by Daniel Remar! Very simplistic but well done. I'm not sure how this fits the theme, but it's still fun. :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:16am

@pvtroswold It was inspired by Daniel Remar indeed, I even tweeted at him and he tried the game!

rvmook says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:41am

Fun game, but at times a bit frustrating. The jump arch was sometimes hard to control and it was annoying I didn't have any control over the next level. Also didn't like the possibility to immediately die when just respawned in the new level. But even though it was frustrating I still played it for a good 20 minutes before rage quiting. Overall a good and fun game

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:47am

This is probably my proudest moment in gaming ever http://i.imgur.com/hl8tkX5.png

alvarop says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:58am

@LegacyCrono, You are the first superplayer of one of my games. Congratulations!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:34am

I finished the game with 78 retries. It is a difficult but fun and addicting game! One thing that I found really frustrating was that I kept getting teleported to levels I had already completed and I was forced to either do something I had already done or sacrifice my current score, die, and hope the next level is not a repeat either. So take that as you will.

Still, this was really fun! Well done!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:39am

Fantastic controls and pacing in general! 5/5

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Getting send to another level upon dying is my favorite part, quite clever. The SFX are mostly nice n crunchy, but missed music a lot... controls are tight and the shooting feel pretty good for a low res game due to the muzzle flash and the kickback.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice game, simple and very solid!
Very nice game feel and tigh controls. Very challenging

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Fun, challenging, old-school platformer! Enjoyed alot, keep up the good work.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:43am

Nice, tricky though. The simple art style is awesome.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Pretty hardcore old school-style platforming. I'm not sure on the "change to a different level on death" - it almost reduces the punishing aspect of it by allowing you to progress that way. Most of the physics are pretty good. The sound effects are a little on the simple side, and some music might have been good. It was quite fun to play, though.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Good game, very challenging. I liked the overall vibe, the graphics and lo-fi sounds went well together. My only main gripes were that the controls felt a little imprecise and that swapping randomly between levels when you had one door left was soul-draining. Still, fantastic in almost all aspects. Keep it up!

cardboard says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:41am

Very nice! My one gripe would be that often if I would flick the control stick either way, my character would remain facing the opposite way, but this could be a problem with Construct. I like the variation in the levels, and the graphics are solid. I was expecting a boss fight for the final stage, but I wasn't necessarily disappointed in the absence of a boss. I succeeded after 83 retries!

TrentSterling says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:04pm

You just made me understand how terrible I am at platformers. Anyway, the game is fun! Good work!

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Cool cool cool, Sweet nervous gameplay and pretty good compo entry :)

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Talk about hectic was fun though I kind of starting to get what I was doing as I went along was a very difficult game I think I managed to complete a few levels. Graphics were good but simple but a game like this needs simple graphics.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:47am

I had a lot of fun playing this game. It is very reminiscent of games like I want to be the guy/boshi. The jumping mechanics felt a little too loose for my taste, and it took more time than I would have wanted to get really comfortable with the controls. The level design was pretty well thought out and the way that you transition between screens was really interesting and added another layer of strategy on top of the normal gameplay. I only wish that the level you transition to was more predictable so that you could strategize on where to die to give yourself and advantage on the next screen. The audio was a little lax but didn't take away from anything. Having a fast paces music loop would have gone a long way. Overall, really challenging and satisfying to complete. I only died 72 times =( I'm just too casual I guess. Thanks for sharing your game!

guimonpa says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Ok, I didn't know there was a double jump and spent quite some time trying to die in high places so that I would appear near to the coin in the next room... I was trying to find a pattern to the room changing so that I could complete it...

Anyways, dumb me, once I knew about the double jump, it stopped being frustrating and got fun again, it's really polished and the controls got a nice feel. Getting to the end was quite satisfying, great work!

