Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Arena

by Poupi - Jam Entry

Enter the arena and fight numerous waves of hideous creature as fast as possible.

Controls (keyboard + mouse) :
Mouse Left Click : Attack
Mouse Right Click : Block (not working as expected :D)
Mouse Wheel/E : Select Power
Mouse Wheel Click : Use Power
WASD : Move
Space : Jump
F : Toggle Quality


Team :
Graphics : Med Yassine Alioualla ( http://www.yaxx.fr/ )
Sound Design : Adrian Benyamina ( http://adrnb.com/portfolio )
Programming : Robin Picou ( https://www.linkedin.com/pub/robin-picou/46/161/b73 )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.71
#42Audio(Jam)3.99
#48Overall(Jam)3.97
#81Mood(Jam)3.79
#94Fun(Jam)3.74
#277Theme(Jam)3.79
#611Innovation(Jam)2.87
#623Humor(Jam)2.35

Comments

TheCams says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38am

Awesome graphics and a real challenge.
I love the overall design, the arena and the enemies.
A lot of gameplay mechanics that makes the game interesting and give it some replay value.
Excellent entry :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24am

I really like the graphics, and the controls are smooth.

It's also a nice challenge.

Gread72 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24am

Wow ... This is really good ... Very impressed. The graphic design and fighting. I would definitely build on this game.

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

This game is amazing! Good job.

chaosed0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

Great looking game with a very good atmosphere - mysterious and oppressive, but not overly so. The overall pacing could be faster. Blocking is a little difficult because it seems you need to get the shield physically in the way of the attacks. Finally, it's very difficult to tell the monsters apart before they're hitting you with one attack or another. Other than those issues, quite a nice game.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Loved the grapics and gameplay. I found if you walk off near the edge of the screen you cant get back on the platform. Great job on this though.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

holgk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

Awesome game. Well done! I made a battle arena game too. Not as good as yours. Nice work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Upon polite invitation I entered the arena. Alone. I fought several shadowy creatures and I was able to defeat many of them before I met my demise. Sometimes death is a reward in and of itself. No. But in this case the act of dying seemed to offer something more something brighter than fighting shadowy creatures. Again I pressed start. Again I fought and met my demise. The cycle kept repeating until I found myself wondering whats with the row boat ;)

Felladrin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

Amazing work!
Probably the best I've played so far from LD31!
5/5 Stars!
Congrats!

Deity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

Nicely done. Great graphics and interesting gameplay

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Enemy variations are great. Fun mechanics. Real sense of accomplishment making an attack and then whipping around and block another attack. Good stuff!

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

Stunning graphics! Love the low poly and smooth feel :3

molecats says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

i want dodge also :)

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

Awesome graphics and sound! The game feels great!
Really nice job!
there are some glitches like if you get stuck on the rocks at the bottom of the screen and jump back on the arena, you glitch through the floor and die.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

Fantastic audio and graphics! Fun gameplay, very hard. Controls are not perfect.

zillix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

great presentation! the combat was great, though I would have loved if the magic regenerated more quickly so I could show off some awesome magic attacks :)

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15am

Great job! The real pro is good at details.

jrap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26am

I dont know what I expected to happen when I threw myself into the portal, but I sure died.

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36am

Graphics are special and audio is very nice!Battle is also fun.

elunil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31am

Awesome game, really smooth in every way !

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41am

The graphics are awesome and the music is nice, though it clashes a bit with the other sounds at times.
I didn't like the controls, in general I find binding anything to a middle click to be tiresome when playing (wheel is fine though)... especially since you're already using the keyboard.

I love the enemies and their animations, it was hard knowing which does what; though that makes it more challenging and that's fine.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Awesome entry !
The controls are a bit hard to master (WASD is a bit tricky), but I had real fun while playing !
5S to graphics, though !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15pm

just amazing :D

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

The enemies were really cool and spooky looking. Might've been nice if the different types were visually distinguished from each other a bit more, though.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:22am

Really great art style. Well done. :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:38am

Really well polished! Love the art style and the sounds. Feels like more than just a jam game.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52am

Very fun game. Excellent models and the combat system was very good despite blocking not always working.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:46am

Awesome graphics and mood setup here. I love the slow thoughtful Dark Souls style combat. I replayed more then a few times picking apart the mechanics. Great job!

-AlucardX60

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:42am

Excellent work, love the crisp clear poly models.
Fun to play, and really well polished.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:56pm

This is gorgeous! i'd love to know the shader you're using for your low poly models! Great job!

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:44pm

wow, all in 48hours? :o
great skills

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Great art and sound, nothing to complain about in those areas.

