Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pickup Styx

by tcarter - Jam Entry

Help Death ferry souls across the Styx to pay off his broken boat!

Programming: Ted Carter - Blogfolio: http://www.robotinker.com/
Graphics: Magdalen Rose - Twitter: @codename_nycea
Audio: Will Bucknum - Twitter: @voicetogame

Also check out the post-jam version for difficulty and VO tweaks: http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/29106

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#145Audio(Jam)3.57
#218Humor(Jam)3.20
#569Mood(Jam)2.95
#573Graphics(Jam)3.12
#638Overall(Jam)3.05
#765Theme(Jam)3.22
#768Innovation(Jam)2.61
#806Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:38am

I would have liked a bit more information as to when I was or was not doing something, so to better fluidly play - but the style was fun and had a good mood.

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

Fun concept and good graphics. My only issue was that there were several times I had to wait a real long time for a platform, sometimes 15 or more seconds.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44am

I really dig the audio; that's one groovy beat, like river styx meets techno!

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15am

realy fun)

Lissaring says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23am

Loved the music! Had a real hard time getting across the river though, haha. I'm awful at this sort of thing.

memilian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Souls are a little buggy and don't follow you sometimes. That apart, nice game, good graphics and sounds !

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:17am

This was a smooth-playing little arcade game. Thanks!

Alendro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:12am

Love the music.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:15am

Voice acting is really nice! gameplay is solid! god job!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:42am

Pretty cool to see a jam game with voice acting! Given that it's there, it would be nice if the spoken lines stayed in sync with the text lines when the player clicks though them.

It sometimes took a long time for any clouds to pass through particular rows -- since that doesn't really add any strategy, it's probably best to not make the player wait.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Its a fun little game. Really enjoyed the music and the art. The voice acting was good too, though it didn't stay synced with the text.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:17am

Oh, it's Frogger? Okay, cool. ;) Nice voice work, reasonably good graphics. Some things were unclear, like...I can only get three souls at a time? And three souls get you to the next level? I guess that makes sense. I also would have liked some really obvious sign as to where to bring the souls. Maybe even a literal sign. Pretty good overall, though! I gave up once the fish appeared, heh.

elvaq says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:28am

Nice presentation for a pretty familiar game concept. Some nice twists but I found myself missing the predictability of Frogger when I had to wait long periods of time just to get on one platform. Also lots of dead end situations. But still nice effort and the post jam version looks better already. Encouraging!

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:51am

Very nice game! I really like the graphics, music and the voice acting. Cool twist on frogger having spirits you need to collect in the middle of danger. Good job!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:25am

Awesome game! I like the concept ^^

Soron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:54am

You must have a rather large screen for this all to fit on it. And unfortunately, you do need most of the vertical screen space to play effectively :-/...

Also, the spacing of the fog needs a bit more balancing, I think (although I think you're already aware of that).

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:55am

Cool setting and music :)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Interesting take on frogger, and the narration was nice.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:22am

Good story, some really nice art, humor, voice-over is always a nice touch. And the gameplay concept is promising. My biggest criticism is that the interaction feels really floaty. I can't easily tell where the platform edges are, and there's no feedback when I "pick up" one of the souls (except when I move far enough away that it starts to move). This leads to some really frustrating failures.

It also would have been nice to ease the player into the gameplay a bit more. I did figure it out, of course, but not without a strong "wait, what am I doing?" moment.

Overall this game has a lot of spirit -- haha -- nice work!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Lovely idea, nice job!

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Very nice frogger entry. I thought your mechanics for getting everything on one screen were great!. However, as the river widened, the number of actors on the screen started dropping the fps to unplayable levels (since timing was everything). I didn't count that against you since my computer has never liked playing flash games, anyway. :) I was still able to get the jist of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]