Madball says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:11pm

The game is fun, controls are good. But I didn't really like the level changing. Why should I replay levels I completed already? You could just strike them off. Also, the decision to retain player's position is weird. You could make some cool level design with it, like needing to go from a certain level to complete another one, but you didn't do it, so it seems pointless and confusing. But I liked the game overall. The idea is not new, but it's a nice representative of its kind.
Also, enemies' bullets' hitbox feels a bit smaller than it looks.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I finished it!
Yikes, it was hard.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I haven't played until the end, but I can say that you made a great work with this game. It's fun to play it. :)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:33am

This game was so freaking awesome but I got stuck inside the roof of the first level. Really great work.

davient says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice one! 26 retries :) I'm a massive fan of this kind of punishing platformer. Had some 'N' feel to it in the death restart balance. unlike some others, felt the controls were tight and jumping control was good. Only took me 2 deaths before I found double jump which really helped me out. Love to see this expanded. Last level was a bit sad - expected a boss or something. Really loved the big variety of level styles - release this with 10 more levels and a level editor and you'll have struck gold.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:10am

Really good concept. Liked the screen "switching" mechanic

alfie275 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:50am

Cool game, though the random level thing was annoying, considering it took you to levels you'd already completed.
Anyway, here's the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpEX_B_-X78

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:19am

Hello Alvaro, i was not able to make it work on my debian distro ...
It says:
error while loading shared libraries: libgconf-2.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

i will try to fix it :D

Wertle says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice work on this super-hard game. I like a lot of the little details you got in, such as the weightiness of the jump and the trails on the platforms making it easier to position yourself to fall on them. Sometimes I found myself walking through spikes without dying, so that was a little puzzling, but overall I thought the level design provided solid challenges. I liked the enemy that only moved when you did, it was a good example of getting a lot of mileage out of little time and mechanics. It was nice that there was no game over for how frustrating it was, it's a nice match-up. Really nice work for compo!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:58am

Lovely game! It was nice that you could see all the levels even if you didn't beat them, but I would rather not keep playing levels I've already beaten. Also, I didn't figure out double jump right away, which made even the first level a bit frustrating.

P.S. Your game will be in my next video (episode #4).

okkolobr says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I'm late, everything has been said. Good Job !

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:07pm

So good! Great design, tight as hell, but damn so frustrating. Super frustrating. But I guess that's the point, despite my GRRRRRRRRR about it. Can't finish it. Too hard for me.

Teejay5 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Hectic, but interesting design; I really like the style!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I liked the art style and I loved how whenever you complete a level or die, you're transported to another random level (although I did find a bug where I ended up spawning inside a place I couldn't get out of).

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I made a highlight of this game from my stream.
http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/5697480

Lynx says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

Can not wait to see 000+ I see this game all around and it always catches my eye every time. You really capture that old-school nostalgia so very well!

I know you don't want music....but I'm part of that other group haha

Your game is easily going to be a post-compo winner in the indie community!
(can't wait to see that Steam Greenlight!)

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Really nice idea, I love the idea of "switch level instead of game over". Remove a lot of frustration :) Congrats!

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:23am

I love the art style

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Cool entry. Too difficult/challenging for me (as i'm not fan of platformers... :) Luvly gfx. Controls were responsive and did what i wanted them to do. Not much critical feedback here. Can agree that double jump instruction would have been nice.

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:50pm

A very good shoot-them all platformer that doesn't bother with graphics. I liked it!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Innovation 3/5: I liked that when you die you go to a random room.

Fun 5/5: Really fun!!!

Theme 3/5: Simply the game runs in a single screen.

Graphics 4/5: Great pixel art!!! May too simple.

Audio 3/5: Some f the sounds are annoying.

Mood 5/5: I felt well when playing!!!

Overaal 4/5: Great game, but is so hard!!!

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:36pm

This is really something! So cool game! My poor english allow me not to express awesomness of this game. 10\10 hehe

Larzan says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Wow, that was how i imagine smoking crack must be, crazy desorienting, you think you kinda know whats going on but you don't, speedy gunfest. Great entry, still shaking ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]