The controls were a bit sluggish, and the collision detection seemed strange. My hits that should have been hitting were not. I also managed to walk off the screen with no feedback or dying it seemed.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Really impressive graphics for such a short time

allanolivei says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49pm

The game is very polished and the look magnificent. So I think the character and the enemy not should fall off the screen, has much delay between jumps and lack visual feedback when defends a hit with the shield. Congratulations

jelly says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:50pm

This is such a nice concept! The design is great, I especially love the enemies. Really nice work. My only criticism, which I'm sure you guys know, is falling off the platform is very very easy to do. Maybe the jump is a tad floaty. Regardless it's a really good one. Nice work.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Awesome graphics, great job :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Wow! Cool stuff dude! Nice graphics!

2Bit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Impressive game! The shield takes a little skill to block properly, but I think that is actually good.

Tuism says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Soooooo beautiful :D Audio is great, animation is great, aw just so good :)

I can only ever seem to use the spike power - mouse wheel doesn't change powers, nor does E. Is it something you acquire later?

The spike creatures - would have been nice from a design perspective to see a bit more wind-up so I can learn to dodge their spikes.

REALLY GOOD.

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Pretty awesome. Cool aesthetic and sound, but I thought the mouse to orient myself was a little awkward. The jumping arc didn't feel all that natural either and I was having problems with selecting powers with the mouse wheel but still, its cool as heck! Good job!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Good job on the art. I wish the fighting was a little more exciting though.

Good job.

nov1kk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Great game!
Really nice graphics, awesome sound, very nice gamemplay!
I miss some kind of progression system, but still amazing!

Alter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Nice game! Looks great!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41pm

This is simply amazing - it looks and feels very good! One of the best games I played so far!

Very well done!

acerunox says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nice audio and graphics. It gets challenging later on.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Yes, game looks amazing and play smooth. So sad that you have no game designer in the team to bring some innovation in gameplay.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:53pm

The character design in this game is something special. Controls feel very good too. One or two bugs aside, this game plays pretty perfectly, so awesome job guys!
Oh and I forgot to mention, the sound design is absolutely fantastic!

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Felt a little monotone but well, its a jam, there aint so much time. Graphics are nice, combat is working. Keep it up!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Looks very good, nice effects, cool arena and lot's of details. I think the movements should be faster and more responsive. The difficulty is pretty hard but I think I just need to practice more ;)

Kwask says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Wow! This is incredible, amazing work! Sound, graphics, controls, everything is solid as a rock!

runvs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Great Game! I like the enemies (they look real evil to me) as well as the graphical style of the game.
I also noticed some glitches, but creating a great game in one weekend alone seems crazz. Good job!

mortus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Great looking game! And I love different behaviors of enemies, makes it quite fun to play. More player moves would have made it even greater!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:35am

Awesome graphics! Though, a bit buggy when walking off the arena :P

Tonasz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:52am

I love these aesthetics. <3 I think it's one of most beautiful games in this jam. I hope I will learn some day how to create these low-poly art like yours. Game is really polished, I didn't expect that new waves will posses new abilities. Add to that player skills, nice (and smooth!) animations and I notice here lots of content of good value packed in one game in only 72 hours! It's amazing!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:27am

Impressive entry. Particularly good graphics and animations! Would have been good to have a clear way to identify enemies types (maybe a later update?). On a subjective point of view, I find hero's attack a bit slow and repetitive but hey, it's awesome to make that happen in 72h ^^

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Amazing visuals. Gameplay could use some variety though.

Mase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Background looks great.

I dislike needing to click for each attack. I'd rather hold the button down.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Great overall.
A bit to difficult for me, need a dodge and something to recover magic and life.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Great looking arena fighter!
Also awesome sound!
It is easy to fall through the map though.

khahem says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:53am

Great graphics and beautiful colors, a bit buggy with the collisions but impressive job !

Ashtom says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very pretty with a solid control scheme. I liked the diversity of the gameplay mechanics and the overall ambiance thanks to the consistent visual identity and the subtle sound effects. Nice job!

snipercommand says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I love the artistic style!
the gameplay probably needs some balancing to make it fun, but I can see the start of something really good :), especially if you focus on the melee at first, and consider powers after the melee is fun =)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Pretty addictive entry. I liked the art style and the music matches the mood very well. It's a shame the block button wasn't working as you intended it to.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Wow, that is super pretty! The sound works great with the graphics, really impressive!

Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:41am

Great! It's always nice to see a complete game coming out of an LD Jam.
Monster design is great, and graphics are awesome!

Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

The game is good but forcing me to play it only on crappy web was not a good idea. Good visuals though.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

fantastic game
5555555

belstras says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Very nice sound and lovely wind waker-esque graphics. Very polished and cool ambiance. Controls were a bit clunky on my laptop, but thats me nagging. Good work.

aare says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Sick graphics! Really lovelly low-poli look. Impressive ammount of polish on every corner :P

Dunric says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Noice.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

Very impressive! Good job! =O

Keep working on it! Maybe not with the theme, because this game claims some cool levels! =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]