Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Summoning of the Santa

by Slothmachine - Jam Entry

the Summoning of the Santa. Bring the spirit of christmas alive... one... last... time

If you can't play the game here's a walkthrough:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSFzUnq96_k

Code, design and art: Miikka Harjuntausta
Music: Robert del Naja

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#65Mood(Jam)3.85
#70Graphics(Jam)4.34
#75Overall(Jam)3.88
#97Audio(Jam)3.73
#110Fun(Jam)3.70
#134Innovation(Jam)3.70
#311Humor(Jam)2.96
#490Theme(Jam)3.57

Comments

ponk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11am

Super cool and smooth !
Also nice screenshot but I feel like it spoils a bit the end of the game.
Anyway really nice and pretty animations

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15am

Thanks ponk. Hmmm. Any idea what should I use as the cover image if not santa?

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

Amazing game, really beautiful, it would play well on a mobile device :D

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Actually, this is the best game I've played. I'm so sick of platformers everywhere :)

The box seemed a little long. I think that's because I wasn't viewing it as a puzzle/math game. The nested doll feel is fantastic. I think you should expand on this and make it a full game. Maybe have different levels/dolls with different puzzles. Have a young children's level where it is a set of matching puzzles, like your tree. Then have a simple math group for elementary age children. And have a more intense logic combination for young adults and older. Parents would eat this up, especially with a holiday theme. (one last thing) My sister in law says that she only spends money on mobile apps when it something my niece can play. Think about that :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Interesting puzzles, and fantastic graphical style! The ending is perfect (love the animation!), kind of reminds me of the Super Mario 64 title screen. :P The only problem is that feel the tree and prison puzzles were a little too easy, it took me much longer to do box than the other two.

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

The puzzle were not to easy and not to difficult,at least for me.
The music is weirdly intense, like there's a serial killer with a santa mask behind me.

Cool game breh!

Lokiman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:41am

This one is really good! I give it 5 of 5 :D

Love the you implementation of theme, the graphics/animations, audio and the puzzles. Simple yet interesting. Also the horned santa was great! :D

PS.: when the santa appeared some of elements from previous level remained in the scene.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:54pm

.... Music,gameplay good work! I Like this puzzle game ! +100 points for you ! :-D. Also check my project if you have some time,mate! :)

Finlal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Reminds me of The Room. Good job.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice puzzles :)

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Really nice aesthetics and i love the music and the mood it creates
It felt short, but thats good! it means i want more puzzles to solve ^^
lots of stars for you :3

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice little puzzle game. The Box was definitely my favorite. I had the most trouble with The Tree, I had a problem seeing "the pattern" I guess. Compared to the other two, in time spent on them and difficulty level, the last puzzle seemed kind of simple. I really liked this one though, having different sorts of puzzles makes you think.

ponk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Forget about what I said about spoiling and stuff, the end is well polished !
Great work !

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:18pm

nice

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:56pm

When I first saw the thumbnail, I thought it was the happy mask guy from ocarina of time lol. Anway, really fascinating idea! Looks awesome, and was pretty puzzling for a short game. Really great work!

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:58pm

One of my favourite! I absolutely love the artstyle, and I found the enigmas simple, yet effective (reminded me a little of The Room). 5 stars for you sir.

yosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Not sure if I'm happy to have summoned Santa!!
Really cool game, loved the atmosphere & animations.

Shivur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Strange ambience, but fun.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Pretty cool game, I love puzzle games and I really enjoyed this one(though it felt a bit easy).

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:08pm

This is the best game I've played for LD31 so far, good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice work. Great art style and mood. The whole thing, especially at the prison part, was just screaming "it's going to be a very, very bad idea to summon this guy". Sealed evil in a can?

bazld says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Very imaginative and puzzler, excellent style and gfx. Great to see something this original in the jam.

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:49pm

excellent puzzle! i loved every stage of the game, each puzzle being particularly clever, unique, challenging but not frustrating.
the graphics are super, the color scheme sets the mood perfectly, and to think of Santa as something to be summoned is a very creative idea, like if it is an annual ritual to be performed ahah!
i loved this very much, congratulations!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:33am

Nice puzzles! This was a really nice way to do the "no explanation" approach. I love the art style and the Santa character. Very smart.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Cool looking puzzle game! I Included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/YpdCMKphEUw

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Great graphics, nice animations and puzzles, well done!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really good puzzle game. :D

Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:02pm

This is definitely in my top three I've played so far. What it lacks in depth it makes up for in style. Excellent work.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:09pm

overall one of the better games i played this jam. really dug this one

rantt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Cool mechanic, I like the idea of the puzzle in a puzzle reminded me of 'The Room', great way to interpret the theme. Would've loved to play more levels, great job :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Loved the graphics and style. The music was great too. It really added a sense of urgency. I enjoyed it very much! I solved the last one but I'm not sure why it worked.

Scam says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Fun, stylish and super smooth puzzle game. Looks and sounds fantastic. You know your stuff. :)

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:00am

Very cool puzzle! The music worked perfectly. I summoned Santa! Made me feel smart. :)

Frump says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:34am

Great Game. I thought the solution to the third puzzle was 4372 from left to right.

CScribes says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Amazing entry! The puzzles were fun, the graphics cool, and the execution pretty sweet. I also loved that I could play it on Chrome haha

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I successfully summoned Satan/Santa! Very stylish puzzle game, a little short but pretty creative. Loved the animations on demonic santa, and the choice of audio fit the mood well. Fantastic work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]