Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hauler 31

by benmcnelly - Compo Entry

*** Windows installer or zip version is much better experience ***

Hauler 31: You are a hauler working the mines on Mars when disaster strikes. Escape or die. Or whatever. I decided on no windows to stick with the theme of everything on one screen, so your radar screen is your life. Follow it out. You won't believe what happens...

W/A/S/D or X360 Controller in Windows Installer version

* Oculus version not tested completely due to time limitations but should be interesting. I did not add the oculus support until after the compo ended, it is only a bonus for those with the Oculus Rift DK2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#126Humor3.35
#147Audio3.45
#438Graphics3.27
#586Mood2.90
#913Innovation2.57
#955Overall2.79
#982Theme3.19
#1131Fun2.21

Comments

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:51am

Very interesting concept!

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

This may or may not be a positive thing to say, but the best part of the entire game was the menu and the music. Honestly, top job there! Game itself was little tedious and it took a while before the maze actually became a maze with decision making. Graphics were great, and I like how you took the more literal approach to the phrase "Entire game on one screen". :P Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

very cool idea. ship tends to get stuck on corners

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

A little touchy, in relation to moving around, and easy to get a bit out of touch on where I am going, but a nice idea!

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38am

The talking is the best part. Hilarious stuff. :)

MrPhil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41am

THe audio of the trucker calling his friend was awesome.

erik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42am

I! Won! The Game! You obviously had a lot of fun with the audio. Lack of wall slide, and slow movement speed made gameplay a bit frustrating. I liked the visual style.

ken says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56am

The game has a cool story and nice visuals however it can require a lot of patience. I restarted the game 2 times because I didn't want to backtrack as I knew it would be faster to restart. Even though the maze can be navigated pretty fast(before the dialogue finishes) the vehicle moves really slow and it takes a long time to go through the maze, especially if you take an incorrect path because the incorrect paths can be quite long.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:01am

Wow yeah, adding a slick material for wall slide would have been a huge help, I ended up nixing all the drilling and flare dropping mechanics just to finish on time :( My brain is fried though! I am glad people are winning, I was going for challenging but not too frustrating :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50am

Enjoyed it! Like others said, the voice over stuff was hilarious. Something that mixes your sense of humor and storytelling with a less tedious game would be a serious winner! I look forward to your next game.

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59am

the audio is by far the best part :)

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03am

nice game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35am

It's all about voice acting))

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Neat idea. Graphics are gorgeous! Great work, would definitely play with an oculus ifn I had one.

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Liked the radar graphics (the soft blurry glow), loved the humor with the audio / conversations.

You made me chuckle with that start screen, and I was honestly motivated to click that start button asap! The maze itself however feels like...well a maze, there's no way to see if you're making the right choice. Backtracking became an issue, and it makes the game feel a bit tedious.

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Best title screen moment I've seen so far! I really enjoyed the audio conversations that setup the mood for the game really nicely. Had a really good laugh with this one and just because you can make music, doesn't mean you should ;) Well done!

hd_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Very nice graphics and very smooth controls. My only complaint is the sticky walls, made it a bit rough to play through.

Conk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Loving the music! Game was a little too simple, visuals were interesting, made seeing walls difficult, which made it harder...

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Ah you guys should try this with the simple sticky wall fix in place, its a dream :p - Oh well compo rules say sticky walls stay so have fun

@Conk yeah, there was digging through walls, and dropping flares / pickups / blasting caps to give you a radar echo boost... no time. Went with the easier maze. At least it has a beginning, middle-ish and end :D

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Nice concept! The maze was really hard to navigate though due to the colliders being too close.

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

I got sooooooo lost in the maze :( But loved the backend banter and the theme take is great.
Good Work! Thanks!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00am

Great work, feeling and mood but i couldnt get to the exit, i suck at this kind of games.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Like your concept, and audio was perfect! One thing that was little annoying is that i got stuck at corners.

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

I like this concept.. Nice job, dude

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01am

I enjoyed playing this game. I enjoyed listening to the intro music even more lol. Great FX. The maze felt a little slow. Good job! :)

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00am

"Just because you can make music doesn't mean that you should"
-HAULER31
Atleast you mentioned the audio sucked. The "bro" guy was just annoying, but Ill give you the humor on that one just for the song at the end. Also, why mention oxygen and not put an oxygen meter?

sirikan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:14am

Nice concept. I liked the extra touch with all the dialogue. :)

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13am

I gave up on the long-ass puzzle but the audio was great!

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42am

Cool and funny game (with the audio). Well made :)

Pete_H says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Nice audio and art but as some of the other comments mentioned the movement was a bt too slow and found myself getting caught on walls. Also 1 Poly thick walls made seeing stuff a bit weird at times. Good job overall!

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

The visual are really appealing and the audio is such a great touch! Nice work

purezero says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:49pm

did well with the theme and the graphic are great. I just don't see this is a fun game, but I can tell that a lot of work went in to it and its well defined.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Hi there. Interesting shader/view of maze.

thenerdster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Audio was great, I played all the way through. Had no major issues with the game. Good Work, Rift capable was also sweet!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:39am

I like the maze concept and the glow effects. I had some difficulty with the contrast of the ship at first.

voxel says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:31am

Yay another maze game. I was frustrated by the stickiness of the walls, but I guess driving my .. mining vehicle? through narrow tunnels shouldn't be too easy. I liked what I could make out of the audio but it was hard to hear it over the engine noise. But this was a nicely atmospheric game :)

yosh says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:19am

Gosh for a second I thought this game was gonna be a screamer when I heard the guy doing the phone call part... who sounded REALLY LIKE the guy from 5 nights at Freddy's....
Bonus points for all the jibber jabber :P

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:24am

The atmosphere very good, I like the talking track, it creates the mood=)

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Great use of audio and atmosphere. As a maze game it's a bit limited.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:13am

It probably wasn't the best idea to hire a bunch of stoners to mine Mars... Seriously, though, the redneck voice acting was awesome (Trust me, I'm from Arkansas, I know.).. As others have said, fun, great concept. A bit tedious gameplay wise.

nassi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:05am

Great atmosphere and I managed to make my way trough the maze surprisingly easily. Could've done without the install in the windows download, and I couldn't see the full game (or atleast the Hauler 31 text in the title) until I picked a resolution of 1680x1050.

Interface says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:09am

Great game, the background chatter is hilarious! Sticky walls are a bit cumbersome but not too bad, my one issue is the graphics sometimes cause walls to be almost invisible. A few times I thought, hey I can go through there, only to see a wall appear as I was turning. Great mood, well done.

cardboard says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:08am

I like the audio and graphics. The ambient noise and dialogue enhance the atmosphere a lot. Also, the graphics style is really nice and interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]